43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Batter Up! April 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 6:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

We all know that baseball season is upon us.  Well this has nothing to do with that.  My deepest apologies to anyone who landed here looking for baseball stats.  I don’t have any. 😉  Just dating stats.  I doubt that would interest you.

So we all know that I always have the guy choose the location of our ‘1st meeting’.  I have ceased to call them dates as never getting to a 2nd one is starting to depress me.  Okay, well, I will always have the guy choose unless he’s a total wimp and won’t make a decision in which case, instead of just cancelling the whole thing ’cause why would I want to hang with an indecisive wimp, I choose.  I like to see where the guys pick.  Do they go fancy or casual.  Uptown or downtown.  Neon signs out front or quaint little hideaways. 

Another thing we know is that I will ALWAYS suggest meeting for a drink 1st time around (oh hell, every time around), so usually expect some random bar to be chosen.  Fine with me.  I love all things bar related.  Usually they will pick a restaurant with a bar. somewhere that I can dress cute and flirty and get away with wearing one of my killer looking pairs of heels.  A-Ok with me (unless it’s a friggin’ Chili’s in which case, I’m out!).  Oh whatever.  Call me a snotty bitch if you want but I really don’t enjoy leaving a date/meeting/whatever smelling like onion rings!  Sometimes they’ll pick a quaint little wine bar.  Sometimes a little hidden gem.  I love to see where they select as I feel it gives me a little insight into them.  Okay, well, maybe not, but whatever.  One of my least favorites (besides Chili’s, Applebee’s, Red Robin or anywhere else with laminated menus) are sports bars.  While no stick in the mud, I am far from being what anyone would call ‘sporty’.  Sure, I love to knock back a few beers and shoot pool with the best of them, but not for a first date.  Oh sorry, meeting.  I don’t want to have to compete with 20 different televisions and screaming fans.  It seems that lately, however, sports bars seem to be the locale of choice.  Why is that?  I don’t own any jersey’s, rarely wear a baseball hat and am always afraid my ‘girls’ may come out to play when leaning over the pool table in one of my semi-low cut tops.  I don’t even know when the last time is that I yelled at a television screen!

The place I always choose, when it’s left up to me is a cool place with great atmosphere, killer drinks, nice surrounding and terrific people watching.  I know that even if the date sucks, my cocktail will be yummy!  My favorite is when they suggest somewhere with an outdoor patio where we can just sit and chat and whatever.  Oh, and a dimly lit parking lot where we can make out later. 😉

Anyway, you can imagine my delight when Thursday’s date chose a little place somewhat near me that I had never heard of.  The name sounded Italian, so I imagine it being a little place with red and white checkered cloths, a dripping candle shoved into an empty Chianti bottle and just a mellow atmosphere.  Yey!  Good choice bachelor.  Oh, what’s that?  It’s a sports bar? Oh dear god, here we go again ………..

 

7 Responses to “Batter Up!”

  1. Well…at least in sports bars there are other guys to flirt with in case your date turns sour 😉 Have fun!!!

  2. everevie Says:

    I like sports bars on a first date mainly because there ARE so many other distractions. The worst thing in a world is a boring first date…with a guy that has nothing to say. At least in a sports bar there are a million things to comment on…and if all else fails, you can actually watch TV…or all the other guys.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      see, I don’t like distractions – i just want to be able to sit and talk (and inevitably piss off/scare away) my dates 😉

  3. stevesw Says:

    Me, don’t like bars for dates; and Sports Bars are zero on a 1-100 scale. A response to my post “Bars, pro or con” from AnonyMs:

    “There is good reason why bars have a negative repetition for women. Eventhough the word ‘bar’ covers a very wide variety of types and you will encounter a wide variation in customers, from neighborhood socializers, to business brokers, to sports centered, to music centered, etc., most important, regardless of the setting A JERK IS STILL A JERK! And a drunk Jerk is worse! But it is fun to wear ““f***-me” heels once in a while.”

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I’m a big fan of bars for 1st dates (then again I’m a big ole’ lush), Steve. Even if I don’t end up liking the guy, I’ve never met a cocktail I don’t like. 😉

      That being said, I wouldn’t go to a packed bar or lame dance club or anything like that …..

  4. […] very smack you in the face, funny post about where to/not to meet for first date drinks: “Batter Up”, August 10, 2011, on Ellen’s Guide to Bad Internet Dating.  Now sorts bars take a real hit in […]


Leave a Reply

