43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Cheating Already? April 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 10:46 am
Tags: , , ,

So look, I’ve only gone out with Tree Trunk once.  He likes me.  We all know that.  In case you were unsure, I will be happy to forward any one of his 1,500 text messages to me from the past 2 days.  2 of which consisted of making sure we were still on for tonight.  Uh, I’m not getting this whole ‘Alpha Male’ thing as I thought it was something totally different from sending multiple insecure and seemingly needy text messages, but I’m going to throw him a bone (no, dirty peeps) on this and chalk it up to his being nervous.  Tonight is date #2.

Anyway, the other day I was on OkStupid playing the ‘rating game’ and came up with a mutual match thingie.  You know, they rate me highly, I rate them highly, the stupid website sends an e-mail notifying us of the mutual merit points.  😉 I got one of those.  I could see that he had looked at my profile, however, there was no e-mail from him.  Boo. 😦  Well far be it from me to just sit back and wait for shit to happen, so I checked out his profile.  Adorable redhead (yeah, i have a strange ‘thing’ for redheads – most find them creepy-ish, not so much from my perspective).  He had great pictures up, is well-travelled, wrote a good profile and has killer arms.  Oh yeah, and he’s an inch shorter than I am.  Shit.  Too bad too as I liked him.  So I write a real quick ‘really liked your profile and your pics.  too bad I’m not a couple of inches shorter’.  What ensued what the most hysterical and entertaining volley of snarky e-mail banter ……ever!  Really, really funny.  I can tell the guy is smart (and a smart-ass) and funny;  I can see he’s cute.  Oh, and he’s only 35.  Eh, far be it from me to not go after a younger guy.

Anyway, we’ve been text messaging for the past couple of days and he actually called me last night to see if I could meet he and his business partner out for a drink.  Dammit, I totally would have but had already made plans.  With Finger Foods and his really fun hasher group.  Which is an entire other annoying post on its own.  I so would have rather met cute, young, short redhead out than go through what I did last night, but I’m just not a flake.  If I promise something to someone, I follow through.  Unless I decide that I hate them.  Or they turn into a douche.

So now I am left to figure out how to garner another invitation out to meet redheaded boy.  If nothing else, I know the banter will be awesome! 

Oh, and before any of you think I suck, I’ve only been out with Tree Trunk once.  I do not, and will not, cease dating other people until I’m sure that I no longer want to see other people.  I realize a lot of guys expect that if you go out with them once, then you won’t see anyone else until you’re ‘sure’ that things don’t work out with them, but that’s just not how I roll.  C’mon people, look at my track record.  I can’t afford to pass up any potential options. 😉

 

6 Responses to “Cheating Already?”

  1. stevesw Says:

    I don’t understand “to see if I could meet him and his business partner out for a drink.” Bringing a wingman along while on the hunt is OK, but for to a quick meeting with someone you have communicated with and want to go out with? What, he can not make decisions on his own and is bringing him along to give the secret thumbs-up sign. OR, for some reason he has decided ‘no’ and is bringing his ‘business partner’ along for an introduction. Follow you own advice, make sure you purchase the most expensive drink they make, so if it doesn’t work out, you haven’t wasted the night.”

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      LOL Steve. I think it was more of a ‘we’re going out if you want to stop by’ thing and didn’t think anything of it, but now that I think of it, the biz partner probably was there to give a 2nd opinion. I didn’t end up going anyway, so it’s a moot point I guess.

      Honestly I was thinking ‘well, if I don’t like redhead, maybe I’ll like the other guy’ ……. 😉

  2. Surrey gal Says:

    I also don’t understand why he would meet you with his business partner?
    And please, don’t tell me guys expect “fidelity” after one date???? That’s ridiculous!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Hi Surrey Gal! So glad you dropped by. Maybe he’s a big weenie and needed a friend. Or maybe he thought I might attack him (he thinks it’s funny that I’m older than he is and keeps referring to me as a ‘cougar’ which I actually find highly annoying)

      And yes, a lot of guys do expect that if you have a good 1st date, that you won’t see anyone else. Yikes!

  3. everevie Says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the date with TT…and the hashers evening. And, I wouldn’t read too much into Opie inviting you out w/his business partner. Either it was totally innocent…or he did want a second opinion. Who cares? You would have blown them both away.

  4. […] And please everyone; I beg of you this one thing.  Just one.  I don’t ask for much, but this one could be a deal breaker for me.  No, not that his mom doesn’t drop him off at the bar.  No, not that the waitress doesn’t compliment me on what great manners my ‘son’ has.  Not even that he wears something other than tennis shoes and cargo shorts.  Please, for the love of god, do NOT have him declare that he’s an Alpha Male. […]


Leave a Reply

