43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Dinner and a Movie April 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:52 am
Tags: , ,

Yup, we’re going traditional for date #2 (as opposed to getting drunk, making out and smack talking over pool in a divey sports bar for date 1) ;-).

Although I am looking forward to it, he’s been sending an awful lot of text messages.  That go totally against his ‘alpha male’ claim.  And seem a bit needy.  And a tad bit creepy.

He’s already adopted terms or endearment names for me like sexy, baby and babe.  I just don’t roll that way.  Sort of makes me uncomfortable.  I don’t call people cutesy nicknames.  I don’t call people sweetheart, or honey.  Hell, I’m just lucky if I can get their really names right.  😉 I’ve just never been a big fan of the whole sweety-baby-honeypie thing.  It just sounds weird coming out of my mouth.

I’ve also got a bit of a concern regarding my lack of decorum when we met.  (lack of decorum = drinking way too much and kissing in the bar.  for all to see.  which I did the past 2 nights as well.  sigh.) Sure I was a bit tramptastic on date #1, but now I have to wonder if he thinks he’s getting lucky on date #2.  Just for the record friends, he’s not.

This is one of those things that I’d probably be upset if he didn’t text me, yet still find fault when he does.  These poor guys just can never win with me.  You know I’ll fill you all in on the details.  And maybe even details of the other guy that I’ve been texting for the past 3 days.  Or of the fucking lesbian who messaged me on OkCupid.  Erm …………

Well, regardless of how things go, it will be my 1st 2nd date of 2011.  Who won the pool? 😉

 

16 Responses to “Dinner and a Movie”

  1. Thomas Says:

    The devil is in the details…. I can already see the cracks from this post… distance is a simple matter of time…. I can tell you’re a really strong woman for the simple fact that you don’t like terms of endearment… Your story unfolds in mysterious ways…

    T.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I am a mystery Thomas 😉 When you are able to figure me out, please let me know as I’m stumped!

  2. stevesw Says:

    (Damn, should have read the comment above first…but I’ll leave my witty pun in!)

    I agree with you, there is something amiss. Don’t rake this personal (yah, sure), but you did send mixed signals; determined face pressing in public conveys on a first date, at least to me, desired further, deeper intimacy ‘sweetie’, ‘honey’ (hold on that’s the waitress talking as she puts my coffee on the table), possible ‘sexy’ sex partner. However, the tons of texting and the use of terms of endearment (ummm, good movie title, but wrong plot) could mean this guy is: a) recently divorced, or had long-time partner said ‘take a hike’, and because he just went out with one fantastic woman, that made all the others in the sports bar envious of him; b) you overwhelmed his ability to think straight (most likely); or c) he has just moved out of his parent’s house. Soooooooo, I can’t wait to hear how you handle this one (stop smirking, I meant taking control of the situation…saying ‘no’ in a gentle, kindly, firm way).

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      😉 you’re a funny one Steve. I so appreciate your insight and opinions into thing. I’m admittedly a little bit tough on guys and I guess did throw out mixed signals. For some ridiculous reason, I want everything done on my terms and according to my timeline. I’m trying to be better about this as it’s an impossibly expectation, but it’s baby steps.

      I have already been lectured by Click to pull my head out and just see how things go instead of inferring whatever my screwy self wants into all the attention he’s throwing my way 😉

      • stevesw Says:

        Personally, sugar, I like a woman that has a thinking brain and a confident in their self attitude. “Don’t leave me guessing baby, if you want me put my arms around you and leave a trail of soft kisses across your shoulder, speak up darling.”

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        well that’s just creepy 😉

        thanks for the laugh though!

        and you’re in BIG trouble if he says anything remotely like that tonight!

  3. Now, now, sweetie, “pull your head out of your ass” is a little strong. So pull your head out of your ass and just have a good time. You’re over-thinking it (of course you are – it’s what we do 😉 ) A little remorse over the pool table kissing…. who cares, honey? What I have to remind myself (still) is nothing yet is a deal breaker, just file it away and if the drawer gets too full then it may be deal breaker time… but until then just go with it. Okay, pumpkin? (Yeah, see… the terms of endearment just sound stupid when we try it.)

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Soooo, what you’re saying is that I should pull my head out? I hate when I do this …..

      Yeah, and you’re creepin’ me out with the terms of endearment snookie-bear. Cut it out 😉

  4. Surrey gal Says:

    I heard when somebody uses nicknames like “babe” or “sweety” or whatever it’s because they don’t want to mix up all the names. Something to think about 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      The funny part about that is, I’m the one that keeps calling him the wrong name!

      • Surrey gal Says:

        Looks like you should adopt his attitude, then!!! Call him babes, or sweety, or honey, or hunk, or muscles. “Hey, muscles, what book have you read recently?” 😀

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        I just can’t do it Surrey Gal. Just to amuse myself last night I tried calling him ‘babe’ once and almost bust out laughing …… it’s just not me

  5. everevie Says:

    I don’t mind terms of endearment once I’m IN a relationship with someone…not after a first date. Eww. I would be feeling exactly what you’re feeling too.

    But, I do think you should give him another chance. Especially if that other chance includes a free meal. 😉

  6. Thomas Says:

    call him “studly dudley” with a smirk each time… never call him by his regular name… he’ll see it as cute at first and then he’ll be taken back by the fact you’ve forgotten his name….

    T.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      hmmm, not sure those words would trip nicely off my lips Thomas. how about ‘fucking retard’ instead?


Leave a Reply

