43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Well That’s Just Super April 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 11:29 am
Tags: , ,

Yes, I know, I’m procrastinating again.  I have to do this right before I leave for any event in order to stop obsessing over what might go wrong (hmm, sounds similar to my dating life), when luckily, nothing ever does (hmmm, sounds not at all similar to my dating life).  So I was reading through some of my favorite blogs a while ago and came across a horrible article.  From ‘the robots’ on OkStupid.  That pretty much lets me know that I am, indeed a big fat loser for not being able to find a man at my age and that pretty much, via the internet, I’m kinda screwed.  Nice.  Like I need some article to explain to me that guys my age only like younger women.  Duh.  That guys in general, date younger than they are (that would explain all the 51 years olds that contact me I guess).  Really though, although I was already well aware of the trend, to actually see it in a much too long article, complete with graphs and statistics (why do I always think of that movie ‘Fun With  Dick and Jane’ when I hear that word) to lay it all out there for me is a bit saddening.  Internet daters in my age group taper off significantly.  The theory in the article is because we’ve probably found someone to be with by that age.  Uh, hello?  I’m still looking dammit.

The viewpoint of the writer is to attempt to make a case for why older women are just as good as younger ones, but really, with all the graphs and numbers, it’s just sort of a sad mirror of my dating history lately.

Anyway, if you have an hour to kill (really, it’s a LONG friggin article) and want to feel depressed, take a gander.

Why I Will Be Single Forever According To OkCupid

Well, now that I’m thoroughly depressed, I guess I’ll go cater and hope to god that there is at least one cute guy there that it would be completely inappropriate for me to flirt with.  So I will won’t.

 

17 Responses to “Well That’s Just Super”

  1. Surrey gal Says:

    That’s a buch of pseudo-scientific crap. That makes you (not you like you but you like one, you know, you, me, her, and so on) believe that with every birthday the chances of finding someone are getting smaller and smaller. I refuse to believe it or I’d have to drink a bottle of wine today again and I really can’t as I have to look pretty for tomorrow.

  2. Surrey gal Says:

    Rubbish crap. I’m erasing it from my head. Where’s the wine???

  3. So why don’t you date younger men?

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I would LOVE to! Sadly, that’s easier said than done. 😉 Thanks for the comment and if you know any young(er) single guys in my area, please let me know! 🙂

      • I’m not sure what your area is. But I’ve just turned 30 and am for some reason mainly being hit on by 23-year-olds. Either that or married men. So I’m beginning to think that maybe the way to go is younger. They seem to appreciate some of those qualities that are lacking in 23-year-old girls 🙂

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          🙂 I have 23 year olds contacting me as well, but as I’m 43, it’s a little creepier 😉 i’m good right around 35-40. they just all suck is the problem ……….

  4. I’m not even gonna look.

  5. everevie Says:

    I can’t look either. I do appreciate, however, that you would spread this cheery message to the masses, upon masses, of 30something and up single women that flock to your blog daily (okay…all 3 of us). It’s a very kind and timely Public Service Announcement.

    😉

    Hope your catering event is crawling with tall, hot, single, appropriately aged men who hit on you.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I’m a giver…………I like to share the love Evie. 😉 or lack thereof ……… whatever 😉

      uh NO hot, NO tall, NO appropriately aged men tonight! there was one balding doctor who inhaled at least a dozen cream puffs while chatting with me though …… ick

  6. stevesw Says:

    Finding suitable dates/loves/sex objects/or what ever you sweet gals call your men does become more difficult as we grow older for two simple reasons: a) we become more selective as we mature mentally. I have an established lifestyle, desires. Sure I can try new things, but ‘I know what I want,’ based on experience, so I am far choosier than a younger person. Grey Goose and Surrey Gal may joke about wanting a specific drink when on a date, but it’s the truth; I like a Newcastle with a steak, and I can get it, so why screw around in some place that does not serve it. And b) the pool of eligible women/men becomes smaller as the type we are individually attracted to become married (or have already said no to us). (I added the a) and b) to make that more educated.)

    • everevie Says:

      Steve…and Ladies: At least we have senility to look forward to…b/c then…our mental maturity will go right out the window…and we will revert to thinking that any guy (or gal-Steve) who looks our way, is worth dating.

      Yippee to old age!!!

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        uh Evie, that just sounds bad ……… in more ways than one ………. if you truly are senile and think any random guy is worth dating, then chances are, you’re not going to even remember how to get on your bicycle, much less take it for a ride …..

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      haha Steve – i was sure you were going to say the dating pool gets smaller as we age as all the good ones are dying off! 😉

      you’re right – i’m a hell of a lot pickier now that I was when I was younger and I just seem to not be as attracted to as many guys – maybe because I’m not drunk all the time – hmmmm, may want to put that theory to the test ……… next vacation!

  7. Speaking as a guy who might be single in the future, apparently your loss could be my gain 🙂

    I won’t have to bother with shaving, keeping trim, speelinng things rite … not with the hordes who will be trailing and saying, “Pick me!” Wow, some light at the end of the tunnel!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      not that you would need it Sean, but yes, the male dating pool has set the bar very very low for you. 😉 you are sure to be a hot property! 🙂


Leave a Reply

