43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Love Me As I Am Or Just Go Away April 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:52 pm
Tags: , ,

Yeah, I know, most guys opt for the latter. 😉  And that’s okay with me.  I wouldn’t want to change for anyone.  I like who I am.  Sure I have faults (big ole’ obnoxious ones), but they make me who I am and are counterbalanced by a really good heart and spirit.  Wow, that’s about as much as you’ll get from me ‘touting’ my good qualities.  I never feel the need to let people know how great I think I am.  That would be silly.  They should be able to tell on their own and if they can’t, well then, they’re not the ones for me.  I pretty much pick my guys the way I do my friends.  If  you don’t bring something positive to the table, then be gone. 🙂

I follow a ton of blogs on here.  I love them all.  I feel like I ‘know’ many of the people who I read.  I feel like there are a lot of people out there that are just like me.  Strong willed, independent and unwilling to settle.  I also follow people who cover the opposite side of the spectrum.  Some, although fascinating, I have not been able to figure out.  I’m really good at reading people.  I read between the lines (not always a good thing) and figure out underlying motivations.  Sure, some of the things I discover aren’t all that appealing to me, but who am I to judge?  Everyone brings something to the table.  Every single person.  Well, maybe aside from my ex who brings me nothing but heartburn and at the time, an empty bank account, but I digress.

Anyway, a couple of people that I follow (stop trying to figure it out as it may or may not actually be part of my blogroll) are such a conundrum (sorry Evie, I love that word, so I’m stealing it for the day).  Seem like really good people.  Allows bits and pieces of that to shine through, yet spends an inordinate amount of time touting how they would be willing and able to change for the right person.  Now like I said, I am no one to judge anyone, but I have to wonder why anyone would want to change for another.  If there are things about yourself that you don’t like or are not happy with, wouldn’t you want to change those for yourself?  To become the best person that you can be for yourself, irregardless of what others may think?

I don’t know that I could have any sort of ongoing anything with someone who didn’t like who I was (or who they are, for that matter).  The good, the bad and the ugly.  Sure there are things about myself that I’d like to change, but I will change them for me, not for anyone else.  It seems that if you mold yourself into what someone else wants, then you are no longer yourself, right?  It’s funny that I’ve seen this ‘theme’ in many people’s’ posts over the last several weeks and while I think it’s admirable for people to want to better themselves, I have to wonder why they would do that for someone else.  Why would you want to morph into what one particular person wants?  Then heaven forbid that person is no longer there, what do you do?  Wait for the next and then morph yourself again?  Sort of like a real life Transformer?

Although easier said than done, I would hope that everyone would be happy with who they are.  Maybe not in every single aspect as there is no such thing as perfect and I really do think that it’s people’s imperfections that make them unique (and loveable as hell).  “Being comfortable in your own skin’ ……… recognize that bullshit sentiment.  Although it sounds totally ridiculous, it sorta  makes sense.  Don’t ever change just because someone else wants you to or because you feel you can ‘make yourself’ into what they want.  Inevitably, you’ll just lose yourself in the process and not be happy with any of it. 😦

Not quite sure why I wrote this post.  I guess introspective Friday continues.

Thank god it’s almost Saturday! 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Love Me As I Am Or Just Go Away”

  1. everevie Says:

    Hey…I didn’t actually “invent” the word conundrum…so please, feel free to use it as much as you like. 😉

    Anyhow…I hear you cluckin’ big chicken! Or…I’m picking up what you’re laying down. Or…yes, I agree with your assessment of the situation as it stands.

    (I’m a dork…and NOT drunk at all.)

    I wrote a post this week about sorta censoring my thoughts and writings…not so much to please others as it was to avoid displeasing others. (They actually are different things.)

    And I’ve been known to keep thoughts, feelings, experiences, pain, fear, hope, love to myself…But I would never want to actively change to be what/who someone wants me to be.

    However…I would love to be inspired to change some of the lesser qualities in me…because of someones else’s example. 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Well duh Webster, I know you didn’t invent the word. You just used it in one of your posts the other day. 🙂

      I guess it’s a fine line if you’re actually nice and stuff and worry about people’s feelings, but hell Evie, this is the blogosphere – although I don’t think you should ever attack anyone directly (sadly, like I did last week and am still upset at myself for doing), and I know you would never do, I would never censor what I write on here. In the end, my blog is for me. I love that I have made so many friends and absolutely astounded that others find me interesting enough to read (either that or they’re just bored as hell), but I really don’t worry about what I write. As you can tell 😉

      I absolutely agree with your being inspired by someone else’s example, but to passively sit back and wait for someone to tell you who they’d like you to be? Hell no.

  2. Surrey gal Says:

    What’s good for one may not be good for the others. So let’s say you bite your toenails. It doesn’t really bother you, you don’t mind at all, and it’s not something you are particulary attached to. But your perfect love affair can’t stand it. Would you stop biting them?

    Having said that, I don’t bite my toenails and I can’t see myself changing for anybody. They should change for me, right? 😛

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      They should absolutely change for you!

      I would think you’d have to be quite the contortionist in order to bite your toenails, btw, so I doubt that a guy would discourage it anyway 😉 (as gross a habit it may be)

      And i support you 100% in NOT learning to bite your toenails just because some guy wants you to!

      heehee


Leave a Reply

