43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Maybe He Has ADD? April 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 5:36 pm
Tags: , ,

Okay, so this guy who happens to be wearing sunglasses in all of his pics (a little strange) has sent me a couple of e-mails off of match.  They are sort of like big ole’ wandering run on sentences.  He changes subjects with no warning, pulls topics out of the sky to ‘respond’ to (that I didn’t ask) and just generally confuses me.

He sent me one e-mail like this and I sent back, in proper paragraph form a response explaining what I do for work (i guess no one can actually read where it says what I do for a living under ‘what you do for a living’?), what part of town I live in and one other thing that I can’t remember.  Because he asked me.  He had also thrown into the e-mail that he likes movies and hiking (yes, I know everyone in Phoenix apparently loves hiking – whatever).  The only question that I threw in was to ask what types of movies he likes.  That was it.  Answer his questions and ask 1 of my own.  This is what he sends me for a response:

“I’ve been pretty busy too. I have to work on Saturday again. Twelve hours. Other people don’t have work and I have too much. Anyhow I really like funny movies more than any other kind. I do alot of hiking. Have you ever been to Dave and Busters? I don’t know where you live but I’ve been there before and had a blast. If you’re working I hope you’re making lots of money!”

Okay, so he talked about work.  Fine.  He told me he likes comedies.  Fine.  He told me he likes hiking (again).  Whatever.  I guess I just don’t know where the Dave & Busters thing comes in.  Is this his awkward way to ask if I would like to go?  I don’t know.  It’s just so out of place and such a random thing to write.

I’m thinking of responding:

“Hi.  Yes, work has been busy.  I like long walks on the beach and listening to the ocean.  I find it peaceful.  I like going on vacation.  I like the Carribbean.  Vodka is good.  My dog’s name is Bean.  Coral is my favorite color.  I’ve been to Dave & Buster’s once.  I once pushed a guy in a pool at a party because he was mean to me in high school.”

I’m just confused.  And not sure that I even want to meet someone anymore that I’m not totally excited about.  I know that goes against every rule of internet dating, but eh ………..

Don’t worry though.  I’m sure i’ll be back to my ‘the more the merrier’ self sometime before the weekend ends. 🙂

 

19 Responses to “Maybe He Has ADD?”

  1. Fucking do it and I love you forever!!!

  2. Seriously … RUN! … Do not meet this guy! If he can’t string thoughts together when WRITING THEM DOWN, how do you think he’ll cope in person when you say something complicated like “Shall we sit here or over there?”

    Just last week, I interviewed someone like this. I was late to the interview and the other 2 interviewers looked at me oddly and said, “You can jump right in.” OK. I asked him ONE question. He rambled. And rambled. (Like me right now, except I am — believe it or not — still on the same topic). Not even close to the technical question I asked him. I eventually cut him off and repeated the question. More wandering. More eluding the question. I cut him off and explained EXACTLY what I wanted. MORE wandering. OMG! I looked sideways at the other two ladies and they were just staring at him. Needless to say, I said, “OK, we’re done.” They kept staring and nodded, and we pushed him out so fast, he was still babbling while going into the elevator. We didn’t see him out of the building; he might still be wandering around rabbiting on now for all I know. I’m scared to use the stairs to take the shortcut to my underground parking spot…

    RUN! (No, not from me, from ADD Guy).

    • On a slightly related topic (God, I’m sound like this twerp already), I lived in Dallas for 18 months when I was consulting around the country for IBM.

      One day I was driving to…no idea…and I ended up lost in this light commercial area. And there, in the middle of boring low-rise building, is a wildly OTT decorated-by-childlike-minds building marked “Dave & Busters World Headquarters.” To this day, I have no idea who D & B are, but I’m willing to be they don’t sell fine art.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Sean. I always err on the side of meeting everyone as I don’t want to possibly ‘miss’ a good one. As I haven’t even met all that many good ones anyway, I guess the chances that he’s just a nervous e mail writer are slim, huh? 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I think I replied to the wrong one – oh well, you’re a smart man, you can catch up 🙂 Dave & Busters is totally a bar for those with ADD. it’s like an indoor amusement park/bar that serves food.

  3. Don’t listen to Struggling Dad 😉 You don’t have to meet him but you DO have to send that email just to see how he responds.

    • You’re right, Click. She has to send the e-mail. Then can she run? Maybe move to Idaho?

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        Funny you selected Idaho out of all the states. I know you haven’t read far enough back to know that I actually lived in Boise for @ 6 years and LOVED it. (i’m sure you were making fun of it though, as everyone who’s never been there does) 😉

        • I just picked Idaho because it’s a long way from Phoenix and has nice scenery as far as I know. You’re right, I had no idea you’d lived there. It’s one of the U.S. states I haven’t been to. I’ll get there one day to see the house that has a sign, “This is where GGD lived. Alas, she went south.”

          • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

            hahaha. I never should have moved back to Phx. Shoulda stayed there. Will make it back again one day …… 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      really? what if he figures out i’m being a bitch? oh well, he’d find that out about me sooner or later ……….

  4. Idaho is funny on other levels – sorry a side joke with Grey and I.

    Uhm, yeah, he’s not ‘focused’ enough to figure out you’re being a bitch. Although I don’t know that I would call it being a bitch… Just ah, playing on a level field ???

  5. everevie Says:

    My favorite line in his entire email…especially if taken out of context…is this one: “I don’t know where you live but I’ve been there before and had a blast.”

    Brilliant.

    I have also had a blast at the place which I don’t know but have once before known to have lived at where you are and also had a blast.

    I agree with Click…please send the email.

    I sorta agree with Sean…but rather than running…I suggest you just saunter away.

    Also…Boise? Really? You loved it there? I mean…BOISE???

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      OMG Evie. I just spit my beer, er water, out all over the place. I totally missed the ‘i’ve been to your house and had a blast part’ the 1st time around. Hilarious!

      Don’t you badmouth my Boise, Evie. It’s really a great town. People are actually NICE there! I miss it …….

      Okay fine, I’ll send the e mail (you know he’s going to point out to me that there is no beach in Arizona, right?) ………

  6. stevesw Says:

    He is obviously confusing you with someone else. “I don’t know where you live but I’ve been there before and had a blast. If you’re working I hope you’re making lots of money!” Obviously he was drunk and his friends took him to a local ‘adult recreational’ house where he had a ‘blast’ – no doubt prematurely – but the memory was so good that he wants her to make lots of money.

    Everevie, as my norm, I wrote this before I read the comments, so great minds do think alike!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      haha Steve ~ ‘adult recreational’ house. pretty sure you’re not speaking of a ‘dave and busters’ sorta place 😉


Leave a Reply

