43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

5 Hour 1st Date + The Art Of Buying Real Estate May 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:10 am
Tags: , ,

Hello all!  Let’s start with this:  my khaki skorts, white tank, white top & silver blingie sandals are now my all time favorite date outfit.  Yup, I wore it to lunch and then in the 2 hours I had to kill between date #1 & date #2 I could have changed, but figured, eh…..why? 

So 5pm date text messaged me at 3:30 to let me know he was getting off work early but would meet me at the bar at 5.  I texted back ‘great’.  He then texted me again at 4:30 to see if I was on schedule.  I figured that was a bit odd, but maybe he’s just a details person.  I text him back that I was actually early and already there.  No response.  Then I text that I’m going to go ahead and get a table (and a cocktail – duh).  No response.  He then texts me that he’s a little concerned since he didn’t hear from me all day …………er, WTF?!?!  So I opt out of the text message bullshit and call him.  He hadn’t gotten any of my messages, but promised to be on his way toot sweet.

He shows up (only about 5 minutes late in the end, but lucky him).  He’s tall-ish (6’1″) and okay looking.   Cute in a totally nerdy sort of way.  He sticks out his hand to shake my hand and I go ‘really?!? a handshake and give him a hug’ …. what can I say, I’m all about the body contact.  We start chatting and not only did he go to my friggin’ high school, but also my college!  He’s 3 years younger than me, so I totally missed him on both counts, but we have some mutual friends.  Very funny.  We are having a good time drinking and ordered a couple of appetizers.  He’s uber smart (in an ‘inside the box’ engineering sort of way) and we get along really well.  About 2 hours in we opt out and decide to walk around a bit.  Well of course, we walk directly to another bar. Yey me!  Had  a really good time, proceeded to drink too much, he exclaims that he ‘hasn’t done this since college’ and calls me a bad influence yet is exceptionally complimentary and nice.  And a tad bit snarky.  🙂  Ya’ know what he did then?  As I’m giving him a hard time, he pulls out his flippin’ Mensa card!!!  Holy shit!  I always joke about my love of a huge brain and he’s got it!  Anyway, he has his hand on my leg and I lean in and kiss him.  Not too shabby.

We walk around a bit more and decide to call it a night.  After a few suggestions that I go back to his place – ha!  We kiss for a bit in the parking lot (gotta love a drunk makeout session when surrounded by high schoolers) and he says he had a great time, hasn’t had so much fun in ages and is happy that I was so fun and normal.  Er, duh ……….. Anyway, we will certainly go out again.

This leaves me in a bit of a quandary however.  I had 2 dates yesterday and liked both of them.  Just like when buying investment properties in real estate, although i may look at a ton of properties, on the off-chance that I like more than one at the same time, I rank them.  So 2 dates down for Friday.  1 more on Saturday.  I need to start ranking so I know who’s ‘in the lead’.  I don’t know if it was the alcohol or what, but I think that date #2 has edged past lunch date guy.  Now mind you, I am fully aware that I like most people when drinking, however, I think date #2 may be a better fit for me.  Maybe not as cute, but a really good guy.  Now we just need to see where date #3 falls in the  mix.  And yes, I will have to pick out a different outfit.

Oh, and just because when it rains, it pours, the guy from Chemistry that I haven’t corresponded with in a few days text messaged me when I was on my way home.  As I was in a bit of a sensory overload sorta situation, I fibbed when he wanted to talk and told him that I couldn’t as one of my dogs was sick and hoped we could talk in the morning.  Not sure if that pissed him off or not, but really?  It’s been 1.5 years of internet dating and I have 4 good guys interested in me?  I don’t know if I can deal.

Oh, and yes, I did mix up facts between date #1 and date #2 and TOTALLY stuck my foot in my mouth ………. eh, would you expect anything less?

 

11 Responses to “5 Hour 1st Date + The Art Of Buying Real Estate”

  1. Yay! Yay! Yay!

    This is SO great! I can’t wait to read first post after Saturdays date. Seeing that I can only catch the interest of men living in other countries than myself, it’s nice that I can date through you 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks BAS. Looking forward to tonight as he is the one I was most excited about meeting to begin with ….

      Not sure what’s going on with the universe to bring me multiple normal guys all at once, but I’ll take it 😉

  2. Yay for you! Looks like I should have found something to bet on about one or more of them getting to a third date!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Baby steps Sean. I have to get through a 2nd date 1st and rarely does anyone make it out alive 😉

  3. mysterycoach Says:

    Juuust, (I think you will …) take your time and see how it all evolves. That having been said, isn’t smitten the bestest phase ever? 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Ah hell, MC. ‘Smitten’ is an awesome phrase, however I am far from that. I’m just amazed that I didn’t hate either of them. 😉

      • mysterycoach Says:

        I know 🙂 … a’m just saying. I know what you mean too, you go out and it’s not just something “sufficient” you actually enjoyed yourself. I hear you… I completely hear ya.

  4. Surrey gal Says:

    I’m SOOOOO jealous!!! And happy for you! Don’t choose one or the other just yet, if you buy a bed you test this one, and that one… test them, and in time you will see which one is a better fit for you! You said yourself it’s unreasonable to expect exclusivity after one day, right???

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Surrey! 🙂 You’re right, I won’t actually choose … I would go out with both of them again if they ask (always a question mark) as they’re both good guys …..

  5. […] it’s been bothering me about my 5 hour date with skinny guy.  How we could get along so great.  How he could send 2 follow up messages + a phone call […]

  6. […] in the same vicinity.  As I remembered that there was a Rock Bottom there that was the scene of The 5 Hour First Date (and subsequent effusive text messages & e-mails right before falling off the face of the […]


Leave a Reply

