43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Always Keep A Spare May 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:30 am
Tags: , ,

So date with guy #3 didn’t go so well.  See?  I told you it’s never good when I get excited about meeting someone.  Not quite sure why that is, but eh, I should know by now after my 327 years of dating.  I have also learned to never burn your bridges.  Okay, so I’m not applying for or quitting a job, what the hell does that have to do with internet dating?  Anyone who internet dates, and is female, knows that there are always guys e-mailing.  They may be ranked farther down on the list from your ‘1st draft’ choices, but they’re still good guys nonetheless. 

Case in point.  Nice guy I’ve been e-mailing with from Chemistry.  Smart as a whip, software engineer and seems very down to earth.  I think his pics are cute and I liked his profile, but with 3 guys to meet this weekend already, I sort of dropped contact with him.  I just sort of had a feeling yesterday morning before I met date #3 that it would just be too amazing for me to actually like all 3, so I would probably have a slot for one more in the rotation.  Hahahaha, only kidding.  Can you imagine people who actually keep a spreadsheet of guys and details?  Oh, er, sorry Click & Evie ;-).  Anyway, I e mailed him this morning apologizing for being out of touch and gave him my phone number.

Well guess who just called?  And guess who I’m meeting for A drink on Monday?  One drink.  Uno drinko.  On a school/catering night no less?  🙂  I’m a wild woman, I tell ya’.  I’m certain to behave myself as I have to cater the next day and I rarely if ever go out the night before I cater anything, but what the hell.  May as well.  Oh, and did I forget to mention that he’s 34?  And sadly yet another newbie to online dating.  Sigh.  I hope he’s ready for me.

 

10 Responses to “Always Keep A Spare”

  1. mysterycoach Says:

    With burrows furrowed, what’s a good guy to you? blink?

    I ask because what I do is talk to them on the phone, one guy just got out of the shower when I called and he had his iPhone and was going to be “generous” enough to send me a picture. Uh… yah, I told him not to. Idiot… Where’s that been? Nope, didn’t meet this guy, wasn’t upset about it.

    I ask because while guys/women seem nice that’s good behavior period for the first 6 weeks to three months, even longer. Everyone is on their best behavior in the beginning of a relationship. Barring really arrogant guys who you just know are @#$@% ‘s and it’s oozing out of their pores. I think it’s good that you only have the two and the third one wasn’t for you.

    I don’t like the whole, date many idea myself. I’ve done it, but they weren’t able to make it past the telephone calls. If I can’t talk to them on the phone, what’s the point? Course, I’m a single mom and I don’t want to waste my precious time off going out with some guy who I can’t talk to in the first place. So… I have less freedom. I don’t know… it’s nice to have the dates, at the same time, it sounds exhausting to me. 🙂

  2. mysterycoach Says:

    oops that’s supposed to say with furrowed eyebrows up there. I haven’t finished my coffee yet LOL !!!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Hi MC, while I’m sure you meant no harm, I take a bit of offense to your comment. I am not wasting my time. I am searching for a man that makes me happy. I do not meet everyone. That would be ridiculous. I meet the ones that seem kind, funny, smart, ambitious and generally good people. Sure, I judge wrong sometimes but I am not going to discount someone that I can carry a conversation with just because someone else thinks ‘i date too much’. If they seem like morons on the phone then no, I don’t meet them, but the only way for me to judge chemistry is face to face. I am not a date as many as possible sort of gal, the fact that I have several guys that I might be able to get along with contacting me at the same time right now is not within my control.

      What works for one person in the online dating world, does not work for another. As for having time. No, I don’t have a lot of it. I own my own business, I have a 2nd full time job, I manage several investment properties that I own, I have my dogs, my friends and seemingly everyone else in the world to take care of. If I choose to spend what little free time I have searching (somewhat in vain it appears) for a guy to make me happy, then that’s my decision to make.

      I am far from being naive or an idiot. I am fairly adept at judging character and reading between the lines. I do give them a chance and remain optimistic that there’s one great one for me out there. I won’t find out if I don’t even try however.

      • mysterycoach Says:

        Absolutely not inferring that you’re wasting your time. I do apologize if I came across that way, it wasn’t my intention. I understand what you’re doing and I also wasn’t inferring that you were the date as many as possible person… For myself (so I’m clear in the future, I’ll try to refer to myself when I write okay? I don’t want us to have a misunderstanding) I can hear chemistry or feel it “some what” on the phone. So, it alleviates going and meeting them.

        Oh, very nice, I think you mentioned a catering business? You are busy aren’t you! You know, it’s funny because they say we need to keep ourselves busy and then pick and chose and it’s not easy. I’m thoroughly not as busy as you are.

        So I’m clear, I don’t think you’re naive or an idiot “at all”. I think you’re witty, intelligent and highly perceptive and also, now that you’ve told me an accomplished person in business. And I respect this. I know you won’t find out if you don’t try, I understand. And I do hope, that one of these people you meet are just for you.

        Maybe for myself I got tired of it and to me it’s exhausting. And I’m a bit over protective too, it’s my nature. It bothers me to see how hard it is, I guess because I’ve grown tired of looking myself.

        Optimism is good, never lose it and I do apologize again for any misunderstand I caused. 🙂

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          Thanks MC. I appreciate the time you take to explain yourself. Believe me that it has crossed my mind that I’m wasting my time with this all, I just don’t know any other way to go about it.

          • mysterycoach Says:

            You are most welcome and I don’t know a different way either. Okay, that’s a partial lie because I need to go out more often, get some kind of hobby or whatever but I have a daughter and I’m home more often than not. Different priorities, she’s going to be 14 and this is when I really have to pay attention. (Boys, all the things they’re subjected to these days, etc., )

            I’ve tried online dating off and on and for me, it’s been fruitless. I think going out and doing more things I enjoy would be better. But, funds are limited and what I want to do is expensive. Like uhm… martial arts classes or scuba diving classes or DANCE classes! 🙂 Oh I’d love all of these! I should open up an MC fund just for my hobby.

            In the meantime, I took a break from my dating site, although I found some other ones that were much better, but the most interesting guys lived in like Alaska … ugh. LOL … Or too far for even a long distance relationship. They were nice though, I liked some of the ones on there. It was for single parents only and I rarely got a butt head on it. Much more refreshing than some of the other ones.

            I don’t know if I believe in what they say that when we’re not looking we find but I think I’m going to “not look” for a little while. I think I’ve been looking as a distraction lately and that’s no good. My, aren’t I chatty? hahaha!

  3. Surrey gal Says:

    Sharing is caring, dear, so please, share with me, I could do with just ONE to go out with!!!!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      haha, i’ll check right now to see if they have their passports 🙂 don’t you worry though …. i’m sure i’ll screw it all up and then have no dates for the next 6 months

  4. everevie Says:

    Umm…it wasn’t a “spreadsheet”…it was a notebook…and color-coding…and a ranking system.

    I’m just sayin….


Leave a Reply

