43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Aren’t I The Big Idiot……… May 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 4:18 pm
Tags: , ,

Yup, that’s a statement and not a question.  And one that I’m sure that there is a whole slew of people who would race to agree with.  I swear to god though, the day I can figure guys out, is the day I’m going to share that secret with all of you.  For free!  No clue how I could mis-read Friday’s happy hour date, but apparently I did.

Riddle me this:  We hung out for 5 hours.  We laughed.  We flirted.  We have a ton in common.  He kept asking me if I wanted to go to his parent’s ranch up North.  He kept pointing out he has season’s tickets to the Cardinals.  He told me numerous times during the date he was having so much fun and hadn’t been on such a great date in years.  There was not one awkward moment or silence the entire evening.  Okay, I figure this means things are going well.  Sure, I know guys say things they don’t mean all the time, but honestly, I was believing him.  Sure, we both drank too much, I probably shouldn’t have kissed him (so many times), but there was nothing inappropriate.  I went home, he went home.  He called me when he got home that night to thank me again for going out with him as he has a great time.  I said I did too.  He text messaged me the next morning to tell me again what a great time he had and that his phone was still being weird and he’d know to check if he doesn’t hear from me.  I respond in kind.  That I had a great time, yadda yadda.  Then ………… crickets.  Stupid me figures he’s having phone issues again so I shoot him a quick note on OkStupid yesterday (as I’m pretty stupid myself in that I don’t have his real e-mail address) jokingly asking how I’m supposed to know if he didn’t get my text or if he’s just ignoring me on purpose. 😉 (yes, i included the lame happy face)  I also let him know that I had a great time and would like to see him again.

And nothing ………….. so now I’m the loser/idiot who has sent him a text and then absolutely assuming he didn’t get it, sent an e-mail after that when apparently, he wasn’t responding on purpose (unless of course he dropped his phone in the toilet or died, in which case i still think he should have had an orderly let me know) …………  Really though, what the fuck did I misread here?

 

14 Responses to “Aren’t I The Big Idiot………”

  1. mysterycoach Says:

    Deep breath honey… give it a day, see what happens. It’s Monday, so … yah give it a day. There’s a good possibility he’s just busy and stuff. Ya know?

    You’re not a loser or an idiot … If ya don’t hear from him by Wednesday, THEN we’ll call him the idiot/loser. And there’s nothing wrong with letting him know you’re interested either.

    Man, these sites are like a cluster F@#$ aren’t they? ugh…

  2. Hey Grey,

    Haven’t you seen those funnies where they compare Guys to Girls and it has hundreds of switches, dials, and knobs for the Gal, and on/off for the Guy. Not hard to figure out at all!

    But seriously, I’m a guy and I’m left wondering why he hasn’t followed up. The fact that he called after he got home and texted the next morning is significant.

    He’s either playing it very cool to keep the pressure off you or something went wrong that he didn’t think about it until later. It doesn’t sound like he was playing you; he would have maintained contact. I mean how can he play you without following up?!! He mentions the getaway vacation, the season tickets, nah, he couldn’t be playing you.

    What might have gone wrong…hmmm. Seemed like you had a great time. Except maybe the kissing. Don’t guys get the wrong idea if there’s kissing on the first date? Maybe one hug and/or a goodbye peck is enough to tell him you like him. Or maybe it’s just soooo long that I was ‘out in the wild’ that my murmurings are (literally) from another century!!\

    If he’s playing it cool or has a busy job or just doesn’t think that things should be rushed, you’ll hear from him soon. Except that ignoring texts is a little mean unless you’ve broken your phone or something equally unlikely.

    Of course, unlikely isn’t impossible. Where I used to work before I switched assignments last year, there is a guy who recently vanished. As in no longer shows up to work. His wife says he was mugged (when she occasionally answers the phone) and he is/was in hospital. Which hospital? Oh, north of here. OK, when will he be out? Soon. But you said that two weeks ago. Right, *real* soon. And they don’t have PHONES in this hospital? I’m wondering if he’s in jail, but even then he’d have access to a phone at some point. The organization is only holding on because recruiting is time-consuming…and pointless if he really is days away from returning. My point is that a disappearing act doesn’t mean much (except int he actual example I helpfully provided!). I’m betting he’ll be back in contact. Eventually. Patience, grasshopper!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Patience is NOT one of my virtues Sean. 😉 I will try though – as it’s all I can do now.

      I just don’t really ‘get’ people who take forever to respond to a text – everyone has their phones with them ……. always ……. it takes 2 seconds

      Uh, and Sean – i don’t usually go into dates planning on mashing with them in parking lots, however, i am a big fan of kissing and when I drink (a bit too much) and am having a good time, i sorta just do …….

  3. everevie Says:

    Sean!! What happened with the coworker?? You can’t just leave us hanging like that! Or do you not know yet?

    Also, yes…you’ve been out of the dating scene way too long if you think that kissing on a first date is too forward. Not that it’s considered bad if you don’t kiss…but it’s def not a negative if you DO.

    Grey…try not to worry about it yet. Guys are stupid (with the exception of Sean and Steve, of course). If he hasn’t responded by the end of the week…then I’ll fly out there, find him, and pummel him. K?

    But…yeah…frustrating. For sure.

    • Re: the guy who joined after I left … STILL no word from him. As of today, I think they are realizing something serious has happened and they’re starting to recruit for a replacement. The guy used to e-mail me 20-40 times a day for info (apparently, no-one else would help, or didn’t know, no idea…all I know is that I had to create special folders for the emails so I wouldn’t lose track of the discussion threads). I almost miss him…the silence is deafening.

      Re: me and Steve. Good call! 🙂 Isn’t there a Bob too? Crap, no, that’s me too!

      Re: Kissing on the first date. Cool! Now all I have to do is wait for my wife to actually leave, for me to fall out of love with her, find a date and THEN I can kiss someone again! Wait, you don’t think the rules will have changed again by then do you? 🙂

    • Breaking News!

      The coworker about whom I said, “I’m wondering if he’s in jail” IS in jail! That’s why he failed to stop by the office. Some outstanding warrant from New York from 6 years ago. The police waited until he got better then picked him up, drove him north, and put him in a much smaller room, without any nice nurses to mop his brow.

  4. If kissing on the first date is wrong, I don’t wanna be right 😉 Uhm… yeah, I think after high school, kissing on the first date is A-Okay. A kiss is just a kiss but indicative that you do, in fact, like somebody.

    And some guys are just pussies and can’t say what they mean. Although this one gave off too many cues to the opposite (which means you misread nothing) so I’m still holding out hope for him.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I actually thought I had this one read properly. If I don’t hear from him again, I give up. I will admit defeat and go into every single date as if I don’t give a shit (ha)

  5. Funny how patience is supposed to be such a positive word. I definitely think it’s one of the most overrated virtues out there.

    But I have to agree with the others. Sounds like he really is interested and there can be a million (granted, for women not understandable) reasons for him not answering. But seeing that he’s been living up to your expectations so far, you should give him the benefit of the doubt.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks BAS……I just wish guys came with instruction manuals……or decoder rings.

      OMG! What is he turns out to be like Big Red and sends me a text next week that he doesn’t think we’re compatible 😉

  6. I’m afraid it would turn out to be a very thin manual. I have a feeling that men really aren’t that complicated, but that women need to make them be in order to relate to them 🙂

  7. Surrey gal Says:

    It’s impossible to figure guys out!!! The more I’m reading about it and the more I’m experiencing myself the less I understand their behaviour!!!
    Maybe his computer broke? 😀

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      A slight chance of that, but with his being an aeronautical (sp?) Engineer, i’m pretty sure he could figure some other way to contact me if he wanted to 😦


Leave a Reply

