43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Walking In Circles May 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 11:12 am

I am a highly organized person (in an organized chaos sorta way).  I have to be.  My life pulls me in too many directions on any given day and I don’t want to leave anything behind or forgotten.  I make lists.  Lots of lists.  I have lists all over the house.  Stuck to my computer screen, on my kitchen cabinets, on my doors, on my counters.  Everywhere.  I also cross things off my list as I go.  If I didn’t make lists, someone or something would get forgotten.  I can’t allow that to happen.  I find however, that even with all my lists, I often forget things.  Somewhat annoying as I used to have a memory like a steel trap.  Now it’s more like an aluminum sieve.

I find that I walk in circles a lot.  Literally.  I will go downstairs or into another room to get something and by the time I’ve actually gotten where I’m going (usually a whopping 3 seconds away), I have forgotten why I am there or what I am looking for.  It’s actually quite annoying but mostly funny (in an annoying sorta way).  I go over lists in my head.  I will run through a menu, for example, but before I get to the end of my mental list, my mind has wandered off task and I’m now deciding what I want to have for lunch.  I don’t think I’m ADD, I think I just have a lot of stuff going on at once and I get a bit befuddled.

I was working a large function 2 weeks ago and was working with 2 new servers that hadn’t had the pleasure of my company before. 😉 I was in the kitchen of the venue and literally walking in circles.  They both laughed, looked at each other and exclaimed ‘we do that too! what are you looking for?’.  I do it all the time.  I’m working on something, decide I need a spatula, turn around to grab it and find myself staring into a pile of gadgets having no clue why I’m looking at them.  I will put something down in a spot that I won’t forget where it is and immediately forgot where I put it.  I am forever announcing to my servers to remember where I put specific items and to remind me of certain deadlines.

I get working on something and become so single-minded that I forget the 15 other things that need to be done.  I am a great caterer.  I really am.  I love what I do and I’m good at it.  I like to cook, therefore my food tastes good.  I enjoy people, therefore my customer service skills are pretty damn good.  I can cater a party for 200 people and have it go off without a hitch.  However if I were to have 6 people to my house for dinner, inevitably things would get forgotten. 

I can be working on a proposal on my computer, get up for a second to grab something to drink and find myself 3 hours later doing god knows what and remembering that I never finished the proposal that I was working on.  Funny how often this happens.  So yes, I am organized, yes I walk in circles, yes I get distracted (very) easily.  I joke all the time that I have early onset senility.  I certainly hope that’s not true though!

Sure, I make lists, I look at my lists, I cross things off my list, I try my best to stay on task but damn if I don’t have the most ginormous case of Shiny Ball Syndrome, ever!

 

13 Responses to “Walking In Circles”

  1. everevie Says:

    I am SO with you on this!! I do it all the time. I find myself walking with apparent purpose down the hall at work, only to realize I have no idea where I’m going, or why. I have sticky notes everywhere. The current ones on my desk right now:

    Recycle Bins
    Mary- $4
    Sock Monkey wine bottle cover
    Call mom
    Diet Coke & Puppy Pads
    List of stuff to do (yes, I have a post-it that says this)
    Pisces
    Bills
    $6.37 (I have no idea what this is for…)

    RANDOM!!!!!

    Oh…and one time, I came to work with my slippers on. LOL.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      hahaha ~ hmmm, pisces? do you often forget your astrological sign? are you even a pisces, btw?

      i’ve worn mismatched shoes before by mistake, but no slippers …… yet

      • everevie Says:

        No…I’m not a Pisces!! I’m a Cancer. 🙂 I still can’t remember why that’s there…but I don’t want to move it…b/c what if it’s important? Lol.

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          Erm………. maybe you wanted fish for dinner?

          • everevie Says:

            I was prolly interested in dating a Pisces. I wonder if it’s the ex-husband guy…I bet it is. Oooh…now I have to go look that up. And if I’m right…then I need to find Pisces/Cancer compatibility. Sweet! Something else to do besides work. Lol.

      • Hi Grey,

        When I was in Switzerland, I bought these very nice hiking socks. They were helpfully marked “L” and “R” and shaped perfectly for each foot. The most comfortable I ever owned for hiking.

        Roll forward 2 years and it’s winter in Washington DC and I have one of these pairs of socks on because we’re walking off to some distant lunch thing. I tell everyone about these perfectly shaped sock, ideal in winter, blah, blah. And I show them, and everyone breaks up laughing. “L” and “L”. Aaaarrgh.

        Bottom line: Welcome to life after 40!

  2. mysterycoach Says:

    ROFL! ME ME! IT’S ME!!! lol 🙂 So I just pretend I intended to do that and wanted to finish something else (a lie) so I go do whatever and finish that (also a lie) until all the circles turn into everything being completed. LOL

    Course, it’s great at work, I’m never bored… and circles are actually helpful.

    Shiny Ball syndrome? What’s that? I have a shiny syndrome too. Come on lets argue … show me a Swarovski (sp?) crystal in the middle of it, wait 3/5 seconds… fight over.

    Agh, but tomorrow when I remember! LOL 🙂

    • Fun Philly Says:

      OMG… I thought you were talking about me, got pist and then forgot why I was mad, smh. When I worked in Sports and Entertainment, my desk used to have post its on it like Evie was talking about but thanks to Windows 7, I am POST IT free (they actually have a sticky note feature). So now I have vitual post its all over my desktop. lmao

      This happens a lot when I am blogging or writing a new chapter. I have literally lost my car keys in my hand. While shaking said hand with the keys in it, I’m normally yelling “Damn it where are my keys.” It takes them jingling for me to realize I have them in my hand. However, I am like “Rainman” with numbers, I remember everyone in my family’s social security number, last dr’s visit. All the meds and doses of my mother’s RX and every bill due date and amount.

      I used to feel the same way about the ADHD, that I had the only undiagnosed case of ADHD in Philadelphia. Sometimes I don’t speak in complete sentences and wonder why no one understands what I’m talking about. My kids call it Momaniese or Kayinese (Like Chinese with mom or Kay in front) My ex thought it was a real language when my kids first said it around him.

      After a physical, my Doctor assured me it’s just because I am doing so much… My brain shuts down and “reboots”, when it’s in the process of “rebooting” , that’s when I “forget”. Who knew, smh.

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        haha Kay. When I read back on some of my blog posts, entire words are just missing from sentences. I hear them in my mind when typing, but apparently just forget to actually type them in. Oopsie!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Shiny Ball Syndrome = my ability to get distracted very easily and forget what I was doing originally. 😉

      I’m thinking the doing circular laps is good cardio?

  3. Fun Philly Says:

    I have that too! I will be in midsentence and a thought will cross my mind or I will catch something out the corner of my eye and change topics! I even write words backwards sometimes! LMAO.

    See GGD, you brought a whole community of over-worked and busy ppl together and let them know we are ALL insane,thanks 😉


Leave a Reply

