43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Paying It Forward May 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 3:37 pm
Tags: , ,

So as I apparently suck at my self imposed ban of perusing dating websites, I was trolling for cute guys emptying my ‘wink’ file on Match last night and decided to peek thru the ‘who’s viewed you’ listing.  Amongst the usual ickies and oldies and yuckies and morons was an exceptionally handsome guy.  I mean really good looking.  Not in a plastic ‘hottie’ sort of way, but as in a clean cut, good looking guy.  Me likee!  I click onto his profile to see that all his pics are just as cute.  And that he’s 35.  And that his age preference is only up to 34.  Eh, whatever, I read his profile anyway and it was great.  He’s really down to earth, sarcastic (bonus) and just sounds like a good guy.   As I decide that paying a little niceness forward might create some good karma for me, I opt to send him a quick note.  One that just says that although I know I’m well above his age preference, I just wanted to let him know how much I liked his profile.  What he had to say and how he said it.  And the fact that he’s exceptionally handsome certainly didn’t hurt.  Then I wished him well and that was that.

I didn’t expect a response.  But he responded! WHaaaaa?  That caught me off guard.  He thanked me for my sweet e-mail (oh, sorry, hope you didn’t pass out what with being called sweet and all ~ especially after my swear a thon of earlier today) and said that although yes, he does have a stated age preference, that he could always make an exception. 😉 (yup, he did the winky emoticon)  I have something dorky in my profile about my love of the Brady Bunch and how I can name any episode within the 1st 5 seconds just by hearing the opening music.  I know, I know, it’s truly a gift and does wonders on my resume. 😉 (that winky was mine, not his).  Anyway, he said he wanted to challenge me to an episode identification contest as he also knows all of the episodes!  LMAO!  Pretty funny that a) a guy would admit that b) a guy  who obviously just knows of the Brady Bunch through reruns would admit that c) a guy that actually read my profile (even the nerdy bits on the left of the page) would admit that.  Made me laugh.  He also asked how long I had been on match and if I’ve had any luck so far.  Erm, if I had, I wouldn’t still be on it would I?

I always have to be careful how I answer that last question because although it’s hysterical to talk about my horrific dates, it tends to scare guys away.  Big pussies.  I usually just say that although I’ve met some nice guys (and not so nice guys), nothing has stuck.  Truthful enough to not sound fake, yet evasive enough not to sound bitter, snarky or jaded. (who me?)  He says he’s very sarcastic in his profile and appreciates that in others, but I’ve learned (not really) that I need to ease most people into my level of sarcasm as it’s not for the faint of heart.

Anyway, he ended by saying that he hopes he hears back from me and ya’ know what?  I may just respond back! 🙂 To inevitably stick my foot in my mouth, but still ……..

 

17 Responses to “Paying It Forward”

  1. stevesw Says:

    😉 🙂 Sounds goooooood!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      haha, I hope he’s not pals with Lil’ Red and they both have that lovely ‘cougar’ mindset going ……. although maybe …….. ;-0

  2. You are hysterical! Glad you found my blog…which led me to yours. I met my boyfriend of two and a half years on match.com. Thank god after a couple of dates I was able to retire my Match profile. Hopefully, he did too. LMAO. Oh, some of the weirdos on there. One dude asked me to wear a skirt while riding on his motorcycle. Really!? NEXT!

    No doubt I’ll be back for more…of your blogs!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      OMG! I can’t believe you met a great guy after only a couple of dates! Yey you! a year and a half and 60+ dates later, I’m still trying. Boo!

      I had a guy invite me over to his house to go skinny dipping as a 1st date!

      although I’m on a well needed mini break right now, I will inevitably have more dating horror stories soon 😉

  3. Tipsy Lucy Says:

    Sounds like fun. Two witty, sarcastic adults and a challenge to musically guess Brady Bunch episodes – I like it!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Tipsy! Too bad they don’t show reruns anymore. Maybe we can just hit a bar and drunkenly quiz each other on episodes. 😉

  4. You definitely have to write him! And can’t you get The Brady Bunch on dvd? It’ll be the perfect excuse to spend a night at home together when you’re ready for that 😉

  5. vixter2010 Says:

    Ooh sounds promising, go for it and finger’s crossed!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      thanks for the well wishes! i’m sure i’ll say something stupid in my reply (of course, while trying too hard NOT to look stupid), but we’ll see 🙂

  6. Pammy Girl Says:

    SWEET! Sounds promising! I also reached out to a somewhat younger (he was 31) fellow with some dumb message and he responded back. I wrote him back after a night of horror movies and was wide awake at 3 am. I’m sure what I wrote was akin to a drunk email. Never heard back.

    On the plus side, another guy asked me if I was fertile. Apparently he’s “full of man juice.” For the love…

    Keep us posted on your ‘Brady Bunch’ a-thon. I’m high-fiving you from waaay over here!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      hahaha, thanks Pammy! I bet my outcome will be about the same as yours, but for today, I can be happy about the prospect …..

      lovely on the man juice, btw …… he sounds like a definate keeper!

  7. Surrey gal Says:

    Yeah, baby! So far I was actually ignoring all those that were looking for something I’m not (younger, or never married, or without kids). But looks like I was making a mistake, if I like them I should contact them, by the looks of that!!!
    So what will you tell him about how long on match.com?

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Surrey, I would absolutely suggest contacting whoever strikes your fancy. If you don’t meet what they’re looking for, then you may not hear back, but you’ll never know unless you try. 🙂

      I’m going to tell him I’ve been on match since the end of February this year. That’s a true statement, right? It is how long I’ve been on this year. If we ever meet, I will absolutely explain that I have also been on in the past though. 🙂

  8. everevie Says:

    Saaaweeet!!! I love handsome, younger, sarcastic, Brady Bunch watching dudes!!! I wonder if you can make an exception and squeeze this guy into your temporary moratorium on dating?

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      hell no. i barely have time to pee for the next 10 days. absolutely no time to moon over some young guy 😉

  9. […] Contrary to my poo-poo, whiney, insecure and annoying attitude regarding my e-mail to 35 year old handsome guy, I did hear back from him.   Yesterday.  The message was fairly long (which I love) but he asked […]


Leave a Reply

