43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

And Just Like That ……. A Dream Has Died May 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 7:36 am
Tags: , ,

I swear, if anyone finds my ‘game’, please return it to me.  It’s been missing for way too long and it’s getting tiring coming off as a total retard all the time. 😉 Of course, I’m talking about my reply to very handsome 35 year old from 2 days ago.  I waited until the next day to respond and in my quest to sound cavalier and make sure that he realized that I wasn’t racing towards a ring (really? why do I think this way), I responded to his cute message with a semi entertaining, semi ridiculous response.  I wanted to make sure that he didn’t think I was a big fat loser for being on Match (which hello? he’s on Match, so what’s the issue?) For your reading mockery pleasure :

Hi Handsome 35 Year Old,

So glad you replied (and are willing to make exceptions on the age thing). That is absolutely hysterical that you’re a fan of the Brady Bunch too! Even moreso that you admit it. And that you bothered to read the snippets on the side of my profile ;-). I’m suitably impressed. And down for the challenge. Nick at Nite used to show reruns all the time, but I haven’t seen one in ages, so it might be tough to actually see who prevails in the 5 second Name That Brady Bunch Episode challenge.

I’ve been on Match since the end of February but really haven’t had time to do much of anything with it. I’ve met a couple of guys, but nothing that has stuck. I’m certainly not someone who feels like I ‘have’ to be with someone, but rather ‘want’ to be, so if it’s not right, it’s not right. I’m kinda picky that way. 😉 How about you?

Love that you cook. Never had anyone that was confident enough to do that for me (which is totally ridiculous as I’d appreciate a pb & j from someone as long as I didn’t have to make it myself). 🙂

Looking forward to hearing more about you!

All together now!  I’m an idiot.  Not sure why I felt the need to sound like a snotty bitch (totally not my intention) regarding dating.  I never really know how to respond to inquiries about ‘how it’s been going’ on whatever particular site.  I mean, should I just give them a link to my blog so they can read for themselves how it’s been going? 😉  I usually have a better ‘stock answer’ than the stupid one that this cutie got, but oh well, nothing I can do about it now.  This is certainly not one of my best e-mail messages.  I pretty much just sound like a moron.  Great.  I much prefer for them to not discover what a tremendous dork I am until during/after the 1st date.  Not quite sure why I feel the need to over-explain things.  I do it all the time.  And it’s annoying.

Did I happen to mention that I have this awesome feature on Match that allows me to see if and when a certain message that I sent was read?  Yeah, I sent it yesterday.  Yeah, he read it yesterday.  Yeah, no response ………. dammit.

Yes, I know, I may hear back from him today, but c’mon if you got such a douchey message from someone, would you respond?  I didn’t think so ……… *sigh* and I had such high hopes for a meaningless bike ride with this one post Brady-Bunch-Game.   Dammit.  Maybe I will take Sean’s suggestion to have you all help me compose replies to guys that I’m interested in so I don’t stick my foot in my mouth so soon in the game.  Don’t worry, it won’t be much work.  I don’t like all that many. 😉

 

13 Responses to “And Just Like That ……. A Dream Has Died”

  1. No idea what you’re worried about. It looks like a perfectly reasonable response to me. I’m a guy so, in this case, I get 2 votes instead of 1! If he doesn’t like the response, his loss.

    I promise to never ever tell him that a “couple of guys” is a teensy-weensy fib.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      It’s NOT a fib though Sean! I haven’t actually gone out with ANYONE from match yet this year. He didn’t ask about last year. Or my 14 other dating sites. 😉 So i’m good.

      Thanks for telling me I didn’t sound like a complete and utter dummy …. then again, you’re kinda really nice so would you really tell me if it did?

      • Ooh, very clever response! Omission not commission…excellent.

        I might say nothing if it were horrible. But I won’t lie to you — another omission/commission way out 🙂 — so I’m firm on my vote(s) for it being something reasonable.

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          I know all the ins and outs of not ‘techinically’ fibbing 😉

          • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

            are you loving my creative spelling? you’d think i used to eat dirt in the front yard as a child *sigh*

  2. everevie Says:

    Once again I agree with Sean (he’s SO smart!)…I think it’s actually a great email. It’s funny…not too snarky…it shows you have standards and self-respect…but don’t take yourself too seriously.

    It’s good! And he might email you today…or tomorrow!

  3. receiptsinthebag Says:

    I think you are being way to hard on yourself!! There’s nothing wrong with the response. I agree with Sean and Evie. And I think that your answer to his question about match was very suitable. I always hate that question too!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      it’s a weird question and damn if i’m not turning into the world’s biggest insecure weenie lately …. ugh

  4. jgavinallan Says:

    I think he will e mail you. Your words hold much about yourself. You have a wonderful outlook on life. Guys dig it. I think you’ll be busy the next few weeks.
    Jaye

  5. Surrey gal Says:

    I agree with SD, it is a great email. I actually was going to ask you to be my personal assistant and reply to my emails on dating site!

    I wouldn’t worry that he hasn’t replied, I often read emails when I don’t really have time for it, but I’m curious, so I just read them and leave the answering part for later or for next day when I can.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      🙂 Thanks SG! Er, and you probably DON’T want me to reply to your messages if you actually want to get a date out of it 😉


Leave a Reply

