43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

I Feed Dead People May 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 10:20 am

You may find it hard to believe, but my business is based on me. 🙂 I don’t advertise and am not listed anywhere.  That means it’s all up to my cooking and my (sometimes) not so stellar personality in order to get and retain business.  Crazy, huh?  No clue why people like me, but I think it leads back to that whole acting background from high school. 😉 They think I’m nice.  Or actually care about them.  😉 Or they’re just big drinkers.   Anyway, as we all know that in my personal life I allow very few people ‘in’.  In business however, everyone is a ‘friend’.  Regardless of my mood or stress level or anything else I smile and do my job.  That’s what I’m paid for.  To make people happy. 🙂

I’m not sure when it started but I have built several relationships with local businesses and they, in turn, refer business to me.  One such ‘business’ happens to be a funeral home.  I know, on the surface, sort of creepy, but I swear these people are the nicest people ever!  I keep my business small.  I can’t compete with the large caterers in town, nor do I want to.  This particular funeral home offers their clients suggestions on everything from flowers, to limo companies to what do you know?  Caterers!  Although I am one of many that they have listed, they usually try to push for me.  How friggin’ awesome is that?  The fact that I bring them brownies on occasion probably doesn’t hurt. 😉

Anyway, as referrals from them are sporadic (as you could imagine) I never know when I’m going to get a call from someone who’s lost a loved one and it’s inevitably for a last minute type thing.  Duh, you can’t really plan ahead for these things now can you?  Although I generally bend over backwards to be able to accommodate my clients; I will absolutely switch around what I need to, hire in extra servers, whatever in order to be able to cater these memorials.  And I am always sure to be there personally to make sure all goes well.  It’s the least I can do for crying out loud.  I always feel so bad when I get a call.  After my initial bout of silence, I offer my condolences, chat with them for a bit and try to ease their worries.  Funny, I don’t think any of my friends would describe me as nurturing, but I seem to have a knack for gaining (and valuing) people’s trust.  I don’t take that lightly.  Anywhoo, I got a call yesterday from a lady that just lost her son.  😦  I can only assume it wasn’t due to natural causes.  It’s not my job to ask questions beyond menu and service details, so I just listen and do my best to make them feel okay for the moment.

The woman called with the intention of hiring me, sight unseen, no ‘shopping’ around, no 20 questions.  We selected a menu, she gave me her address for set up, she will leave her front door unlocked for me to gain access and be able to set up.  All with never having met me.  Although I am probably one of the most trustworthy people ever, how would strangers know this?  Sure, I’m in business, but I can only assume that there are less than honest business people out there.  Ones that wouldn’t hesitate to flake on a job such as this.  A job, and home, that she is entrusting to a veritable stranger.

Anyway, she was very sweet, thanked me at the end of the conversation and told me that she looks forward to meeting me.  This always astounds me.  I’m just doing my job.  You want to know the best part about being trusted to handle such an important, yet somber occasion?  I almost always get a hug from my client at the end.  That beats a tip any day of the week. 🙂

 

11 Responses to “I Feed Dead People”

  1. mysterycoach Says:

    This is who you are … I like her 🙂 I liked you before but this is great to read… I like the real you. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Maybe uh, extend some of her to your personal life too… I’m not saying you’re not like this, but you were saying in your personal life you don’t let someone “in” … why not be this way too in your personal life? (I’m sorry I’m confused but I understand what you’re saying on the personal level.)

    Be this person outside of work… that’s what I”m saying. I like your funny side too, this person’s cool as well though and you earned these trusts from people because of what YOU bring to the table. They see it and they appreciate it and they trust you for it. Awesome! Absolutely Awesome!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks MC. They’re both the real me, but nope, I’m keeping the status quo. I don’t have different ‘personas’, I just show different sides to different people. No way will I run around letting everyone into my non-work life. Those that spend the time to get to know me see both sides. Those that don’t …… oh well 😉

  2. jgavinallan Says:

    El: I agree with MC…Your personality is terrific—attractive—warm and friendly. Not moody like some people(ME!)

    Take advantage of what you got…

    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      😉 Thanks Jaye. I get moody too. Everyone does. And don’t tell anyone, but I actually have a wicked temper. I just try not to unleash it’s wrath all that often. 😉

  3. Surrey gal Says:

    It must feel so amazing when people appreciate not only what you do but also whom you are and how you treat them and how you relate to them!
    You are a great personality and it shows!!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks SG! I really do love my clients and yes, it’s a very good feeling to be appreciated and trusted. 😉

  4. mysterycoach Says:

    I see what you’re saying about separating work from your personal life definitely… 🙂 As a whole package, you’ll make some guy very happy one day. Someone told me this one day and I almost cried… it was the best compliment I’d ever heard. They get me though … so I thought I’d share it with you. (insert sheepish grin)

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      haha ~ i know i will one of these days. I just have to find out where he’s hiding 😉

      • mysterycoach Says:

        Half past the cows A$$… oh… he’s uh… like, right over there … some where. Him and my guy are having lunch but they’ll be home soon! LOL !

  5. I can easily imagine you being great to have around if someone close to you has died (and other more happy times as well of course 😉 ).

    I remember when my dad died. Of course it was very sad, but he had been sick and we knew it was coming. A guy came from the local funeral shop to help with the arrangements and he kept walking through the door between our living room and the hall. But every time he walked through, he would trip and almost fall over the door frame. In the end my mum and brothers and I were struggling not to laugh, which was actually a nice thing right at that moment.

    You’d be surprised at what brings comfort to people in moments like that.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks BAS. I’m sorry to hear about your dad, but glad that the stupid clutz of a funeral guy could bring a bit of levity to an otherwise somber day.


Leave a Reply

