43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Thanks For Making Me Write The Most Boring Message………. Ever! May 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:21 am
Tags: , ,

I don’t understand it.  I never will.  Guys e-mail from these dating sites, yet they don’t really ask any questions or prompt any sort of response.  Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t that sort of the point?  So I just got a message from yet another ‘I’m smarter than everyone else in the world’ kinda guy (uh, his screen-name actually has erudite in it).  Really?  Sure, my screen-name has the word ‘tall’ in it because I am.  I don’t post my IQ score (as a 12 would be quite embarrassing to announce), or any other sort of ‘I’m better than you’ references.  I just don’t understand.

So anyway, Mr. Brainiac, who’s 54, btw (dammit for that whole elder thing happening again) has a somewhat interesting profile, however his message to me read just like a resume.  Why he was so great.  He’s in shape, he likes to exercise, he plays tennis and likes to walk.  I swear to you, I wanted to write back that I walk as well.  Every day as a matter of fact.  As it helps me to get from one point to another. 😉  But I didn’t.  Be proud of me.  He told me he likes to travel.  He likes to read.  He likes satire.  He would like to hear back from me.  Uh ……….. then ask me something Mr Erudite!  Geez!  I responded back with what was quite possibly the most boring and disinterested message ever.  It went something like this ‘Thanks for the message.  How long ago were you in Brazil?  I was there about 15 years ago and was lucky to make it out alive after experiencing their stellar driving abilities’ ………. Period.  Nothin’ else.  I actually sat there and stared at his message searching for something to respond to.  Nothin’.  Not even sure why I did respond.  Must have caught me in a moment of weakness.

Okay, so just as today seemed to be some sort of promotional, ‘message a tall blonde day’ on the sites, here is THE list  the none too impressive one, might I add:

Markus – nice smile, possibly the whitest teeth EVER – sent me a nice message – i responded – haven’t heard back – yet

Travis – another nice smile – sweet, self deprecating profile – he winked at me, I winked back, he messaged me, I messaged back – now I just wait and see

Big Ole’ Douchebag asynchronist guy (or whatever asinine term he used) – actually asked me to meet him – i told him I’d have to get back to him after I brushed up on my apparently substandard vocabulary 😉

Dave – sent me a message on Chemistry – in a word ‘ick’ – i will not be responding

Vacation Fling – finally managed to respond to an e-mail I sent him 3 days ago – whatever – i’m almost over him.  Almost ……….

Now, as for Mr 50-whatever year old from California from earlier today; I know I need to respond to him as he did send me a cute message on Match.  And I already did ignore his message to me on OkStupid a few weeks ago, but I don’t know what the hell I’d write.  ‘Sorry, but you’re old and out of state.’ ? That just doesn’t seem nice.

ONE, just one somewhat normal guy please.  Is that so much to ask?  Apparently it is ……….

 

12 Responses to “Thanks For Making Me Write The Most Boring Message………. Ever!”

  1. Surrey gal Says:

    Are we going to fight for this ONE normal guy? If there even is one, that is 🙂
    And I was wondering too, why they won’t reply… I’m thinking have I said something to discourage them? But what can be discouraging in telling them things that are not crazy or even too personal?

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Yes, SG. If that ever elusive ‘normal-ish’ guy is ever found, it will be more than you and I fighting over him 😉

  2. mysterycoach Says:

    Yes, you don’t tell him he’s old, but you say something short and sweet like, thank you for your interest unfortunately I’m looking for someone who lives closer to me. Thank you and good luck in your search! 🙂

    Don’t mind your head about why they don’t respond. When I used to write, fortunately for me I have a poor memory, I just forgot all about them unless I did get a response because there were so many, you just didn’t get hooked on the one guy. And, really it’s just a picture anyway, as you know… so… agh… “Next?” I know, I know… but he was soooo something you might like. 🙂

  3. vixter2010 Says:

    Sounds like he’d be bad at actual conversation if he can’t ask any questions! You didn’t ask to see his CV 🙂 Ah the whole thing sounds so frustrating!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I know! Could you imagine sitting across from someone that only talks about themselves the whole time? Yikes!

  4. jgavinallan Says:

    El:

    Normal is a troubling term. Whose normal?
    The most normal, friendly and romantic significant other I loved…was…you guessed it. Belonged to another.
    Look for a little crack in the armor.

    your buddy…Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      You’re right Jaye. What the heck is ‘normal’? I’m certainly not. It would be nice to be able to find just one that strikes my fancy – physically and mentally ………. ahh, pipe dreams 😉

  5. cousinbette Says:

    ‘ I swear to you, I wanted to write back that I walk as well.’ Pmsl!

  6. izziedarling Says:

    GG – you might hate the process but sounds like you are extra-popular out there; don’t limit the quest to one normal guy – normal is BORING – how about a herd of slightly nutty guys who make you laugh?

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      well that sounds just great Izzie! do you happen to know of any? 🙂

      i am popular with the initial contacts, btw, but as far as actually making it to the ‘meeting’ portion of the whole bizarre process, not so much ….


Leave a Reply

