43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Should I Do It? May 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 6:55 pm

Okay, so I’m a planner.  No big surprise there.  I used to be a ‘fly by the seat of my pants’ kinda gal, but not so much anymore.  Damn getting older and having responsibilities.  Anywho, as I get several weeks a year off from the craptastic 2nd job, it comes with one caveat.  We have to pick all our weeks for the year at the beginning of the year!  Nice.  So I have a couple in between, but know for a fact that I have a week off in November.  I also volunteer with the Tempe Ironman competition in November.  And it’s a busy month regardless.

It’s also a well-known fact that I love to go on cruises.  And I don’t mean like, I mean LOVE!  I love the formal dinners.  Truly, I think there is nothing better than getting ‘dressed’ for dinner and being served multiple courses.  I’m a foodie, is it any wonder?  I love not worrying about where I’m going eat.  Where I’m going to sleep (or with whom). 😉 I love to sit up on deck, read a book, listen to my Ipod, word on my tan and drink.  A lot.  No really.  I just love being on the ocean.  Listening to the water hit the ship.  Watching the waves.  There is nothing in life (aside from a spectacular bike ride) that makes me happier.  It’s also one of the few places that I can go and totally disconnect from the real world.  No internet, no phone, no nothing but me in inappropriately small clothing.  I don’t care who I see or what I say.  I don’t worry about anything.  And I always manage to make tons of friends, so as you all know, travelling alone is not a problem for me at all.   Anyway, I usually go on 5 day cruises.  It seems like that is a great happy medium for me.  Not too short, not too long.  I rarely plan trips more than a couple of months in advance as I never know what my catering schedule is going to be or (pipe dream) who I might be dating at the time.  Ha!  So I just found a fantastic deal on a 7 day cruise for the week I’m off in November. 

Should I book it?!?!?!!?!?!

 

10 Responses to “Should I Do It?”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen:

    Absolutley…where to? Please tell?

    love to hear more about it.
    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Hey Jaye! Certainly thinking about it. Can’t give specific details as heaven forbid one of my exes (or idiots that i’ve written about) read this and want to show up and surprise me. 😉 It would be in the Caribbean though ……

  2. I think that hurricane season is over by then (and not a likely concern anyway), but is the weather warm enough in the Carribbean in November? I guess it should be; it’s probably warm there all the time.

    Unless you can think of something better to do (a long bike ride through all the rooms in your house?), given how much you looooove them, go for it!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      well I do have a lot of rooms in my house, but sadly no potential riding partners 😉

      i was in the caribbean the same week of november last year and the weather was actually really good! not too hot, but still sunny and perfect for laying around and doing nothing! i think we had one crappy day, but that’s okay 🙂

  3. GO! GO! GO!

    I admire anyone who can do things like that on their own. I’m so bad at that, which is why I’m spending all my weekends alone in my apartment in stead of seeing the sights in this new city.

  4. vixter2010 Says:

    Go for it! I’d love to go a cruise actualyl and do exactly what you said you do and dressing for dinner gets a big yay from me!And you never know who you might meet 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Vixter. Cruises are awesome as I get to do exactly what I want to (which consists mainly of eating & tanning) ;-). Fingers crossed that I might be able to replace last year’s vacation fling (which was on a cruise as well, just a different line) with a new one.

  5. stevesw Says:

    I hope you realize that Captain Merrill Stubing is long retired from the Love Boat, became a born-again Christian on one of the cruses (not sure if he drinks), and he is far past your acceptable age limit (born 1931). 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I was always sort of a Gopher gal myself. Doc was a perv and Isaac was a player. I prefer my men cute and clueless. 😉


Leave a Reply

