43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Question Of The Day May 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:15 am
Tags: , ,

No, not a question that I have, but rather one that I was asked.  By one of the 3 questionable guys that are e-mailing me from a variety of my 1,327 dating websites.  I realize that some people online are less than honest about things.  They may stretch the truth a bit about height, or age, or socioeconomic status.  They may flat-out lie about what they’re looking for, what they like and what they expect.  I’m not a fan of false advertising, so I don’t do any of this.  Love me or hate me, I am who I am and I will never claim to be otherwise.  I say this knowing full well that I may be the minority in this thought process.  Eh, no matter to me, it’s just the way I am.

So one of the guys today sends me a message full of random nothingness and then slips in there, right after talking about his plans for this weekend the question ‘is your profile photo recent’?  Okay, let’s think about this.  If I was someone to post glamour shots from 15 years ago (and you know who you are) ;-), would I really admit to doing so?  Wouldn’t that defeat the purpose?  I thought about sending back some smart assed response (i know, surprising, right?) but opted to just answer the question.  Yes, it is recent.  It is from last month, as a matter of fact when my awesome blog-writing-doppleganger was in town.  And we got shitty drunk.  And had a blast. And I made out with some random drunk hottie guy from New York 🙂  Okay, I didn’t write all of that, but I did assure him it was recent.  I really wanted to then ask him if his picture was recent, but then thought back to my original string of logic.  Uh, if it isn’t there’s no way in hell he’s going to tell me until he gets me to agree to meet him and I can tell, in person that he is 5 inches shorter than he claimed, 7 years older and has really bad teeth.  Not that any of these things have ever happened to me before.  Much. 😉

 

8 Responses to “Question Of The Day”

  1. I’ve never tried internet dating, but I can imagine that people aren’t completely honest in their profiles or pictures. But I think you’re doing the right thing. At least you won’t have to worry about any “misunderstandings” if you ever meet the person.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      lots of people put up outdated photos which is ridiculous as the whole point is to actually meet someone in person and unless they’re blind, they’re going to realize you don’t look like your pictures 😉

  2. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen:
    First…in reality—you know a lot of men. I would love to get at lest e mails from men asking me things.
    Second: If someone is worried about a profile picture…he is not good enough for you…so there!
    byebye
    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      That may be so, but I would gladly forgo the quantity for just one of quality. 😉

      U don’t internet date, do you Jaye?

      • jgavinallan Says:

        Ellen: It wasn’t too long ago…I didn’t know what a computer was…or cell phone. They still don’t have internet in areas where I lived.

        backward Jaye

  3. Matthew Says:

    The now GF and I actually had this conversation on our second date because she was incredibly happy that I not only looked like the pictures on my profile but I am (as she put it) much better looking in person than in my pictures.

    I can say the same about her.

    But apparently a majority of the dates she went on (with online suitors) did not look like their photos at all.

    I like(d) to caption my pics with when they were taken so people would know. That or sometimes the in-camera time stamp really helps too. 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Don’t I know it that a lot of guys don’t ‘still’ look like their pics. 😉 Your GF is absolutely right about that.

      I guess I just like to believe that people are honestly portraying themselves. I have never asked if a photo is current.

      Good idea about the captions, but Match doesn’t allow you to do that.


Leave a Reply

