43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

My Date With The Pompous Ass May 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 5:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

You remember, this guy from last week.  The one that bugged the shit out of me with his big words used in the wrong context.  The one that I never should have written back to, but was bored and was dying to know if he was as big a tool as I initially thought.  We exchanged e-mails for the past few days.  His waffled back and forth between amusing, arrogant, retarded and annoying.  This is the guy that doesn’t drink and felt the need to remind me multiple times of that sad fact.  The guy that used ridiculous words out of context.  The guy that claimed he did this out of insecurity and nervousness.  Anyway, he didn’t have his kids today so asked me to meet up.  Eh, what the hell, I had some time to kill so I went.  I almost didn’t.  I certainly wasn’t in the right frame of mind to be anywhere near civil to someone who’s sole purpose seemed to be to talk down to others.  So we met up at a gourmet grocery/cafe near my house.  He did earn a couple of bonus points for picking somewhere near my house.  I wore a navy mini, silver flats (i couldn’t remember how tall he was) and a bright pink off the shoulder top.  That showed 1.5 of my tattoos in all their glory.  I NEVER wear anything that I shows my tattoos when I 1st meet someone.  That’s how much I didn’t give a shit about what this guy thought.  I figured maybe my ‘ink’ would scare him away.  Can you even call lame little tattoos ‘ink’ though?  Sort of like calling a moped a hog.  But I digress.

So I got there early and was screwing around on my phone when I see him approaching and what do you know?  He was cuter than his pics.  Okay, that’s good at least.  We wander around the market for a while before parking it outside at a table.  The weather was gorgeous today!  Anyway we start talking.  And talking.  And talking.  And he’s funny, and charming and absolutely a bazillion times better in person than ‘on paper’.  We ended up staying for 3.5 hours.  Just talking.  He’s a nice guy.  I do think he uses his ridiculous vocabulary as a defense mechanism, so I can’t hold that against him as I use sarcasm much the same way.  Yes, I know, you didn’t realize I was sarcastic, right? 😉

Anyway, he was a little nervous at the end and wasn’t sure ‘how this all works’ as I’m only the 4th person he’s met online and apparently the 1st one that he cared to see again.  As we had talked about my business earlier and how no one ever cooks for me, he asked me if he could make me dinner on Wednesday.  Now, I’m no dummy.  I know what that usually means.  I am 500% positive that’s not what he meant.  I think he just wants to be nice and show me that he can cook and take pity on the poor gal that has to cook for herself all the time.  Too bad I would never go to someone’s house that I just met off the internet.  Until now.  I’m going.  We just got along.  I did clarify that by his inviting me over for dinner did not mean that I would be dessert and he looked absolutely thrown off that I would even think that.  I think I can trust him to be a nice guy.  I think I actually made him a little nervous.

Anyway, it ended with a nice hug and him totally obsessing over what to make for me.  Cute, right?  This one has totally caught me off guard.  I honestly did not think there would be one single thing that I liked about him and really, I couldn’t find much wrong in person (and you know I tried).  We had a lot in common.  I hate to say it, but I am cautiously optimistic about him. (until we meet on Wednesday and I decide that he totally sucks)

Aside from one glaring red flag that I didn’t get clarification on (as I really didn’t want to know).  I don’t think he’s technically divorced yet. 😦  And he’s only been split from his wife for 7 months.  And she’s the one that asked for the divorce.  And I’m not positive that he’s over her ………  believe you me, I will get clarification on Wednesday.  I will not over think this one and I will just smile at the thought that someone is nice enough to want to cook dinner for me!

 

24 Responses to “My Date With The Pompous Ass”

  1. stevesw Says:

    GREAT!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      shocking, right? the fact that I actually might like someone ……. when sober!! crazy!

  2. stevesw Says:

    This was a good post to read…keep the positive attitude.

  3. What a difficult situation. I want this guy to fail because I told you to ‘run for the hills’ but j also want him to work out so you find someone you like.

    The solution is simple: As a caterer, I’d like to engage you to make me a medium-sized Humble Pie. Oh yum…

    Regarding the divorce, I couldn’t have told you anything about this 2 months ago, but I can now. In Virginia, which I assume is broadly similar to other states, you get “separated” (in Virginia you don’t need a document with a start date, but you do in some states), and after 12 months pass and a Separation Agreement has been signed (which covers assets split and custody arrangements), you can apply for a formal divorce. For tax reasons, if nothing else, a lot of people delay the divorce until it’s necessary. A number of people told me in comments on my blog of being separated for up to 6 years before finalizing the divorce paperwork. In short, don’t let ‘only’ being separated stop you from liking this guy. Even if I gave to eat my Humble Pie.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Sean. No humble pie necessary. I know you’re just looking out for me and my best interests (and I soooo appreciate it). There was absolutely nothing to point to the fact that he was a good guy from his messages. I almost bailed on meeting him.

      I’m more concerned about his lingering feelings (if any) moreso than any legalities involved in the divorce …..

  4. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen: Don’t get all excited. I mean control yourself.
    But..will the brides maid wear strapless? Will we have a say in the color. Dark colors make me look taller…just a hint.

    good luck

    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      lmao Jaye. I’m just happy that I found someone to make it to a 2nd date! 🙂 However there is much that can go awry between now and Wednesday 🙂

      And yes, I will pick a dark colored strapless dress …… actually you all can pick your own colors, I’ll just pick the style 😉

      • jgavinallan Says:

        Thank you…we’ll talk…the seasons are important for the color.

        ok…I’ll check my magazines

        Jaye

  5. everevie Says:

    I will absolutely refrain from saying anything encouraging, as I have a way of jinxing you. 😉

    Hopefully you understand that by me not saying anything nice…I’m actually saying something nice.

  6. Fun Philly Says:

    On the divorced front, most guys won’t seek a divorce unless 1 of 2 things have happened. Either she was unfaithful or he has decided to get serious with someone else. After a separation most women are the ones who apply for divorce. I wouldn’t worry.

  7. Oh GGD… run. run for the hills. Men that are in the process of divorce because the women in their lives asked for it (most likely she was cheating.. ) They are emotional basket weavers. Dear Paula Letter writer is a not quite divorced (not divorced at all – still leaving with the ex for financial reasons.. but she has a boyfriend).. and Chicken Legs.. need I say more? Most of the men that I’ve gone out with are in that “in-between phase”… Honestly, with that much baggage I could travel the world for years.

    I think you should NOT get your hopes up on this one…. My WOW (Words of Wisdom) Just don’t expect anything more from him… add him to your roster as a potential playmate, not a life partner.

    I know, a true cynic.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Paula. You’re probably right (hey, maybe i’ll get to be invited to Hawaii too?). As big of a cynic as u may be, I am a bigger one. I wasn’t even thinking of him as a potential life partner, but rather just someone that didnt bug the shit out of me that I could do stuff with. 🙂

  8. I’m choosing to be an optimist and say YAY!!!

    I knew he wasn’t going to be that bad once you met him. I like the fact that he looked surprised about your dessert comment. Sounds like he’s decent enough, so I wouldn’t let the separation thing scare you away too soon. But definitely something to keep in the back of your mind.

    My bigger concern is that you show up and find that he’s bought lots of food, but not cooked anything yet and expects you to do the rest 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      LMAO BAS! That could soooo happen with the food. Too funny.

      Thanks for being optimistic for me when I find it hard to be. I appreciate it.

  9. Matthew Says:

    Score 1 for the (at the moment) seemingly nice guy.

    Hoping he is one of those rare finds for you.

  10. Don’t DON’T Don’t overthink. Go with it. That is all.

  11. Look – you’re asking the wrong person. I only know how to give advice, not take the same that I’d give 😉

  12. […] by scantily clad hotties and a big fat cocktail?  Nope, not him.  Or any of these guys.  Or even him.  It’s […]


Leave a Reply

