43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Performance Anxiety May 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 3:10 pm
Tags: , ,

Nope, not me.  Don’t suffer from that affliction (very much).  I’m talking about all the douchebags online that will totally open with a ‘duh, we should meet’.  No niceties, nothing about profiles or interests or anything.  Just a ‘let’s meet’.  Every now and again I call someone out on their bullshit.  And not in the traditional way.  It’s like a game of poker.  I’ll see your ‘let’s meet’ and even add a day and a time.  And then the big ole’ pussies wimp out.

It’s soo funny.  I sent a message to a guy last week who sort of looks like Mr Clean.  Bald, big muscles, nice eyes (so not my usual type) but his profile was funny.  He mentioned that he liked 70s music.  I said that I was afraid my love of the 80s might clash with his love of the 70s, but that it couldn’t hurt to find out.  Meaning, let’s see if we have anything in common.  He sends back ‘I’m game if you are.  Let’s meet.’  Uh, what?!? Okay, whatever, I’ll meet this guy, I don’t care, we all know i’m fairly fearless about meeting new people and the worse that could happen is that we don’t get along and I get a drink out of it.   Or I could end up locked in the trunk of his car cut into tiny pieces, but whatever.  So he sends his suave message and I send back ‘Gee, you really need to get over your shyness.  I’m free on Thursday, let’s meet for a drink after work’ to which he sends back ‘uh, Thursday may work’. 

Whatever dude.  I just gave you a total ‘in’ and you pussed out.  It’s Tuesday for heaven’s sake, when do you think you’re going to tell me if Thursday will work or not.   Gee, too bad too as I think we had a bright future together . 😉 Oh, and just guess what craptastic website this winner was from?  Yup, POF ~ land of the never actually meeting anyone in person site.

Honestly though, if these idiots are going to throw meeting up out there right off the bat, they should probably be prepared to man up and actually do it. Geesh……

 

12 Responses to “Performance Anxiety”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen:
    I am serious…your writing shows so many qualities that any man(that is normal) would be attracted to.

    I hope you are strong…there are too many disappointments for you, lately.
    hugs—be strong

    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks Jaye. No worries; this is just what internet dating is about. You gotta take the good with the bad. And I didn’t care about meeting this guy anyway.

  2. Surrey gal Says:

    “they should probably be prepared to man up and actually do it.” you are NOT talking about men, are you???? They never “man up, do they.

  3. Matthew Says:

    Does POF really have that bad of a reputation?

    I ask because I have very limited experience with it (POF). The kicker…I signed up and was active for about a month (maybe 2) after years and years of being on OKCupid.

    In that rough 60 day period I met my now girlfriend.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      you met your girlfriend on POF?!?! that actually doesn’t surprise me though Matt as you seem like a great guy and 99% of the guys on POF are horrible and yes, it has a terrible reputation…… not sure why, but it seems all the married guys, players, guys who just like to waste your time e-mailing, etc… seem to flock there ;-P

  4. everevie Says:

    All those guys…and one Matthew.

    Mr.Clean sounds like a tool. However, if you can get away with not being chopped into tiny bits…and still get a free drink out of it…then go if he ever grows a pair and sets a date!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I know, right? Matthew’s GF lucked out!

      Mr Clean not only sounds but looks like a tool as well. I may just ignore him if I ever hear back.

      • Matthew Says:

        Umm…not that she doesn’t already tell me how lucky she feels (a constant “arguement” we have on who is actually luckier)…but after that little confidence builder I think I’m going to have to forward this to her. 😉

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          Feel free Matthew! You’re both lucky 😉 to not only have found each otherl but to not be internet dating anymore!

  5. POF sucks. I cannot agree with you more. Thats where Mr. TX came from. It really should be called POL – Plenty of Losers… because thats what you get – L-O-S-E-R-S… the want something for nothing kind.
    O.k.. yes.. I’ve had a few GGD tonight… yeah me!!!


Leave a Reply

