43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

What To Bring? May 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:42 am
Tags: , , ,

No, not a toothbrush and a negligee you dirty minded pervs.  As tramptastic as I claim to be, I am anything but.  Although I’ll kiss just about anyone (as you’re all well aware), there are very very few that I would actually take for a bicycle ride, and certainly not when I just met them.  My one night stand days were long long ago.  And don’t get me wrong, they were damn fun in college, but at some point, you’ve gotta grow up and get your priorities in gear.  Or at least I did.

So you know that Big Word Guy (I have to come up with a better name for him) invited me over for dinner tomorrow night.  Which I am still thrilled about.  I just think that’s the nicest thing ever!  I don’t have guys cook for me.  For one thing, I guess it’s just easier to go out and for another, no one wants to cook for someone who cooks for a living.  Crazy, right?  I am so NOT critical of other’s cooking.  I just appreciate the time and effort that they put into it.  I can’t remember the last time that a guy cooked for me.  Including my last BF.  We dated for 2 years, he didn’t so much as make me a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  So yes, although I know ‘come over for dinner’ is akin to ‘do you want to see my etchings?’, I do think he’s sincere in his invitation.

Anyway,   I was brought up to never show up at anyone’s home empty handed.  Now when I go to a friend’s house I bring flowers or wine or dessert, but I’m thinking flowers are just plain weird to bring to a guy and since he doesn’t drink, I’d pretty much be bringing the wine for myself.  Tacky.  I’m not sure what to bring.  He is a chocoholic, so I guess I could bake him something.  Although my baking skills are far inferior to my cooking skills, I do make great triple chocolate chip brownies.  That just seems sort of lame though.  I guess I could bring a silly gift of sorts.  No, not a boudoir photo ~ more along the lines of a magic 8 ball.

Oh well, I have an entire day to decide.  Hell, who knows if it will even happen.  He needs to let me know what time and give me an address and directions as well.  And with a full 48 hours to reconsider after extending the invitation to me yesterday, who knows what could have run through his head by now. 😉

Oh, and yeah, I sent him a text yesterday saying that I enjoyed meeting him and was looking forward to Wednesday.  I just think that’s a polite thing to do.  Just a (one) simple text.  I’m thinking I need to stop doing that.  He didn’t respond and I am doing my best to not read anything into that.  Ha. 😉

 

6 Responses to “What To Bring?”

  1. Matthew Says:

    I don’t think there is anything to read into regarding him getting back to you. He may not have responded to avoid sending too many messages and he could very well be waiting to send his thoughts for tomorrow evening in the same text with the address and instructions.

    As for something to bring, I’d say go with a dessert type item but keep it simple (whether your baking skills pale next to culinary forte’). Heck, add some humor to it and just bring a tube of pillbury cookie dough.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Haha Matt, we did talk about how I can’t bake a chocolate chip cookie to save my life, so showing up with cookie dough would be hysterical!

      I know better than to read thing into something that isn’t there. Its just sorta my ‘thing’ 😉

  2. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen: Fingers crossed.
    I’m sorry big sister…I didn’t mean to hide that special someone from you…its just nice being in heaven…and dreaming…at least for a little while…I think I have a date to your wedding.

    love and hugs

    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I’m so glad everyone around me has such good luck with men 😉 good for you Jaye!


Leave a Reply

