43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

The Fastest Way To Annoy Me June 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 2:59 pm
Tags: , ,

Really, I have a somewhat lengthy list of things that I find annoying (i know, surprising, right?).  People who walk too slow.  People who drive really slowly in the left lane.  People who chew with their mouths open.  The word ‘moist’ (ewww, I can’t even type it without cringing).  Stupid people.  Ignorant people.  Mean people.  Really though, there is one thing that trumps most other things in annoying the absolute piss out of me. 

It has to deal with my nemesis.  The text message.  Why the fuck would you send me a text and not be able to wait 2 minutes for a response and then respond back?  Why?  What is the point?  I realize people are busy and get distracted (oh, lookee there, a shiny ball), but if you’re so busy, then don’t even bother sending a text in the 1st place.  Honestly, I really don’t think there is anything quite as rude.  Sure, someone has to be the ‘last’ one to send a text, but if you send an initial text, you should probably expect that the responding text would have another question or conversational piece included.  Do people read it and then decide ‘eh, i’m too busy to reply’?  Do they not bother reading it at all?  Are they dumb enough to not realize that the last sentence with a question mark at the end is actually a question that requires a response?

Yup, you guessed it.  Webster has annoyed the shit out of me today by doing this.  He did it yesterday as well.  Here’s today’s :

Me: I know you’re busy, but wanted to tell you to have fun with your girls tonight.

Him: Thanks, I should be picking them up later this afternoon.  How is your day going?

Me: It’s been good so far, thanks.  Blah, blah, blah ……… How about yours?

………………crickets………………chirping…………….. dumbass…………..

sure, he probably got busy, had to take a business call and will respond when he gets a second.  Too bad it was sent 5 hours ago.  It’s as if he asked about my day solely as ‘filler’ and doesn’t actually give a shit.  Which would have been fine.  It would be nice if someone gave a crap about my day, but I get it if you don’t.  My days are fairly boring to most.  Just don’t ask and then ignore me.  That sorta makes me feel like an idiot for even responding as if you did care to hear.   Have I mentioned how annoying I find that?  Oh, and last night’s?  When he texted me to see what I was doing on Friday I responded that I would ‘save it for him’ if he wanted……………. no response to that either.  I don’t know, am I expecting too much?  I think it’s common courtesy to respond to a question whether it’s asked in person, via e-mail or over text message.  I hate feeling like I’m being ignored.

Let this be a lesson to you all.  If you should ever be lucky enough to receive a text from me, you better damn well answer me! 😉

 

15 Responses to “The Fastest Way To Annoy Me”

  1. I think your complaint is justified (in fact, I agree with most of your list of other annoyances and want to add “Washington D.C. drivers” if you have space).

    I think you’re absolutely right. It annoys me when you’re left hanging. Because you are then left with two unhappy alternatives: (1) follow up and feel like (or BE) the person that pesters which makes you feel unhappy, or (2) sit back and stew and feel unhappy. See the unhappy theme here?

    My humble suggestion: tell Webster that you think texting him is just the best thing ever…but…a short conversation by text requires a conclusion, just like a phone call. Be gentle. He’s a guy. You might have to use small words. And draw pictures. But you’ll get there. In fact, he might even say, “What?!!!” and get a dreamy look in his eyes. That means he’s replaying all the other relationships he’s fucked up just by this alone. 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Hahahaha, thanks SD. I’ll try to doodle something for him for Friday. 🙂 I’m just in a pissy mood today I think, so everything annoys me …….

  2. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen:
    I think I am scared of you…lol…no really…you don’t mess around.

    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      didn’t mean to scare you Jaye, I’m just not a big fan of people who can’t abide by common courtesy ….

  3. mysterycoach Says:

    I’d give you a bunch of maybe’s but it’s common courtesy to respond. At minimum with I’ll have to let you know. I’d be cranky too … I hear ya.

  4. I don’t think you’re expecting too much. I hate people who don’t answer messages. And honestly – how often does someone NOT have the 1 minute it takes no matter how busy their schedule is?!

    However, I think the flowers in the morning make up quite a lot for the not answering. So I would try to let it go this time (normally he’s pretty good about answering, right?). But of course, as the relationship develops and if he continues the not answering then you might want to say something in a sweet and gentle way. Or just try to paint the picture by not answering his messages for a while and see how he reacts 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Haha BAS, you’re so funny. Okay fine, the flowers make up for 1 text disappearing act ……… he’s still one in the hole though 😉

  5. Matthew Says:

    I have many of the same ‘urks’, particularly with the slow walking and slow driving *it’s called a speed limit for a reason ;)*

    Texting has become a shrouded angel/evil. We all have an unhealthy relationship with texting because it’s an easy form of communication and the default when you want to make something easy…though it then can cause things to become complicated.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      I have never been a fan of text messaging and only gave into it as it seems that all internet daters communicate solely via text …. I would much rather someone just pick up a phone 😦

  6. everevie Says:

    Oh I am SO with you on this. It’s frustrating as HELL! But…I can honestly say that almost every man I’ve encountered…no matter how much he likes me (or doesn’t)…all seem to be like this. (Except a certain male commenter I’ve texted with…he’s a very polite and mannerly.)

    Dumb guys.

    P.S. If I ever do this to you…it’s usually for a valid reason…however, feel free to tell me I’m being a rude-ass beeeeeotch.


Leave a Reply

