43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

I Am Truly A Weenie June 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 1:37 pm
Tags: , ,

So I posted that whiney snippet about Webster and his stupid texting.  Or lack thereof.  I think I’m retarded.  Truly.  I am college educated and I’m pissed at some guy for sending text messages in a way that I don’t approve of all the while not actually letting him know that it’s pissing me off upsetting me and giving him a chance to ‘fix’ it.  He’s a guy for god’s sake!  They’re not all that bright when it comes to stuff like this (present company of any of my lovely male supporters excluded from this sweeping generalization of course).  I can’t be mad at someone for doing something that they most likely have no idea doesn’t work for me.

I need to suck it up and call him.  Not call him out, perse as the talk about the text messages needs to be done in person, but call him.  And see if we’re actually doing something tomorrow or not.  If I go to voicemail I need to leave a nice message for him regarding tomorrow only.  No snarky comments about his shitty texting style.  No passive aggressive asides about how he never bothered to get back to me after asking what I was doing on Friday.  No stupid comments about him apparently being too busy to actually pick up the phone and make a 2 minute phone call (which would be MUCH preferred over the brick wall texts).

Not sure why I’m being such a turd about it.  It’s a little soon for me to be doing my self destructive relationship shit since we don’t actually have any sort of a relationship at this point.  Sure, the physical attraction is there (as proven by our uber non productive yet very very fun last 2 meetings), but I don’t know about all the other stuff.  The important stuff.  Sure, I’d like to find out, but I am certainly not going to be the one to admit that I like him when I’m unsure of where I stand right now.  Geesh, I’m no dummy.

Yup, a call is in order.  Too bad I’m such a weenie and don’t want to make the call for fear that I will say something ‘wrong’ or snipey.  Apparently I have very little impulse control these days and we all know that my ‘filter’ has been on the fritz for years, so I took the loser way out and sent him an e-mail.   A very non-committal, very non effusive, very non much of anything e-mail:

Hi Webster,
 
I hope your day is going well.  I was going to call you later, but I have no clue when a good time is so that I’m not interrupting something.  I know you’ve got your 8pm meeting tonight but wasn’t sure if you still had the girls today or not.
 
Anyway, I was just wondering if you still wanted to do something tomorrow evening?  You had asked what I was doing earlier in the week, but then I didn’t hear anything else about it, so aren’t sure what your thoughts are.
 
~ E
Yup, I think that makes me sound like enough of a fucking passive aggressive loser for one day.  We’ll see what, if anything, he responds.  Feel free to stop reading my posts at any time as apparently I’m turning into ‘that’ girl. 😉
 

16 Responses to “I Am Truly A Weenie”

  1. Ha ha ha! You’re not a weenie! You’re a woman. A woman who likes a man and therefore may not be thinking completely rational at all times, but who does?

    I think your email was just right. Personally I hate sending email, because you have no clue when the person will see it. I know most people have smartphones today, but emailing is the last thing I use mine for. But I’m sure that you will see him again and even have a feeling he’ll take it in when you tell him about the texting 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      you’re right about the ‘did he even see it’ factor of e-mails, but I’m willing to take that chance over possibly sounding like a bitch on the phone 😉

  2. jgavinallan Says:

    No way, Ellen…you did right thing
    be strong—you did ok

    hugs
    Jaye

  3. I think it was perfect too. Do you have his e-mail or was this OKStupid? I ask because even though (as you know) you get the OKStupid e-mails to your personal e-mail, he may not be paying as much attention to them. You know. Because he’s in love. With you. (ducking and running now) 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Hahahhaha, he was in love last week, i’m not sure about this week. 😉

      Yes, I have not one but TWO of his personal e-mail addresses (i’m special like that). Too bad something weird is going on between our e-mails though as one I sent to him on Monday he didn’t get until Wednesday. yey! Something else to obsess about! Yippppeeeeee!

  4. cousinbette Says:

    Calm down! I swear I’m gonna have to get into a plane and give you a slap! An alternative way of looking at the being texted at the end of the day is not that it is a duty text, but that he chooses to make you the last thought in his head when he goes to sleep. Aaaaah! Nite Jim Bob, Nite Mary Ellen, Nite John Boy! xx

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Holy crap! Did you just call me a Polyanna?!?!? That IS bad!

      I’ll stop right away (especially since he just manned up and called me) 🙂 i’m so lame ……

      • mysterycoach Says:

        He called you!!! and wa’ happened!!!!! ????? You’re allowed to be lame, just don’t let him see that right now LOL 🙂 Well… hell, men go through it too, they’re just as nervous as we are. I mean come on folks, I have guy friends you have guy friends, guys talk on here blogging and I read all these things all over … men and women have the same damned insecurities.

        How we handle them and address them… whole nother ball park 🙂 GOOD JOB !!!!! Sigh… I’m so proud. LOL 🙂 🙂

  5. I thought your email was perfect.

    Patience, Grasshopper … You’ll get him trained over the next 5 years or so. 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thanks SD! I will absolutely talk to him about it tomorrow so you won’t have to read my whiney posts anymore 😉

  6. commutersex Says:

    this is what makes internet dating so much like high school…the whole does he like me-does he notice me-what is he thinking thing…

    i have to say that i am the calculated wearing my heart on my sleeve type…exactly how i would describe you.

    don’t be afraid to text…..email….or even…..eek call him….but when you don’t get the responses that keep you satisfied and happy….move on!

    i wanted to respond to your (lack of) texts posts. just so you know my BF of exactly 2months, 2 weeks and 1 day…the one i had sex with on my lunch hour (and 3/4ths) today….yeh, him….still waiting for a text back– one for me telling him how hot he was and the second about our plans for sunday!!!

    i tend to think texting is a very narcisstic form of communication…it’s all about the texter….the textee can have any number of excuses for not responding….and i have used half of them myself!

    hang in there!!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Thank you for your very sweet and logical comment! I sooo appreciate it! I agree with everything that you said about texting and internet dating. It seems to be able to turn a fairly well adjusted and educated woman (me) into a big whiney/needy/insecure dope.

      Maybe it’s just a guy thing with the ‘read a text and then you’re done’ with no reply …….. odd

  7. Surrey gal Says:

    I’m “catching up” backwards so I know the results. But I can still say that the email was very nice and appropriate!


Leave a Reply

