43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Mr. To Make A Long Story Short June 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 7:02 am
Tags: , ,

So I was early to meet Mark for happy hour last night.  I never know what traffic is going to be like, so I always err on the side of being too early.  Or I just really wanted to get there 1st and have a drink.  Who knows.  I text messaged  him (see, I can play the text game too) that I was uber early and asked if he would mind if I went in and grabbed a drink table instead of waiting outside for him.  Honestly, regardless of the answer, that’s what I was going to do anyway, I just thought it was polite to at least give the impression that his response mattered. 😉  He texted right back that he was just leaving work and that I should absolutely go on in (by which time I already was).  So I ordered a cocktail (and damn was it good) and about 10 minutes later Mark called to tell me he was just pulling into the parking lot (nice, right?).  He walks in and he was almost as tall as his profile said he was with a very nice smile.  Complete with fairly bad teeth (a pet peeve of mine) and a weak chin (another one of my ridiculous dislikes).  I don’t know exactly what it is about chins that don’t protrude from ones face like they should, but it bugs me.  What can I say?  We all know I’m superficial that way.

Anyway I give him a little hug (I should probably stop doing that as a greeting as it tends to throw some guys off) and he sits down.  We talk easily enough.  Well actually, I listen easily enough as he can talk.  A lot.  That’s fine, he was interesting and I would rather listen to someone else than blather on about myself, so no worries.  The waitress comes over and I had told Mark that this bar makes great martinis.  So he orders one.  Which one?  Uh, that would be an Appletini.  Er …… Okay, fine, I bite my tongue on that one.  Sorta odd that I’m drinking GGD on the rocks and he orders a foofie drink, but to each his own.  Of course when it gets delivered to the table and I see the pretty green color (that matched my top) with a maraschino cherry floating in it, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to ask if he’d like a paper umbrella with that.  He was a good sport and actually gets sarcasm.  Even stranger, he appreciates it!

We ordered a couple appetizers (uh, Kobe beef sliders – YUM!) and continued talking.  He’s busy with work, with travel for work, with travel for his daughter who he has every other week, but she lives in CA which means he’s in CA every other month, whatever.  The man travels a lot.  Almost as much as he talks. 😉  As the sun was setting and I could almost tell you every intricate detail of his adult life, his childhood, his family, his work, his values, his hobbies, his lack of vacations, his outlook on others, his nervousness about internet dating and just about every other little detail about anything having to do with all things Mark, I tell him that although I was having a great time, that I had to work at 5am, so needed to go.  He actually looked surprised.  Uh, we’d been there for 2+ hours already!  He sort of abruptly stopped talking, apologized and when I told him he had nothing to apologize for, he continued to talk.  It took another 20 minutes to actually remove our asses from our seats and leave.  Honestly, by that time although I thought he was very nice, my eyes were starting to glaze over.

He walked me to my car, I gave him a hug (awkward again as maybe he thought I was going to pick his pocket?) and said good night.  No clue if I’ll hear from him again.  No clue if I care.  I would probably go out with him again if he asked, but it’s nothing that I will worry about.

Oh, and as for his nickname?  During every drawn out, detail filled missive, he would say (no sooner than 10 minutes in to each new snippet) ‘well, to make a long story short’ and each and every time he said that I would think to myself ‘too late’.  😉 Appletini indeed …………..

 

 

12 Responses to “Mr. To Make A Long Story Short”

  1. everevie Says:

    So…Short Story was kinda meh. At least the date wasn’t horrific…(and yum to the sliders!)…and hopefully kept your mind off Webster for a while.

    P.S. I went out with an Appletini drinking guy once. I started to pass judgement until he admitted to knowing how girly it was, and yet was man enough to order it anyway. That totally impressed me. 🙂

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      he did keep my mind off of Webster until towards the end when he was boring me 😉 and yes, he knew Appletinis weren’t the biggest ‘manly’ drink in the world, but he likes them, so whatever ……. i guess he could be thinking I’m a big hairy chested ball buster (shut up) for drinking GGDs on the rocks …..

      But yes, all in all, just ……. meh

  2. At least it wasn’t a Bubble-tini?

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      you are right about that 😉

    • ifUseekAmy Says:

      Oh, good god, what the hell is a “bubble-tini”???? I’m not even sure I want to know.

      At least you got yummy apps and drinks out of it.

      I agree… bad teeth and no chin are unappealing on their own, but then that combo together…eessshhh. And I, too, am shallow and superficial 😉

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        oh Amy, you poor, sheltered soul. Come hang with Click and I and we will happily introduce you to a whole new world of martini flavors. 😉 Three Olives makes a ton of yummy flavored vodkas and Click has discovered the ‘bubble gum’ one …….

  3. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen: I am totally lost. Talk about culture clash.
    Should I admit…for some reason…they order Scotch…neat—

    hugs
    Jaye

  4. […] seem to get Webster to respond back to a text that he originates, I apparently can’t get Mr. Long Story Short to STOP texting me.  He just keeps going on and on.  Sorta like his stories on Wednesday.  How […]

  5. Surrey gal Says:

    Oh no, bad teeth is a huge no no for me too! I used to have a boyfriend who was fantastic in bed, very romantic, and loved me to bits, but I just couln’t get over his teeth and when the novelty wore off he had to go…

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Luckily they weren’t horrible teeth (like that weirdo who smelled my hair), but still ……. no good 😦

  6. […] internet dating, single That’s the only reason in the universe that I can think of for Mr Long Story Short to take two week breaks between contact.  Mind you, it doesn’t upset me to go for so long […]


Leave a Reply

