43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

How Very Ironic June 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 3:20 pm
Tags: , ,

Irony is not lost on me.  It’s funny how it works and comes about, but all in all, I think irony is the universe’s way of giving people a swift kick in the ass and showing how the other half lives.  Anyone else think it’s somewhat hugely funny that I am seeing a guy that doesn’t drink?  Not one drop.  We are all very well aware that I love my cocktails.  I really do.  I’m not a fall down drunk, I’m more of a floorshow happy drunk.  I don’t drink to excess (unless Click is in town for a visit), but some of my most favorite hazy memories are of days/evenings/afternoons where a cocktail or 3 are involved.  I am absolutely not suggesting that drinking is a good thing, but I do see it’s virtues.  It lessens one’s inhibitions.  It calms nerves.  It makes boring people seem all that much more interesting.  Plus is just good clean fun! 🙂 I admire him for not drinking (although I could never imagine myself not).  He has made a conscious decision and is sticking to it.

So here I am, dating a guy who doesn’t drink.  Who doesn’t care if I drink around him, yet I don’t feel right doing it.  That’s one of the reasons I know that I like him.  I’ve been sober on all of our dates!  That’s sort of unusual for me.  I really don’t see it being a problem aside from the fact that I tend to have a drink (or two) before I see him.  What can I say?  I like my cocktails!  I do realize, however, that it’s probably not normal that the 1st thing that crossed my mind when we came back to my place last night to ‘see the dogs’ was to wonder if I had thrown out my empty bottle or left it sitting on the kichen counter.  Oopsie.  Oh, and the fact that our uh, 1st bike ride, will obviously have to be done sober.  Not sure I’m good with that.  I am a firm believer that initial bike rides should be performed at night after a long evening of drinking.   As G-d intended. 😉

 

10 Responses to “How Very Ironic”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    Ellen: You sound more like yourself…I see…if I drink around my special person…it is ok?

    hugs
    Jaye

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Heck yeah Jaye. Unless you’re one of those overemotional crying drunks, go for it! 🙂

      • jgavinallan Says:

        El:
        Nope…I’m more half a glass of wine and I’m ready for bed…oops
        that didn’t come out right!

        Jaye

  2. Cousin Bette Says:

    Just to put your mind at rest! I’m not a drinker, never really have been, will have something alcoholic maybe twice a year. It never ever bothers me that other people drink around me, not in the least. Would I care if they were eating chocolate cake if the only reason I wasn’t eating chocolate cake was because I didn’t like it? But re the bike ride, just in case, check out if he nevertheless has a favourite flavour. 😉

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      Haha Bette! Thanks for that awesome advice! 😉 He even made the comment that if I still ‘wasn’t feeling comfortable’ enough to go for a bike ride a while from now, that he was going to start taking me to happy hour for our dates 😉

      • Surrey gal Says:

        Ha ha ha. Don’t feel comfortable for a while longer, happy hour is always great and additionally it will make the ride as it was intended 😀

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          happy hour is my favorite ‘hobby’ off all time! 🙂 I think i’m just going to have to show up on his doorstep drunk ……..

  3. Matthew Says:

    I have often read that most first kisses are done when people have “liquid courage” and I look back at all of mine and NONE of them have included alcohol. The same can be said for any of my first sexual encounters.

  4. Matthew Says:

    I have often read that most first kisses are done when people have “liquid courage” and I look back at all of mine and NONE of them have included alcohol. The same can be said for any of my first sexual encounters.

    Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my cocktails too. I have what could be considered a full bar at my place. Heck, I infuse my own flavored vodka.

    The Ex I dated in California was a 9 year recovering alcoholic. We dated for 6 months and out of respect I never drank around her, and rarely even drank period.

    Even now, aside from one major binge night (not one of my more gracious evenings), I rarely drink. Since the aforementioned night I have not had a drink (coming up on a month). And some of my bottles are nearly 6 years old.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      wow Matthew ~ that’s very commendable. I am in the same sort of circumstance with Webster (shhhh), so I just won’t do it, however I do love my cocktails. A lot. And I guess the key difference between you and I would be that the majority of my ‘1sts’ were pretty much all vodka infused. 😉

      Impressive that you infuse your own vodka, btw.


Leave a Reply

