43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

All The Better To Read Messages From 68 Year Olds…..Or Not June 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 4:31 pm
Tags: , ,

Yes, of course, I got not only a message from a 68 year old, but a 68 year old who lives in Minnesota.  What the hell?  I also got a wink from a 59 year old, but at least he’s local.  I’m not responding, mind you, but still.  This is not about my elderly fan club though.  It’s about testing out an old adage.  The one about ‘boys don’t make passes as girls who wear glasses’.  I used to wear glasses.  I loved them.  You know how there are just some people who look good in hats and some people who look good in glasses?  Well, I’m both.  LOL.  Just kidding.  Who knows what the rest of the world thought, but I loved my glasses when I wore them.  I never wanted contacts (nor could I really ever imagine willingly wanting to stick my finger in my eye each day) and was never embarrassed to wear my four eyes with pride.  I had lasik surgery (horrifying procedure) about 15 years ago.  It was a ‘gift’ from my mother.  When she started to panic that I might never get married and I guess landed on the fact that I wore glasses as the main reason.  Ha!  I had never really considered it, but if mom was volunteering to foot the bill, who am I to turn down the not so cheap procedure?

Sure, I had the big ole’ epiphany that  I could actually see across the room when I woke up the next morning.  Yipee.  Kind of.  I missed my glasses.  Well my friends, that time has come full circle.  I just got back from the optometrist and guess who needs glasses for distance?  Me!  Guess who is inordinately excited to be able to wear glasses again?  Yup, me again!  As I’m only slightly nearsighted, I’ll just need them for driving and evenings out on the town.  Wheee!  The ladies at the doctor’s office were hysterical in helping me pick out frames.  The poor things were probably ready to kick my ass out after an hour, but I finally settled on an uber cool pair.  And I can’t wait.

Oh, and that saying about boys not making passes?  Yeah, that’s a bunch of bullshit. 🙂

 

9 Responses to “All The Better To Read Messages From 68 Year Olds…..Or Not”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    Wow! They really love you…I mean…grandpas really do…
    Jaye

  2. stevesw Says:

    You’re going to have to practice kissing without bumping glasses.

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      LOL Steve! As my glasses will be for distance and I certainly hope that whomever I’m kissing will be very close up, I don’t think I’ll need to be wearing them. They do need to be sturdy enough in case I roll over on them though 🙂 (the glasses, not the guy, btw)

  3. mysterycoach Says:

    I wear glasses! It gives me that sexy librarian look! 🙂 Good for you!

    I have them for depth perception and … uh, up close, apparently that’s changed too over the years. I’m due for a new pair myself.

    Good for you! LOL I can hear you guys laughing at the store already!

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      haha MC ~ I was thinking sexy librarian as well – pencil holding my bun in place, removing it and whipping my hair around …….. then I remember what a ginormous clutz I am an would probably smack my head into a wall … 😉

      • mysterycoach Says:

        ROFL! Being a clutz has it’s perks. When my friend and I used to go ice skating, age 13, she fell ALL the time … they had these awesomely cute 17 yr., old guards there who would skate by, ask if you were okay, and help you up.

        I tried like hell to fall and I couldn’t. 🙂 Be a clutz it’s endearing… hahaha!

  4. I should actually be wearing glasses all the time, but have to admit that I often forget to put them on. A shame really, because I have a pair of very cool vintage glasses that I think make me look better with than without. Problem is that in the Middle East not many people understand the cool vintage look 😦

    • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

      It’s good to be unique 🙂 I almost got a totally ‘mod’ pair of glasses, but was afraid I wouldn’t be able to pull them off 😦 boo


Leave a Reply

