43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

A Few Changes June 14, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 5:13 pm
Tags: , ,

As a very wise and wonderful blog friend informed me, you can find out WAY too much about me and my life by running a few simple google searches.  When I started this blog, I had no idea what a blog even was.  I had no clue that people would be reading it.  Hell, I had no clue that people ran google searches on others.  My mind doesn’t work that way.  As I would never do that to someone, I just assumed no one would do that to me.  Apparently though, if you google search a few simple ‘key’ words, not only do you get a bird’s eye view into my life, but apparently parts of my blog come up.

I internet date.  And hate it.  People do run google searches on others though.  That’s a fact of life.  I get it.  It’s not so much that I lie about having this blog, but rather that I just don’t mention it.  Sure if and when I meet a terrific guy (maybe W, maybe not), I will absolutely tell them about it and hope that they respect my privacy.  That’s probably not very realistic though.  Anyway, when I set up my blog originally, I used my name, my e-mail address, my everything.  I’ve blurted out where I live, what I do for a living and even what bars I frequent.  Who knows how many guys have googled me?  Maybe none, maybe 100.  Possibly this might explain why fellows that I thought I hit it off with suddenly up and disappeared.  Or maybe they just thought I sucked.  Who knows.

The thing is, I can’t have clients, potential or current guys or anyone outside of my not-so-anonymous blog family having such easy access to my life and thoughts.  I write things on here that I would NEVER tell anyone.  I do it under the ruse of being anonymous.  And I’m not. 😦

So I’ve made a few changes.  I have changed the url for my blog.  Anyone that has/had me saved to favorites, or on their blogroll (thank you!), will land on empty page that states that my blog has been deleted.  It hasn’t.  It’s just sorta moved.  I will not be using my name anymore in the blog and would appreciate any commentors not using it either.  I realize this is a bit like shutting the barn door after all the animals escape, but damn it, that’s just how I roll. 😉  Whoever cares to is still welcome to have me on their blogroll (it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside), you’ll just need to change the link to the new url.

I apologize for any inconvenience that this causes and truly hope that anyone that enjoyed following along with my screwed up dating life will be able to find me at my new url, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do …….. damn it.

 

8 Responses to “A Few Changes”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    Wode pengyou: My friend in mandarin—that is your name.
    I agree with changes—do you think my last name is Gavin Allan?

    hugs
    Jaye

  2. mysterycoach Says:

    Oh… shit. So is this still it? oh I see it! 🙂

  3. mysterycoach Says:

    I think we can still get here if we’re already subscribed. I guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

  4. Hi Grey,

    A few things…

    – Since I discovered accidentally that people have been looking at my LinkedIn account (for which I plan to tease them when I get a chance), you’re not going to get far with suppressing any personal details from fellow bloggers who put even a tiny bit of effort into it.

    – I agree that it’s very likely that dates have Googled you. I have not tried to find you via Google (I don’t even know your whole name so that’s one good reason!!) so I don’t know if you can be found on WordPress or Google by someone checking you out. But YOU can run some searches and see for yourself.

    – I found out today from another blogger, by happy coincidence, that even just a few search terms can get you to EXACTLY the right (wrong) person way more quickly than you would think. In my own case, I am apparently as common as dirt and good luck figuring out which one of the many people with my exact name is the real me! Even in my area, the doctor I used to go to had another guy with the same name. Common. As. Dirt.

    – If you’re going to comment on other blogs and your email address or identity info has part of your name (or as a few of us do — our ENTIRE NAME — duh!)

    Finally, there is some good news. You can edit blogs AND comments. You can change what *I* say! Scary for me, but good for you! So when I say right here that your REAL NAME is @#$%$% Agnes @#$%&#^ and you look like a great big #$%*%^, especially with your crazy @#$@# and your wild #$^#$#$%, there’s not really much I can do to stop you hiding these important details from everyone with edits.

    • well aware SD …… I’m not concerned about people from ‘here’ finding me in real life, but rather the opposite. I don’t want clients trying to google search me because they can’t remember my biz name, and finding this ………

  5. Surrey gal Says:

    And every page of your blog is saved somewhere out there so it’s very easy to find the archived version of your blog… internet has no privacy.
    P.s. If I stop commenting here that means I can’t find you, I’m a bit confused with the www addresses, please chase me in comments on my blog so that I can find you.

    • Hey SG, you’re here. 🙂 Anything floating around the internet presently is linked to my ‘old’ url which takes them to a page that says the blog has been deleted. It doesn’t link to here.


Leave a Reply

