43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

New Options July 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 9:35 am
Tags: , ,

So I have two new horses in the running.  TallDark, who messaged me during my Vegas trip, I am supposed to meet on Wednesday.   He has stopped asking me for dating advice and ‘tips’ for internet dating and opted to ‘get to know me’ by quizzing me on the type of swimsuit I wear when I’m at the pool.  Right, ’cause we all know that will give amazing insight into my soul.  As I was in a funky mood all weekend, and I do enjoy tormenting guys on occasion (oh stop acting surprised), I played along and teased him relentlessly about my whole bikini clad time at the pool.  I don’t normally do things like that as it doesn’t seem to take much to turn a guy into a total perv and I’d much rather they like me for who I am on the inside instead of what I look like (not that I’m not a ginormous fan of empty compliments in that arena either).   I don’t know, I guess I was just in that sorta mood.   Anyway, we’re supposed to meet Wednesday and he told me to pick a bar by my house.   Well there really aren’t any bars by my house aside from a sports bar and a couple of stinky gross divey places.   Now don’t get me wrong, I can hang at a dive bar and have a great time, however I don’t think it’s all that appropriate to meet someone for the 1st time at place with smashed peanut shells on the floor and the smell of stale beer lingering in the air.  Guess where he picked?  Well, he told me to pick one of the dive bars as ‘he can totally hang with that’.  Uh really? You’re a guy, of course you can.  You really think I’m going to be impressed with your ability to ‘hang’ at a dive bar?  No, not really.  Demerits earned right there. Guess what else earned him demerits?  He told me that he can meet at 4:30 and since he didn’t have to be at his softball game until 8:30, that he had plenty of time to spend with me, so I had better not make up an excuse to leave early.  WTF?  Like I want to spend 4 hours with anyone on a 1st date.  It’s only happened twice before, and I highly doubt I’m due for a third anytime soon.  I sent back that I was thrilled that he was able to stay for 4 hours, however I would not be able to.  I did refrain from calling him an idiot though, so that’s good. 😉

Huh, not sure I’m in the right frame of mind to be meeting anyone right now.  Especially someone who calls themselves ‘TallDark’ and is only 6′.  That ain’t so tall in my book.

As I sent a highly sarcastic message to him last night and have yet to hear back, let’s see if we actually ever meet. He seems to have reverted to his ‘I’m new to all this, take it easy on me’ persona.
.

There is another guy that I made a total exception for in that he has one of those lame profiles up saying to e-mail him at his ‘real’ address ’cause he’s not a member.  I hate that.  I think it’s totally cheesy.  However he’s tall (no this one is really), wrote a hysterical profile and could be pretty cute.  Funny that out of the 8 pictures he has up, I can’t decide if he’s cute or not.  Anyway, we’ve been e-mailing and he’s quite endearing.  Very self-deprecating.  Too bad he’s traveling for the next 2 weeks, but we’ll see if he can hold my interest until he gets back and if we ever actually meet.  Hey, at least this one hasn’t asked me about any swimsuit details. 😉

 

6 Responses to “New Options”

  1. Grey,

    Your persistence and resilience should be better recognized by these guys. So even though I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again … you’re amazing to be doing this.

  2. jgavinallan Says:

    Softball over a woman…I don’t know about THAT guy
    Jaye

  3. everevie Says:

    I vote for guy #2!

    Funny and tall? Good combo.

  4. Surrey gal Says:

    Ey, would you really want to date a guy who’s too tight to spend few dollars on membership? And is expecting you to pay membership so that you can communicate?
    He’s the type that will ask you to pay for the drinks. Bleeee


Leave a Reply

