43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Did I Miss Something? July 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:56 pm
Tags: , ,

So I met TallDark at the designated bar (which incidentally is the one that (not so) Alpha-Male took me to).  As I wasn’t thrilled about going, I threw on a pair of shorts and a v-neck t-shirt.  Put on some (in hindsight) ugly as shit sandals (no clue why I even have them) and mosied on out the door.  I wasn’t thrilled by his pics online.  He sorta reminded me of Randy Travis.  Ewwww.  And he just seemed sorta, I don’t know, either naive or overly polite (aside from the bikini quizzing over the weekend).  Anyway, I got to the bar 1st so went on in, plopped down and ordered a drink.

He showed up right on time, so I got up and gave him a hug (what can I say?  I’m a hugger).  He was wearing cargo shorts, a black shirt and flip flops.  Fine outfit as we were at a bit of a dive bar.  Uh, here’s the thing.  He was damn cute!  I didn’t think I’d find him attractive at all, and yeah, I was wrong.  We talked about lots of things and about 30 minutes in it occurred to me that I was kinda sorta digging him, so of course I started acting all awkward and weird-ish.  Nice.  I swear, it’s like clockwork.  He told me all about his kids and his (2) divorces; his work; his friends; his softball league; his really bad date from Saturday.  He asked me about my business and other random topics.  He also asked me, after we had finished our 1st drinks what the ‘protocol’ was for ordering another one (or not).  Uhm, I sort of wanted to tell him that if he wasn’t having a good time, then don’t and that’s your out, but I didn’t.  I just sorta looked at him and stuttered something about doing what he felt like doing.  Der, could I sound like a bigger moron?  He did ask that if he ordered another drink, did it signify that he was ‘interested’?  No clue if he wanted to me to know that he was, or didn’t want me to think that he was.  If I had any sort of ‘game’, I would have flirtatiously asked if he wanted me to think he was interested or not.  As I apparently have NO game, I didn’t.  He also asked when it would be customary or appropriate to ask for someone’s phone number.  As I assumed he was asking for future reference as he already had mine, I didn’t know how to take that.  Odd, right? 

Anyway, I had my ‘out’ with the dogs needing being let out.  He had his ‘out’ of a softball game at 8:30.  Hell, meeting at 4:30, he didn’t need to worry about making it to his game on time, right?  Uh yeah, he was late.  We talked and laughed for way too long.  Had 3 rounds of drinks, shared a quesadilla and honestly had a really nice time.  I’m thinking things are going okay, but there is no physical contact, no talk of future plans, so I’m not sure if he’s liking me on a friend level (I did look like a big ole’ slob) or something more.  So we ask for the tab, he doesn’t let me pay.  I apologize several times for keeping him so long; he apologizes for having to run as it was now 8pm and his game was a good 40 minutes away. 

He walks me to my car, gives me a huge lingering hug.  I tell him I had a really good time and he said he did to and …………… ‘thanks for giving me hope in online dating and have a good night’.  Uh……… did I miss something?  Am I his new dating coach?

No clue where his head is at on this.  Nerves, uncertainty, not feelin’ it?  I have no idea.  I would normally text to let him know I had a good time, but not sure ………… I guess I’ll just sit back and wait……… Uh, especially since I just figured out that I don’t, in fact, have his number as we have only e-mailed.  E-mail a ‘thank you’ and give him my number ‘in case he wants to get together again’ or do nothing?

Since when am I such a moron?

 

10 Responses to “Did I Miss Something?”

  1. Grey,

    From here it sounds like it went well. The odd things make it more memorable in a good way. Wait until he contacts you; you shouldn’t reach out to him. If he does, you’re off to a good start!

  2. If a man likes you, he will reach out to you. If not, no worries, he isn’t worth your time. Men like the thrill of the chase, give that to him. Remember GGD, he is lucky to be in your presence.

  3. Matthew Says:

    I think his comment about him now having hope for online dating simply indicates that you are a symbol that the online experience isn’t as bad as some people *cough…you…cough* 😉
    may make it out to be.

    You’ll probably hear from him again for another date…unless he doesn’t know how to go abut doing so, thus will result in him contacting you anyway for advice on how to ask someone on a second date and then turn around and use your own advice on you.

  4. jgavinallan Says:

    You are in the drivers seat…now—do the hardest thing…wait…
    I was once told…WAIT! that’s what women do…and she was right
    Jaye

  5. Sounds promising! I do agree with the other comments let him make the next move, it’s hard but it’ll be worth it when he comes begging for date no.2!


Leave a Reply

