43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Diversions Are Good, Right? July 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:26 am
Tags: , ,

So I was supposed to meet random guy from OkStupid yesterday at 6:30 for drinks.  We messaged back and forth for a bit around noon and he was ON TOP OF IT.  I mean it wouldn’t be two minutes after I sent a response that he would respond back.  Yesterday was his 2nd day on the site (what the hell is it with newbies finding me?) and although his profile was really quite good, his pictures absolutely sucked.  And I told him so. Oh please, don’t act surprised.  He actually thanked me for the ‘tip’ on the pics.  Whatever.  So he suggests meeting up last night and as I didn’t have anything better to do and could use a diversion and an excuse to hop right on out of my own head, I agreed.  I then suggested a time and a place.  And he didn’t respond.  And then I said I needed to leave and for him to let me know what he decides.  And nothing.  And then finally, at 6pm-ish, after still not hearing from him I decide he is yet another internet dickhead who is a stupid flake and just likes to screw around online.  Instead of letting him have it, I sent a wonderfully passive aggressive message of ‘since I haven’t heard from you, I made other plans, fuck off thanks anyway’.  Probably 10 minutes later my phone starts going off with e-mail notifications.  All from him.  1 from 1pm in the afternoon, another from 2, another from 4 and the last one from 6pm.  Where the hell had they been floating around all day?  As I felt bad for thinking the worst (can you blame me, with my luck?), we decided to meet at 8:30 for a drink.

He’s a really nice guy.  Kinda cute, barely my height, very smart and very sweet.  He was just so flippin’ nice!  Asked me about me and my family and my travels and lots of other things.  He rambled on told me about his travels, his impending divorce (great, yet another guy who doesn’t have the paperwork signed yet), and some other things.  As I wasn’t all that into him, I was my astoundingly charming and witty self.  Love how that happens, yet put me in front of a guy that I’m totally into and I turn into a babbling idiot.   Anyway, we stuck around until the restaurant closed at 10 and he was very funny about asking me out again.  I had noticed that he had tried to do it several times earlier in the evening, but didn’t acknowledge any of them.  Anyway he uses the uber suave tactic of asking what sort of movies I like.  I say comedies, he mentions one that’s currently out that I really want to see and viola’, a date for Saturday is set up.

There was an awkward hug at the end, no kiss and a very sweet text sent from him not 5 minutes after leaving that said ‘I was a delight (please hold your laughter ’cause really people, I am) and that he was looking forward to Saturday’.  He was a nice guy.  Were there sparks?  Nope, not on my end.  Was he nice to hang out with?  Yup, he sure was.  Could he be a good diversion for the time being?  Possibly.  It’s all in the kiss though people, so I guess we’ll know more on Saturday.

And until then, I have a date with another internet dating newbie tonight.

Eh, I’m sure I’ll be my witty and charming self with him as well ……….. funny how that works.

 

18 Responses to “Diversions Are Good, Right?”

  1. Janet in Philly Says:

    Hey GG – sounds good. You just never know! Keeping my fingers crossed and believing in horoscopes…

  2. Serena Says:

    Diversions are always a good thing 🙂 Just go out and enjoy yourself without any expectations. It’s when we want something that we get nothing, and when we give up that we get it all. (My own experience, lol!)

    I hate phones when they do that. Do you have a Blackberry? Sometimes my messages come in a day later and I’m always like ‘WTF?’. Thank goodness I haven’t lambasted anyone about not receiving their message….although I can’t say they didn’t yell at me for not replying to theirs, lol.

    • Yup, I don’t expect a thing Serena 😉 and you’re right, if we find something/one we want and then show it, we DO get nothing, so I think I’ll just keep and expectations in the closet …

  3. jgavinallan Says:

    GG: I will pray to the spirits of the Highlands…tigers are conduits of fate…think of one…it will serve you well…
    Jaye

  4. everevie Says:

    Hey Grey…glad you had a nice time with the nice guy. Doesn’t it always work that way though? A super nice, great guy…and no chemistry. Boo!!

    Hope you have a lovely evening with the Talldark guy tonight. I’ll be thinking of tigers for you. Or something.

  5. Surrey gal Says:

    I don’t know where the emails went, but this date is like all of mine, nice enough but no sparks. You see now what I meant all this time? 🙂

  6. Phew! He was nice! That’s really all you needed….no? You sounded very frustrated and angry before the meet-up so I say say diversions are great. You may not feel the sparks but there’s plenty of time for that still. I am a sucker for a good romance!

    • I have been out of sorts lately ~ more than the whole W thing, there’s lots going on here and I’m not being myself, so yes, distractions are very appreciated.

      There is always a chance for ‘sparks’ i’m just betting against them, but who knows? I’ve been wrong before ………

  7. stevesw Says:

    Il silenzio di un bacio vale piu di mille parole


Leave a Reply

