43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Very Odd Reaction July 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 2:47 pm
Tags: , , ,

So as I was screwing around on OkStupid today (what?  I find myself with the day off and it’s WAY too hot outside to do anything fun and all my friends have ‘real’ jobs) handing out my usual 2 star ratings, I decided to run a search.  Who comes up?  Well a homeless guy for one.  Yeah, I don’t get it either.  Do you think he gets many dates and does he balance his laptop on his shopping cart while sitting outside of Starbucks and mooching their WiFi in order to check his online dating profile?  I know, I know, the whole homeless thing isn’t funny in the least, however the fact that he’s on a friggin’ dating site and is currently ‘looking’ is a bit strange to me.  Uh what do you think a 1st date would consist of?  His asking to come over and use your shower?

Anyway, I digress.  As I’m looking through the little thumbnail pics who pops up but Webster.  And it is the oddest thing.  Although sure, I’m still a tad bit sad about the whole thing, by and large I’m over it.  No really.  No stupid mooning over him or obsessing over what he’s doing and rarely does he even cross my mind these days.  When I saw his pic though, my stomach dropped.  Literally.  Like it does when I drive over a bridge.  I have an unexplained fear of bridges (and I guess plummeting to my death if one should collapse).  Uh, that shouldn’t happen should it?  No, not the plummeting to my death thing, but the whole stomach drop thing.  I guess I had myself convinced that when he dropped me, he dropped trolling in general, so it caught me off guard to see his pic come up.  Until I saw his last login date.  Which was over a month ago and coincidentally the same day we had the long phone chat about his not being ready/able/whatever to date.  I guess he was telling the truth (or happened to coincidentally meet someone else that very same day 😉 ) ………. Still not happy about my reaction, but oh well ……..

 

8 Responses to “Very Odd Reaction”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    there is a song…Can’t get over you getting over me…is it like that?
    Jaye

  2. Online Dating Circus Expert Says:

    I could totally feel your stomach drop for you when you explained that. Don’t be too hard on yourself – I am willing to bet it was more of a “What the HELL are YOU doing on this SITE?” stomach drop. I am glad for you that the login date was the date of your last conversation and that it appears he was in fact being honest with you.

    • I wish it were a pissed off sorta ‘what the hell are you doing on this site’, but it was more of a ‘crap, he’s dating again and it’s not me’ kinda thing. It’s okay, just a reaction I hadn’t anticipated is all.

  3. everevie Says:

    My stomach dropped just reading about it. I was also quite relieved that he hasn’t logged in…for your sake, obvs. Sorry you had to be reminded again. 😦

  4. Surrey gal Says:

    Your reaction was perfectly normal and healthy… and it must have felt really nice to see he hasn’t been logged on…


Leave a Reply

