43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

A Lovely Dinner Invitation August 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 4:32 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Although I actually decided last night, when Doppelganger and I were driving home, that the kiss of death for me on these internet dates is a dinner date.  Not that it means I will hate the guy, as I usually do, but that instead I will inexplicably really like them.  Only to be screwed over in the end.  I was thinking back to all of the dinner dates that I’ve had.  There was Paul, who wrote me a dear john e-mail after date #3 (after giving me a big ole’ kiss goodbye, telling me he had a great time, and having his hand on my leg the majority of the evening), there was Lemon Zinger (who, coincidentally enough, was right around this time last year) and most recently, there was fucking selfish and oblivious Webster.  Yeah, each of these guys I broke my ‘rule’ with.  I had dinner with each on either date #1 or #2.  Each of these guys I ended up liking (some more than others).  Each of these guys bailed in pretty shitty ways.  Yey me.  So pretty much, I blame dinner dates.  I need to stick to my rule of not going on them until at least date #3 I think.  Then maybe, just maybe, they will like me in return.  😉

Anywhoo, I thought about breaking this rule today.  See how it works is that I can make a rule the  night before and then come up with an excuse to ignore it the very next day.  I’m awesome, aren’t I?  Anyway, today I received such a lovely request to join someone for dinner that I actually considered it.  Until I actually read the message.  In which he left a couple of pertinent words out of his sentences.  And types in broken English.  And saw that he was 25.  And lived in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  And, I’m certain, would include in any follow up messages how he could use some help with the plane fare out here.  Or getting visas for his family………… please enjoy:

I hope you are well. I will be in Phoenix and I am a looking for a nice girl to settle with. I am like you. You have an interesting profile 😉 You are very beautiful and it will be an honor to meet you 🙂 I hope you will consider me.

You are so beautiful. I would like to invite for a romantic night in Phoenix . I would like you to come over. you have a lovely smile that shines my world, and I would like to meet your for a romantic night that includes romantic dinner candles flowers and music

Yup, it was a hard one to pass up, but I must remain strong and remember that these (kinda sorta bendable) rules are in place for a reason.  Or until a total hottie with a wicked sense of humor invites me to dinner.   Then all bets are off. 😉

 

17 Responses to “A Lovely Dinner Invitation”

  1. jgavinallan Says:

    GG: I think we(him and me) took english language 101 together?
    Good Luck…
    Jaye

  2. heh, you and I live in the same city….. I wonder how many of the same guys have crossed our paths.

  3. stevesw Says:

    “I am like you.” Is ‘he’ a woman? Also, are you saying that if a guy buys you dinner he can put his hand on your leg? 😉

  4. The Single Girl Says:

    Haha I love it! Shame you didn’t go :p

  5. everevie Says:

    You shine my world.

    I just thought you should know. (Lol.)

  6. I’m thinking mail-order groom in training. He wants to make sure that his English is up to standards.

  7. Surrey gal Says:

    One can never be too romantic. Go on girl, shine his world, ha ha 😀


Leave a Reply

