43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Nice To Meet You August 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:19 am

Okee Dokee people.  Today’s the day.  The day that I should really change the title of my blog to ’44 & Single’, but haven’t really decided yet.  Today is the day, though, that all of my dating profiles will click over to 44 years old thus placing me one year further away from finding a great guy.  A great guy for me, that is.  I’ve had some big challenges this year.  Mainly with myself and my self confidence.  It annoys the hell out of me as I never used to be this way.  I have always been confident in who I am and how I look.  I have always been confident that ‘when the time is right’, I will meet the guy for me.  I have never been on the annoying ‘mission’ that I seem to be on for the past 2 years.  We all know that my biggest fear in life is to grow old and die alone.  The entertaining dog lady that never found a partner in life (no, that doesn’t mean I’m considering lesbianism).  I am one year closer to becoming that person and 1 year farther away from really knowing what I want.

Kinda really sucky.  Anyway, there are a couple of you (maybe 2) that have been with my blog from the beginning.  Through all 987 posts about my life, my lack of love life, my introspective bullshit (yeah, sorry about that post from yesterday) and any other inane bullshit that comes to mind that I slap down on this blog.  As you all know, I never imagined anyone would actually follow this stuff.  Crazy to think that people are interested in what I have to say.  When I started this blog, it was full of funny stories of past dates and internet dating as a whole.  Lately I have found myself going through a bit of turmoil and not dealing well with it.  I promise you all (and mainly myself) that I will get back to being the snarky funny person that I should be.  That I used to be.

Anyway, I know I’ve often tried to imagine what other bloggers I follow look like.  I can only assume that at least some of you must wonder what sort of hideous creature I must be to have been on almost 80 dates in the past 2 years and still not been able to date a guy more than a month (omg that sounded soooo sad).  I must look old.  I must dress old.  I must have some sort of disconcerting growth that scares people away and makes them avert their eyes.  I have done my best to keep this blog fairly private.  It makes it easier for me to write whatever I want thinking that I’m totally anonymous.  As it is my birthday today, I have decided to introduce myself to everyone.  Just for today.  So you can see what a 44 year old internet dater really looks like.  So here I am, in all my glory.  Please feel free to tell me how young and pretty I am. 😉 I love liars!

edited to add, on August 16th : (as my birthday is now over, I shall slip back into total (ha) anonymity.  besides, the guys below are much cuter than I am anyway) 😉

Told You It Was For One Day Only 😉 Meet 'my boys' + beagle friend

 

29 Responses to “Nice To Meet You”

  1. Surrey gal Says:

    Happy, happy birthday! 44 is a new 30 😛
    I know you may feel a bit down at the moment, but you have great personality (we know that). Now I know you look magnifique too! Even if you lived closer to me I wouldn’t go out with you because I wouldn’t get a chance of a look from any guy if you were next to me!
    You are right, you WILL find a guy that is right for you in the time that is right time for that. I know it’s hard to believe it and wait for it and it sucks (hey, I’m in the same boat as you are, plus two children as a ballast) but we have to keep this thought in our heads.
    My birthday wish for you is that you feel better and get out of the depression. Lots of love, S.

  2. Hi Grey,

    Happy birthday and, since you’re younger and prettier than me, I don’t need to lie at all. 🙂

    As SG said, you will find a guy, and you have the advantage of not having the ‘ballast’ of multiple troublesome offspring to distract suitors. I don’t agree with you when you say “1 year farther away from really knowing what (you) want” … I think you already have the answer to that. It’s just chance when The One shows up. Keep looking; he’s there somewhere.

    Cheers, SD.

  3. Matthew Says:

    Happy Birthday (again) GG.

    And obviously these 80-some dates just don’t know how to handle beauty, personality and crap load of wit.

    *PS, I feel like I kind of cheated your reveal because when you e-mailed me my horoscope comparision thing it also provided a photo thumbnail from some e-mail profile or something.*

    Yeah, I’m unintentionall sneaky.

    • Thanks Matthew. I could use all the compliments I can get these days ………… haha, i think that’s my gmail account pic (which i never put up, so no clue where they ‘stole’ it from) as long as it didn’t send you screaming in the other direction, that’s a-ok. 🙂 well gee, it must be my shitty personality that is scaring everyone away then ……. damn, i was afraid of that 😉

  4. everevie Says:

    I’ve known you were a knockout for quite awhile…so I won’t comment on how totally smokin hot you are…hee.

    I really, truly, wholeheartedly hope this is the year you find your “one”. I wish I had some brilliant advice…but as I feel the same as you, I’ve got nothing.

    It is a huge mystery to me how a woman like you could remain single. It defies all logic. And the longer you stay single…the more hope I lose for myself. Because if you can’t land a man…I don’t have a chance in hell.

    So…instead of praying to the tiger gods for myself…I’ll start praying to them for you. 🙂

  5. Online Dating Circus Expert Says:

    3 words for you: Hot Sex Goddess!!!

    Happy birthday GG!!!! Celebrate yourself today. We all are thinking of you. I hope your time with your friends and Tall Dark is fun and that your birthday turns out to be better than expected!!! xo And don’t forget to make a wish for yourself 😉

  6. Serena Says:

    Happy Birthday GG! I hope you have a great day, and an awesome time with TallDark. Your pictures look great and all those 80 who passed you by should eat their hearts out, lol.

    You’ll find that special someone soon. I have a feeling this is your year. 🙂

  7. Haopy Birthday Goose! ***birthday hug*** It is your birthday and we got a present – You are beautful! I hope your birthday wishes comes true. I have made a wish for you too. Can’t tell you what it is until it comes true. Enjoy your special day!I

  8. stevesw Says:

    Happy birthday GGD. HOT! But I do think you are 34, so stop with the 44 BS.

  9. JaneDoePhx Says:

    Happy Birthday!! You could pass for much younger so you can leave the blog title as is for another decade. 🙂

  10. Happy Birthday, GG!!! I hope you had a great and awesome birthday!!! You do NOT look your age. Can I steal that dress in the middle?

  11. I know I’m too late here, but better late than never, right?

    I mean, I can see why anyone who looks as good as you would want to share, so we can all know exactly how hot you are! All I can say is that if I look as good as you when I turn 44, you will hear no complaints coming out of my mouth 😉

    I’m sorry your birthday didn’t turn out exactly as you’d hoped. I know exactly how that feels (still haven’t gotten over spending mine all alone). I’m guessing you neither got cake nor a song. I can’t send you the first, but here comes the second with hopes that all your dreams for the next year come true.

    • Haha, thanks for the kind words and wishes for the coming year BAS. I often lose confidence in my appearance, so it’s nice of you all to lie to me about that as well 😉

      Thanks for the song!

  12. […] am considering following the lead of another blogger and posting photos of me, my house, and my area, just for the day. I won’t include photos of […]


Leave a Reply

