43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Irresponsible, Stupid or Good? August 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:50 pm

So we all know I took the week off from my 2nd job and that I didn’t have anything booked for my ‘real’ job either (I did pick up a job for Saturday, but that’s neither here nor there).  Well this is a dilema about tomorrow in two part harmony.

Here’s the irresponsible part.  I got an e-mail this afternoon asking if I was able to do a luncheon for tomorrow.  Yup, that’s right, tomorrow.  This is the same client that does this to me all the time.  Now, I will bend over backwards to accommodate last minute jobs for my clients whenever possible.  I know things come up last minute all the time.  This particular luncheon, however is held twice a month.  Every month.  And the dates never change.  I don’t know if she’s just an idiot or forgetful or just uses me as backup when her 1st choice falls through, but I have always said yes to her.  Regardless of how challenging it was to get done.  Until today.  I could absolutely use the money, but ya’ know what?  I’m sick of her (and everyone else) taking advantage of my good nature.  I have plans for tonight and tomorrow that I really don’t want to change.  So I’m not going to.  But damn the money would be nice.

So what are these plans you ask that I have?  You know I scheduled this week to minimize my ‘alone and stuck in my head time’.  Tonight is happy hour with a good friend of mine that I haven’t seen in ages.

Tomorrow?  Well, that’s a bit more complicated.  I had invited an asshole douchebag idiot friend to go to the shooting range with me as the passes I have were originally purchased long ago with this asshole douchebag idiot friend in mind.  No clue if said ‘friend’ is still planning on going or not and this is not normally something that I would do on my own, but I figure if my ‘friend’ flakes (which we all know inevitably will happen as I haven’t followed up), I’m still going!  Alone!  I’ll just picture a specific face on my paper shooting target. 😉  Fun, right?
.

Oh geez, now my client is texting me about tomorrow.  As I have never actually turned down a job when I actually could get it done, I have put off telling her until I was 100% certain that I didn’t want it.

Doing something that I ‘want’ instead of something I ‘should’ is good for me, right?  Damn this curse of being overly responsible.

 

8 Responses to “Irresponsible, Stupid or Good?”

  1. JaneDoePhx Says:

    GOOD!!! Not irresponsible, OR stupid. Especially if you slip in there that you “Simply didn’t have enough notice from her” to make time in your busy, busy client schedule. 🙂

  2. Definitely good!! Even if you hadn’t had other plans, Once in a while you need to put your foot down. Now she’ll hopefully give to at least two days notice before calling you 😉

  3. Matthew Says:

    That’s a lesson that took me a while to learn…doing something for yourself that you want rather than doing something you know you should do.

    Or just treating yourself when the opportunity comes about. Example? (glad you asked). After I was laid off years ago I had all this time on my hands and I was talking to a friend out in LA. We were talking about when I would possibly get out there and I said I had no clue being now I had no job.

    It wasn’t until I got off the phone that my mom said to me, “Matthew, when was the last time you ever took money out of your savings?” Me = blank face. She, “How often do you put money into it?” Me = “All the time…?”

    Thus her logic. You have the money and the time now. Go to LA.

    Thus was how I took probably the best 2 week vacation ever.

  4. Surrey gal Says:

    There is nothing wrong with being responsible, especially when it comes to your own business. But you are most important, so if you feel you have better things to do and you CAN, go for it!


Leave a Reply

