43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

The Least Romantic Thought Ever August 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 2:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

No, I’m not talking about my annoying Dave & Buster’s date on Saturday (did I happen to mention that he sent me an e-mail when I called him out on looking at my profile again that said ‘I just want to make sure that we do something you like.  Your happiness matters’ or some lame ass comment with the same sensitive tone.  OMG.  I bet he shows up with a bouquet of crappy carnations too.  Poor guy.  I do love sweet and thoughtful guys, but I’m not big on the big ole’ pussies and hearts and flowers ones.  That I haven’t even met yet.  These poor guys just can’t win.

So as I was paying bills last night and looking at the mountain of paperwork on my desk at home including investment stuff, property stuff, financial stuff, utilities, mortgages, insurance and everything else that I bust my ass to be able to cover every month the least romantic thought ever occurred to me.  And although I’ll act like this is something new that just came to me, it’s not.  I’ve always felt this way.  I am absolutely capable of taking care of my own finances.  I haven’t done too poorly in that department.  Most likely due to the fact that I work my ass off and have a full time job in addition to my business.  Being self employed is fairly nerve-wracking in this economy.  Every month I fear that I will never get another piece of business and then what would I do.  That’s why I keep my 2nd job.  Not only because I get killer benefits through them, but as a bit of security and a guaranteed paycheck twice a month.  I get tired of worrying about money though.  Of not having anyone to fall back on.  Of having to do it all myself all the time.  I want to work because I want to and not because I have to.

Sure I want to find someone to spend my life with because of that whole fear of dying alone thing and wanting someone to share all the fun and not so fun aspects of everything with.  Someone to make me laugh when I’m sad.  Someone to talk through challenges with me.  Someone that I can’t wait to see every day.  Someone that I can do the same for.  Take care of.  Make laugh.  Help out.  Listen to.  Some people look for partners that basically mirror themselves.  Yeah, I don’t want to date myself thank you.  I’m sort of a pain in the ass.  I want someone who compliments me, my skill set, my personality defects flaws, my views on things.  I want someone who challenges me and helps me see different viewpoints.  I also want someone to share the bills with.   Isn’t that horrible?  It’s the truth though.  Kinda tired of doing it all myself.

 

14 Responses to “The Least Romantic Thought Ever”

  1. JaneDoePhx Says:

    I think that way too. Today I got called out of work to pick up one of my kids who missed the bus. I wish someone was there to help me with that, and with the lights I havent changed since 2009 since they are 20 feet in the air and burning out almosy daily, or with the adjustment of my sprinklers that go off forty times a day, resulting in a $179/month water bill and a patch of lawn that looks like Jurassic frigging Park. I get it. I want that help too. I want someone to cook for me and with me, to pick up my drycleaning when I forget, and someone to share the bills with. Not un romantic, just…..realistic!!

    • Well hell, I’ve forgotten all about the ‘honey do’ list that I’ve been working on for the past 44 years 😉 It would just be nice to be on a team instead of a free agent, I think …….. (look at me with the sports lingo!)

  2. Online Dating Circus Expert Says:

    Ummmm….did I write this post? Wow. We are on the same wave length today! Maybe it is the moon cycle. It’s been a stressful work week for me and today I kinda freaked and felt so frustrated with work etc. A long talk with my mother brought to my attention that I live in constant fear of losing the work, being homeless etc.

    I don’t think it’s unromantic to think that way btw -you listed several romantic thoughts before the bills thought too. It’s practical and having a person to share bills with also means freeing up money for romantic dinners and getaways 😉

    • See! Already all the nice people are saying the same things (apparently you type a little faster than me, ODCE!)

    • Oooh, good angle on the romantic dinners and getaways.

      I’m sorry you’ve been stressed about work. I certainly know how that goes. Pretty sure we have very similar thoughts on many issues (you’re just much more positive about most things than I am) 😉 shhhh, don’t tell anyone though. I would hate to shatter my perfectly crafted facade of being well adjusted ………. HA!

  3. You know, I can almost take your post and paste it right into a post of my own…

    We may be quite different people in different places with different backgrounds, but we want the same kinds of things in our future. (Although my Perfect Match would hopefully be less hairy than yours.) I’m going out on a limb when I say you’ll probably get a lot of ‘me too’ comments on this nice post of yours.

  4. Matthew Says:

    That can definitely be the tough thing. I remember multiple times thinking (while living alone), “Imagine how much easier this would be if I were living with someone. A 1 bdrm apartment but most bills split.”

    I feel into that trap one time though and asked a girlfriend to move in as it was beneficial to us both financially; but I would have honestly let anyone move in. It wasn’t that I wanted HER to move in but I wanted her MONEY. Horrible? Maybe. But I had a $1200 month rent and she was paying $400 at a place she hated living at. So why not…

  5. Surrey gal Says:

    Of course it’s not horrible, it’s normal, I think most of the people want exactly that! And you will get that, wanna bet? 🙂


Leave a Reply

