43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Why Rules Are Important August 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 10:05 am
Tags: , , , ,

No, I’m not talking about those lame ‘dating’ rules that that annoying book was about.  I don’t think there really are any rules to dating other than to try to have fun, try not to act like an ass, try not be a needy, clingy, neurotic mess and to try and just let things happen.  Yeah, obviously I play by a different set of guidelines than the ones that someone who is well-adjusted would as none of the ones I just listed really describe me. 😉  So we all know I came up with the brilliant idea to contact 5 new guys every Monday until I decide not to, forget, get annoyed or just plain are too lazy.  I kinda didn’t set out any additional guidelines.  I’ve got date #1 tonight (fanny pack), date #2 tomorrow (the ‘winker’), date #3 on Wednesday(red onesie), date #4 on Thursday (faceless football coach) and still have shooting range guy floating around the perimeter.  Uh, do I still need to contact 5 more guys 2 days from now?  Being as how quickly I tend to discount my dates and toss them into the rubbish pile with the 70+ others, I fully realize that not one of them could still be in the running by Monday and highly doubt that any (maybe 1?) will warrant a 2nd date.  No, I’m not being pessimistic, I’m being realistic.  C’mon, look at my history here.  I’m a tough cookie.  Although I will waste my time on more 1st dates than I should, I refuse to waste my time on subsequent dates if I’m just not feeling it.  We all know that I can tell in the 1st 10 seconds (really 5) if I’m attracted to a guy or not.  No, it doesn’t have to be a smack me in the face kind of attraction (thanks dickwad Webster), but if I walk up, look into someone’s eyes and have absolutely NO desire to ever kiss them, then game over.  I don’t care how sweet or nice or funny or intelligent they are, there needs to be some chemistry going on.  Don’t get me wrong, I am fully aware that I’m not the only one in this ‘game’, they could very well take one look at me, listen to my inane chatter and opt to check out on their own (the 1st scenario is much more likely though) ;-). 

Well, I guess I’ll decide tomorrow if I am up for the challenge of contacting 5 more guys.  I’m really kinda thinking that Fanny Pack is WAY too regimented for me, I have no clue how my dinner date will go tomorrow with the guy I know nothing about and have pretty much agreed to give the faceless football coach a 2nd chance at meeting because I felt bad.  His dad was sick.  Do I think I’ll be attracted to him?  Nope, not one bit.  That would leave 2 variables – red onesie who may possibly just be a big ole’ flake, and gun range guy who already told me that we’re not a match.  Damn, my options are appealing.  Anyone jealous?

 

One Response to “Why Rules Are Important”

  1. […] No, I'm not talking about those lame 'dating' rules that that annoying book was about.  I don't think there really are any rules to dating other than to try to have fun, try not to act like an ass, try not be a needy, clingy, neurotic mess and to try and just let things happen.  Yeah, obviously I play by a different set of guidelines than the ones that someone who is well-adjusted would as none of the ones I just listed really describe me.   S … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

