43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Tuesday Was A Good Night September 21, 2011

So I went to the movies last night.  I showed up early.  Complete with to-go cocktail totally unnoticeable in my big green plastic cup.  I know, I’m so friggin’ klassy!  Anyway, as I’m sitting and waiting for my friend, I am getting text after text from TD who has suddenly felt the need to justify to me why he has opted to give the bitch neighbor a 4th chance.  Yes, you’ve read correctly.  They’ve broken up 4 times in 4 years.  I will not bore everyone with his ridiculous reasoning, but let’s suffice it to say that I don’t think he’ll ever leave her as ‘he’s doing it for his kids and he doesn’t want to let them down again’.  Or at least that’s what he tells me.  Some of his reasoning is so completely retarded that I am at a loss.  Again.  And think he might possibly be the weakest man alive.  Yeah, needless to say, this friendship thing probably isn’t going to work out as I have no clue how long I can go without telling him how big of a pussy I think he is.  Whatever.  For now, at least, you can be proud of me in that I’m taking the high road and just wishing him well and letting him know that I hope everything turns out the way he wants it to.  Gotta love a little play on words action….

Back to my date!  We went to see what I thought would be the worlds most ridiculous movie, My Idiot Brother.  It was actually pretty darn funny!  It was nice to go out, laugh, watch a mindless movie and not worry about boys or dating or creepy e mails or ‘daily matches’ that resemble a chain gang or any of the other shit that I give way too much room in my head for.  I didn’t care what I looked like (although I looked darn cute if I do say so myself), what I wore or how my hair looked.  I didn’t care that I probably shouldn’t have eaten that other half of the subway sub that I was saving for lunch today.  I wasn’t totally paranoid that I kinda forgot to put on deodorant after my shower.  I know, TMI, get over it.  I like me sooo much better when I’m not all stressed out or preoccupied.  Too bad it doesn’t happen more often.

After the movie I came home and ordered 2 killer red dresses online.  One totally fitted and knee-length with an asymmetric neckline and 1 cap sleeve.  The other will be AWESOME on my cruise.  Bright red, short, one shoulder with this amazing flowy one sleeve thing going on.  Yeah, I’m THAT girl who dresses so the whole room will turn around and look when I walk in.   It’s one of the few times that I am totally confident.  And one of the few times I am able to impress before I open my big stupid mouth and insert my foot and scare people away with my abhorrent sparkling personality. 😉  Anyway, I realize that I am usually 1 season behind in trends, but I’m not trendy.  I know what I like, but apparently just not in guys or in fashion until it’s on its way out of fashion.  Oh, I guess kinda like guys…….

The only thing that would have made the night better would have been for TD to try to figure out why he wants my approval so much on his fucked up ‘date the next door neighbor who treats him like shit’ or to at least stop trying to get me to ‘like’ her.  That’s never going to happen and by his repeated attempts at doing this, he’s only succeeding in getting me to like him less.  For that, I guess, I should thank him……

 

 

12 Responses to “Tuesday Was A Good Night”

  1. I like your approach with TD. You are being a good friend and listening and the drama is all his. And the cruise…wow! That’s great. Always nice when you have something to look forward to like that. I hope you get to make a grand entrance..who knows who will be watching:)

    • Hi Shades! Good to see you! Er, you only like this ‘new’ approach that I have with TD as I’ve already said my piece …… just blurted it all out there but apparently all I did was make myself feel like a crappy friend as he doesn’t seem to mind the way she treats him … eh, his deal, not mine 🙂

      Yes, I’m very excited about my cruise …….. and Vegas…….and Ironman……… always better to have something to look forward to!

      I’m guessing my ‘grand entrance’ will come complete with me tripping over absolutely nothing, btw 🙂

  2. mysterycoach Says:

    If I had to guess, I’d say he’s not so sure he did the right thing overall … he may not know why he did it either. Ya know? It’s like you think you want someone so badly and then you’re in it, and you’re like “I know there should be a reason for this … MESS … or SOMETHING?

    You’re dress sounds smashing! 🙂 !

  3. Matthew Says:

    The way I see it (or at least one way) is he could be pushing so hard because he needs someone else to see the “bad” in the person, or to call him on his BS.

    Now, you’ve done that. So, I don’t know what all he’s looking for. But it’s like being out drinking with someone, you feel like you’ve got to puke but do everything in your power not to because you’d like to avoid embarrassment. Then the person gives you permission to puke and you just let it fly.

    Bad neighbor chick is TD puke that he just needs to let fly. 😉

    • Oooh! Projective vomit analogies! My favorite! 🙂 He’s welcome to vomit all over the place. I told him not to already and he didn’t listen, so I hope she’s there to hold his hair back for him (haha, he has short hair, but it sounded good)

  4. everevie Says:

    Expanding on Matthew’s theme of alcohol analogies (speaking your language, huh? lol…):

    I see it like this…you know how “they” say no one likes to drink alone? Let’s say you are out w/a friend and you decide you aren’t gonna drink…the other party will likely try to persuade you to join them because they don’t want to be the only one making loud inappropriate comments and falling out of barstools. It’s natural to want to have your idiocy validated.

    I think that’s why TD keeps trying to get your approval. He knows he’s going to be falling off his barstool very soon…and he wants his buddy to understand why (rather than soberly staring and wondering how the hell that just happened).

    I don’t know if I’m making any sense. Probably not but hopefully you get my drift.

    • You know I totally ‘get’ alcohol and bar related references, Evie. Duh. 🙂 While I refuse to validate his idiocy, I will detach myself from it and when he does fall off his bar stool, as a good friend, I will be there to laugh my ass off! Oh wait ……..

  5. Online Dating Circus Expert Says:

    Jumping in late so I will just say that I too watched Idiot Brother Tuesday night!


Leave a Reply

