43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Traditions September 22, 2011

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 1:08 pm

I love traditions. Everyone has some sort of tradition that they follow.  A specific action or mindset or routine that they follow.  Some traditions are passed down from generation to generation.  Some are created 1st generation.  Some are family oriented.  Some are religious in origin.  Some are only performed once or twice a year.  Some are more of a daily occurence.  Some are silly.  Some are sacred.  Some are socially acceptable.  Some, not so much.  Some are created out of a sense of boredom.  Or need for structure.  Or stability.  Some are just nice.  Some, probably not so nice.

Some examples of traditions might be feeding the homeless on Thanksgiving.  Buying gifts for underprivileged kids at Christmas.  Making death jokes at family birthdays.  Oh wait, maybe that’s just me.

Some traditions that exist in my family are sending multiple birthday cards.  Usually dirty in nature as they’re the funniest.  Or throwing dinner rolls across the table at Thanksgiving.  Or trying to embarrass the hell out of one another in public.  Or guaging how ‘good’ a card is based on if we can get our mother to cry.  What can I say?  My family is a little left of center.  I personally don’t have many traditions.  Not sure if it’s because I have no one to pass them down to, or that I just don’t feel the need.  I wish I had traditions.  I’ve put some thought into what one might be.  Aside from just trying to be a good person on a day to day basis, I got nothin’.  And that’s not really a tradition anyway, it’s just being a decent human being.

I’ve actually been trying out a specific tradition for the past month or so.  I realize that traditions are something personal that not everyone may ‘get’, but that are important to the individual.  Hell, it doesn’t even have to be anything important.  Anyway, this new tradition that I have adopted seems to be sticking.  I rarely forget to do it.  It makes me happy and I’m pretty sure makes those around me happy as well.  I think it’s a good one.  Not sure if it will catch on with others, but that’s okay, as long as it provides me with a sense of accomplishment or fulfillment or whatever, that’s what really matters.

This is actually a tradition that I adopted back in college but for some reason left it by the wayside.  I’m so glad that I’ve rediscovered it.  Sure, not everyone will think that it’s a good one, but who really cares?  It involves public appearances.  And trying to make the world a better place.  Yeah, I know, don’t worry, I haven’t gone all pageant on you for crying out loud.  It’s just something that works for me.  While the men in blue may not look fondly upon it, nor might most rational and responsible adults, it works for me.  I will never be anything less than responsible (in all but my dating adventures) and although I’m certain that I could probably come up with a ‘better’ tradition, this is what I’ve got for now.  To-Go Cocktails.  Yup, can’t seem to leave the house before going out (to the store, to happy hour, to the movies, to work*, …..) without one.  They make me happy. 

What?  It’s not like I text or talk on my cel phone while driving ………. oh wait, I do that too.  Get over it.  😉

.

* No, I don’t actually drink before work (aside from that one unfortunate morning vitamin debacle); it was added for dramatic sarcastic effect.  Did it work?

.

OH! And don’t forget to go peek at my latest post over at Dating Sauce! 🙂 I know, I’m a pain, huh?

 

10 Responses to “Traditions”

  1. JaneDoePhx Says:

    O. M. G. You are so funny. I think you made my vodka, er, latte, come out my nose!

  2. Ha ha! You should consider writing mystery / suspense novels. I think you just might be good at it! p.s..Congrats on the guest blog contribution!

  3. everevie Says:

    Lovely tradition my friend…I’ve started one of my own in the last few months…that of getting drunk on a regular basis, alone. Yay!

    I’m also implementing a new tradition of reading your Thursday posts over on Dating by Numbers! Woohoo!


Leave a Reply

