43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Friday Fish Fry September 24, 2011

Filed under: bad dates,dating,internet dating,online dating,single — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:46 am
Tags: , , ,

So admittedly I’m usually a bit behind the times.  In fashion.  In lame pick up techniques.  In current events.  In seeing movies.  I finally just got around to seeing the movie Catfish.  About a totally deluded woman who fabricates the lives of over 10 people and bullshits this stranger for no apparent reason.  Via Facebook.  Yet another reason that I think FB is the root of all evil.  It’s such an elaborate ruse that this woman created.  I find it absolutely fascinating.

Of course I immediately draw a correlation between this movie and online dating.  Screwed up people who project images and personas that are entirely made up.  Why?  Who knows.  In order to screw with people?  In order to live some parallel life?  Is this how they really see themselves?  Is this who they wish they could be?  Is it done maliciously?  Are they just deluded?  Or sad? Or sick?  Why would someone want to project a ‘character’ that isn’t them?  So very strange.  And fascinating.

Then again, so is internet dating.

 

7 Responses to “Friday Fish Fry”

  1. Emilie Says:

    I also don’t get why people have to make an fake (character) image of themselves online and in person… what happened to just being true to yourself?

    As for the fashion trends, movies and techniques… well I never really fallowed them as I normally just do what I enjoy to do or wear, and if they don’t like it, well it’s their lost not mine.

  2. everevie Says:

    I don’t get it either. Isn’t it easier to be rejected by people you don’t even know rejected you?? Why get to know someone who will certainly not like the “real” you???

  3. JaneDoePhx Says:

    CATFISH affected me. I know I have been on the receiving end of people purporting themselves to be different in this world of online dating,. I have been more cynical since I saw that! And the guy…he was so nice to the lady, that nut job who made all that stuff up, I liked him and felt for him. He was a smart, normal attractive guy. If it could happen to him……it could happen to anyone! Good movie, disturbing though.

  4. kluckmeister Says:

    I LOVE this movie because it raises all the questions you just asked. I think it’s just another form of escapism just like playing world of warcraft or even blogging (yea I said it!). We’re all looking for acceptance in some way shape or form. It’s an addiction, and some people will do anything to satisfy that addiction. In the case of the poor lady, my heart goes out to her because of the tough life she was living. She found an outlet, whether or not that was the right outlet is up for debate, but who are we to judge?

    I love the quote about catfish too. The majority of the people in the world are the coy, and the few are the catfish. I like to be a catfish and keep people lean 🙂


Leave a Reply

