43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

What The Heck Is A Blogoversary? October 21, 2011

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:21 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Well that, my (3) friends, would be the day that I started this immense piece of drivel and tricked you all into reading by giving the illusion that I am witty and entertaining.  Ha!  Gotcha!  Yup, that’s right, 365 days, 1,031 rambling posts, 6,057 thoughtful (and some not so thoughtful) comments, 9,546 douchebags, many laughs (at my expense ~ I wouldn’t have it any other way), way too many tears, several neurotic breakdowns and a whole hell of a lot of support and encouragement from people I’ve never met in my life later, I find myself kind of astounded by the whole thing. 

Everyone knows I started this as an online journal.  For myself.  I didn’t even know what the heck a blog was when my friend suggested I start one.  Yeah, whatever, I’m a tad bit out of the loop on what’s new and exciting.  I actually had to google ‘what is a blog’ and landed here.  A few short minutes later, Grey Goose Dirty and her life and times of internet douchebag hunting dating was born.  I never in a million years would guess that people would not only read what I write, but actually keep coming back!  That’s just crazy!  I’m flattered and amazed.  I’m not a writer.  I’m not looking to be famous.  I’m just trying to find love in the most ridiculously challenging way possible.  And it ain’t workin’.  Dammit. 😉 I figured this would be a good way to work through my challenges and document my dating history.  I don’t lie on here and pretty much share the good, the bad, the ugly and the boring as hell that is my life.  I’ve never kept a diary or written much of anything really.  I know it will be fun someday to be able to look back at all of this and reread the steps of my quest and (hopefully) laugh.  Hopefully I will be all coupled up with a wonderful man that makes me very happy and proves that all of this was worth it.  Most likely, however, it will be me, my namesake and 27 dogs.   The four legged ones, not the human ones.  Really? After all you know about me it surprises you that I could write something so shallow?

 My 1st post, on October 21, 2010 was a little intro into what this will be about.  I don’t know who the hell I thought was going to see it, but I figured that the poor unfortunate soul or two that accidentally landed here while researching martini recipes deserved fair warning as to what this is about.  Re-reading that post, I was discouraged then, but still had a pretty optimistic attitude.  Re-reading my most recent posts, I kinda just want to throw myself off the tallest building I can find.  But I won’t, because as much as I bitch and moan and complain and convince myself that I’ll be alone forever, I don’t truly believe that.  Now don’t get me wrong, it will always be one of my biggest fears and I am getting pretty damn tired of waiting to find him, but I know he’s out there.  Most likely on another continent or presently incarcerated, but he’s out there.  It’s just up to me to find him.

Really though, after a year of all of this, I just want to thank everyone for caring.  As silly as it sounds, it truly does mean a lot to me.

XOXOXOXOXO,

GGD

 

22 Responses to “What The Heck Is A Blogoversary?”

  1. Cousin Bette Says:

    Keep on truckin’! I’d like to congratulate you on a year ‘hard at it’. You’ve got stamina, girl.

  2. Kat Richter Says:

    Happy birthday! And don’t loose hope 🙂

  3. Matthew Says:

    Awwww…what a softy.

    But glad you’re on here and the awesome person we all know you to be (even if determined just from written word).

    Here’s to another year (hopefully with more happy times to write about).

    *raising a glass in my mind as I think they would frown at drinking at work…well at least at this job.*

  4. goyagrrl Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! And you are not alone on the quest!

  5. JaneDoePhx Says:

    Keep it up!!! You make me laugh, think, and feel every day. Call me when you are back in town so I can buy you an anniversary drink!!!!

  6. kluckmeister Says:

    Daaaaaaaaamn that’s a lot of posts! You’re starting to make me feel insignificant. I need do something to overcompensate for my small………. amount of posts.

    Congrats on the achievement. Keep at it. One day you’ll be writing about Mr. Perfect.

  7. stevesw Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! You deserve the best, and he IS waiting out there to find you; in the mean time, posting is far better than settling for second best.

  8. silly_G Says:

    Happy Blogoversary Grey Goose Dirty! …If he is presently incarcerated he will show up on your Viewed Me list soon! Nice meeting you here 🙂

  9. Happy Blogoversary Goose! You have a great talent for writing..keep up the great work! I actually do think you could write a best selling book. …..What will be – will be.

  10. My Blogoversary is in 11 days…congratulations to us!!!!! I am hoping I am not going to be single forever either….but at this point, I am happy, and it doesn’t matter. Congrats to you on your special day 🙂

  11. Congrats! I celebrated mine in May, I believe. Blogging has been a great way to realize that there are actually others out there who “get” what I’m going through as a single gal. You are included in that!


Leave a Reply

