43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Like I Didn’t Already Know December 1, 2011

Being as it’s officially the holiday season, most will notice that people are in a better mood.  More gracious, more patient, just generally more pleasant to be around.  I know I am.  Despite all the crap that I have going on right now, I LOVE the holiday season.  I’m not religious by any stretch of the imagination, but I do love the time of year for all the tradition that it holds and the fact that it brings people together.  I think we should actually have it a couple of times a year actually.

Sometimes, this time of year (or any time of year, for that matter) doesn’t bring out any especially stellar aspects of peoples’ personalities.  They will continue to go through life trying to make themselves feel better by putting others down.  By trying to impart their wisdom on others in the most thoughtless and rude way.  I consider myself lucky not to be one of those people and never will be.  For all of my shortcomings, I know that I have a good heart and will always put others’ feelings and well being before my own.  It’s how I’ve always been and hope to always be.  I have no desire to intentionally make someone feel bad.

I realize that not everyone is that way.  Some people don’t really care how they present things.  Or maybe they just don’t realize how they come off.  Yes, I’m fairly harsh about some things on my blog.  It’s anonymous and no one that I write about will hopefully ever see it.  As hard as I am on others on here, I am equally hard on myself and see myself pretty clearly.  Good, bad, ugly and all else that embodies me.  It always surprises me when someone feels the need to post a shitty comment though.  A comment that has seemingly no purpose other than to try and make me feel bad.  I would never do that to anyone.  Others don’t live by that same mindset however.

Why this random post out of the blue when I really haven’t been posting much?  Well I woke up this morning to this lovely message on one of my past posts from the beginning of the year:

There’s a reason you’re 43 and single. Ever think that it’s YOU’RE the problem, not the man? Just by seeing how you write you come off as someone who doesn’t act your age. You aren’t in your 20′s anymore. Time to grow up, grow a pair of ovaries and you’ll be lucky if you find a man! :)

The fact that they were nice enough to toss a happy faced emoticon on the end doesn’t change the tone of the message and I can only assume that whoever this person is didn’t even bother to take the time to read much of my blog at all.  If they had, I can’t imagine that they wouldn’t realize that I KNOW I’m probably the problem.  That I’m the only common denominator in my craptastic love life.  While I do appreciate them taking the time to let me know that they think I suck, I’m pretty well aware.

So thank you, ‘KissMyArse’, whoever you are, for starting my day out so awesomely.  I can only assume that you’re single as well ……… 🙂 (the emoticon helps, doncha think?)

 

 

7 Responses to “Like I Didn’t Already Know”

  1. everevie Says:

    Hi Grey…that had to be a guy who wrote that. He sounds massively insecure and pissed off at female-kind. Please don’t put too much thought into what a trolling coward (who doesn’t post with a link…or real name, if he has no blog) might say. He doesn’t know you the way the rest of us do That post was written about a guy who was just a blip on your radar. If the troll had read all the ways you gave to Webster and TD…he’d know that one post was just one snarky little side to you.

  2. Matthew Says:

    I read an article on MSN (or CNN) yesterday regarding ‘Why you’re still single’ where the author firmly pointed a firm finger towards women saying they are directly to blame for still being a single middle-aged woman.

    Might I ad the author mentioned having been married, and divorced, three times.

    While some of her “points” were somewhat valid I still think it was her not-so-pleasant disposition that greatly caused her failures.

    It’s all relative really. There’s got to be at least one person out there for someone. There’s the person who will look at all your little quirks and behaviors and embrace them instead of running in fear.

    It just takes longer for some than others to find someone who matches that particular “requirement” if you will.

    KissMyArse is one of the problems with the Internet, where people can hide behind their computers and feel like they actually have “power” when really they are probably hiding in a trash can, shaking because someone is about to steal their milk money….again.

  3. What a jerkoff, and on top of that to hide behind an anonymous comment is immature. Some folks can only feel better about themselves after bringing someone else down. Sad but true.

  4. Maybe Alpha just started reading your blog? Ha-Ha. How does somebody come across an old post and decide to comment in that manner? Weird. But this is why I hate people.

  5. lifeandothermisadventures Says:

    Yeah, it’s clearly some dude who is pissed off at women. But he’s really nice because he has a smiley face! It’s pretty creepy if you ask me.

  6. singlewhitefemaledating Says:

    I haven’t read your other blogs yet… but I would like to say don’t give a “fig” about what anyone else says on here!! Moderate, moderate, moderate…. LOL There are always “knockers” in life and if you have the need to vent (as women often do) then do it and move on!! It may even be part of your healing process (if that is what is needed)… I have been on some shocking dates… and when re-told to friends they become quite comical (not at the time though) Heehee I always say there has to be a positive from a negative (kind of Buddhist belief)

    “I believe in Karma. If the good is sown, the good is collected. When positive things are made, that returns well”.
    Yannick Noah

    Read more: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/karma.html#ixzz1fwhUROSP


Leave a Reply

