43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

One Night Only! February 27, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 5:48 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, more like 12 hours left, but what kind of a shitty title would that be for a blog post?  I woke up this morning being all bleh (my new thing apparently) and then I decided that I was just being plain annoying.  To me and to everyone around me.  Regardless of how it plays out, I’m pretty sure I’ll see TD again and if not, his loss.  Well, I almost believe that last part.  I decided that it absolutely ridiculous of me to pine away for a man who doesn’t want me.  So I logged onto Match for my one of my last 12 hours of membership and looked at all the pickins’.  And they were pretty slim.  Actually, there were several that I might be interested in, but now is not the time.  I need to get my head on straight and possibly pull it out of my ass.  Possibly.

I have been messaging with a very funny guy on Match for the past week though that has already admitted to lying about his age.  Why on earth people do this is beyond me, but whatever.  He said that since he already knows that ‘I’m tall, cute, witty and intelligent’ (me?), that he wanted to come clean.  The funniest part?  He lied by 2 years.  TWO.  He said he’s 46 and he’s actually 48.  Uhm, is bad karma really worth the risk for 2 silly years?  Of course I sent back that since he was being honest with me, that I felt it only right to come clean with him.  I thanked him for all the compliments that he has given me on my neighbor’s photos 😉 and told him that I am actually 5’2″ 62 year old shut in with 28 cats that I consider family.

You wanna know the most awesome part about all of this?  I am not worried about scaring him off.  You know why?  ‘Cause I don’t care enough.  Oh wait, maybe that’s not so awesome.  Eh, whatever.  He’s in CA for business this week but will be back for the weekend.  Whoopsie, too bad I already have plans.  Nice when friends rally around you and provide you with distractions.  My BF from Palm Desert is coming to town and I am going to spend Saturday with she and her kids.  An awesome friend that I don’t get to see much (and who has invited me over tonight in order to listen to me whine – yey her!) has a comedy show on Friday that I am going to do my darndest to be at (even though it’s in a very questionable part of town.  And at a bar.  Where I can neither eat or drink.).  I’m doing my best to fill up my days and nights and keep busy.

You know what though?  If I fail at this no contact thing (’cause it really is hard), then so be it.  It’s not the end of the world.  I’ve done okay so far.  Haven’t seen TD since last Sunday, haven’t spoken to him since last Wednesday, and haven’t texted since Friday.  Baby steps, right?  I can’t figure it all out now.  I miss my best friend more than anything, so if it comes to a point where I want to talk to him again, well then…………. you can all come to my house and smack the shit out of me! 🙂

I’ll keep you posted on the Match guy.  The 6’2″ one that lives way far away from me.  The one that I will make shag his happy ass to my side of town if he wants to meet.  The one that I inevitably won’t have any physical chemistry with, but oh well, I need to get my last internet date out of the way.  And then I can start blogging about the weeds in my backyard.  And my dogs.  And the weather.  And all sorts of hugely exciting things. 😉

Okay, not really……..

 

2 Responses to “One Night Only!”

  1. 1smiles Says:

    You’re doing great.. you should be proud of yourself! I am.

  2. Janet in Philly Says:

    I second 1smiles. Hang tough and don’t cave! TD can’t have his cake, etc…


Leave a Reply

