43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

It Was Bound To Happen Sooner Or Later March 3, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 2:21 pm

I’m actually suprised it took this long.  I mean, I hear stories like this every day.  My entire family and everyone I know how has this happen at least once in their adult lives.  No, I’m not talking about peeing when you laugh.  Or liquid coming out of your nose when you hear a funny joke.  I’m not even talking about coming across the online dating profile of one of your relatives (which is horrifying in it’s own right).  I’m talking about something much more earth shaking.  Something that makes you nervous to your core.  Something that makes you reevaluate how you live your life.  Yes, it’s that’s big.  And I’m not sure I’ll be able to recover from it.  I’ve overcome a lot of things in the past few years.  The death of friends and family members.  Scary illnesses with my dogs.  Almost losing my job.  Having my finances up in the air.  Not being able to find my soul mate.  Then actually finding him but having him be too stupid and scared to admit to it.  Not being able to find a pair of jeans that fit properly.  Every single one of these things has been difficult for me to handle, but I have.  Some better than others (as you all are well aware).  This one though is a bit out of my control and I didn’t handle it right from the get go.  I’m working on rectifying things, but I’m not sure they’ll survive.  You see, although I’m amazed it didn’t happen earlier in life, I’ve just dropped my smart phone in the sink.  And by sink, I mean toilet.  And now it’s dead.  And I don’t have any rice, so I have it taken apart in a bag of instant brown rice (isn’t that a contradiction in terms, btw)?  And.  And.  And, I’ve done what everyone says not to.  I put everything back together to see if it worked.  It doesn’t.  😦  Oh, and it took me 45 minutes to actually put in aforementioned rice because well, I’m an idiot and I thought it was okay as it was working right after.  Methinks I’m screwed.  And not in a good way.

 

6 Responses to “It Was Bound To Happen Sooner Or Later”

  1. lifeandothermisadventures Says:

    Hey, I tagged you to answer some questions! (Don’t worry, I won’t be offended if you don’t have time to do this, but I would be interested to read your answers.)

    And I am really, really sorry about your phone 😦 ugh

  2. Been done that. Twice, actually. Sucks. No hope once that happens.

  3. Does this mean I Can’t text you??!!! On a night when I have not one, but two, ten year olds here playing dress up in my closet?

  4. stevesw Says:

    My condolences. Did you did not try ‘mouth-to-mouth’ and heart defib with a cut electrical cord? BTW, the “dropped my smart phone in the sink. And by sink, I mean toilet,” had me slightly concerned, considering your profession 😉

  5. TikkTok Says:

    Boo! I’ve heard you need to rice it overnight before attempting to find a pulse….. good luck!

  6. izziedarling Says:

    Sorry about phone – the next gen is supposed to be water, I mean sink, I mean toilet proof. Until then … well …..


Leave a Reply

