43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Vacation Planning 101 April 17, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 6:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I keep putting off planning any sort of vacation as I don’t know what my ‘status’ will be at the time.  We all know that it will inevitably still be ‘single’, but whatever.  I was wanting to go on another cruise in order to try to erase the memories of my horrific last cruise.  Awesome to sail away on a 7 day cruise happy as a clam knowing that you have the man of your dreams at home waiting for me, who had just declared his certainty that I’m the one a scant 4 days prior to my leaving; being uber well behaved the entire trip and missing him terribly (while he fills my text and e mail messages with pretty pictures of our amazing future together) only to arrive back home and into the arms of the man who will dump me in 3 days because he’s not over his psycho-key-weilding-next-door-neighbor-ex.  Uhm, what?  I think I deserve a great vacation after that one!

Here’s the thing.  I love going on cruises.  Not only because they are economical and awesome in that you don’t have to arrange for dining, hotels, bail money ……..oh wait.  Really I think they’re awesome ’cause I can get shit faced drunk and not have to deal with driving home! 🙂 Yey me!  They’re also very easy for a single person to go on.  I always meet great people and even if I don’t, I get a great tan!  Problem is that in order to reserve a single room, they charge you double.  I ‘get’ the economics of that, but still think it sucks as it will cost me the same to go by myself as it would to take someone with me.  I want to go in August.  4 months from now.  I’m thinking I should book a cruise for 2 and then when August rolls around and I am inevitably still single I will either hold a lottery with my friends to see who can/wants to join me or I will sail away as a lame ‘single’ once again.

I think it just makes good economic sense to plan for someone (anyone?) to come along, right?  Or maybe I’m just being optimistically moronic……….. really, all they’d have to pay for is a plane ticket and their bar bill 🙂 I’m just sayin…….

 

 

11 Responses to “Vacation Planning 101”

  1. Lisa Says:

    well, if it’s gonna cost the same, then definitely plan for two and hope for the best

  2. singlewhitefemaledating Says:

    I get the whole “erase the memory of the last bad holiday” ruined by a “bad choice in partners”… recently did that myself. Never been on a cruise though, wouldn’t want to pay double and be punished once again for being single in the world of “coupled” people.

    If you booked for 2 you may feel pressured to take someone (last minute deal) and run the risk of ruining another perfectly good holiday… are there any other options for holiday choices?

    • Sorry about your last holiday 😦 I actually love going on cruises by myself ~ it’s so easy to meet people and not have to worry about anything…. I don’t think I’d feel pressured to take someone, but that’s a good point …… I’m assuming I could switch it back to a ‘single’ if I wanted to ….. and hope that I get a killer table assignment for dinner 🙂

      • singlewhitefemaledating Says:

        Hahaha… as I said I haven’t been on a cruise. You do sound like you enjoy the cruises and I can definitely see their merit – can’t wait for the story to see what happens!!! (no pressure) LOL 😀

  3. Matthew Says:

    My philosophy is always, better to have something and not need it than to not have something when you do need it.

  4. Kat Richter Says:

    Build it and they will come 🙂 (At least that’s my theory on lingerie and I’m pretty sure it applies to crusing for two as well)

    • Kat! That’s what I’m hoping. Also hoping that when I make the reservation and guest #2 is listed as TBD they don’t think I’m nuts (or a tramp). Ooooh, maybe I should try that on the lingerie front too!

      Congrats on you and Wedding Date, btw! I’m so happy for you!!

  5. 1smiles Says:

    Go for the lottery option on the 2nd guest.. I’ll take five tickets.


Leave a Reply

