43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

It Must Be Awfully Dusty In My Town April 19, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:34 am

I’m up to 627 page views, over 30 e-mails and countless ‘winks’ on match.  Uhm, yey?  There have actually been a couple (read: two) guys that didn’t seem so horrible.  Yes, I know, I’m very giving in my assessments.  Not.  Too bad, get over it. 😉

Sadly, one of the guys (a really cute one too) who sent me a lame wink and ‘accepted’ me as one of his daily matches has had his profile yanked from the site.  It’s not like he even blocked me as I (sadly) know what that would look like.  His profile is just gone and the powers that be at match have a message suggesting that although ‘he’ is gone, maybe I’d be interested in any number of other men that are nothing like this blonde cutie.  I can only assume that since he was a widower, that the authorities discovered that he was the one to kill his wife and have taken him into custody only allowing him time enough to make one phone call (probably to his overbearing mother) and to wipe away any sign that he was on match trolling for women.  Darn.

My new rule is that if a guy winks at me, he only gets a wink back.  Fair, right?  Why should I be the one to put in the effort to come up with a witty e-mail when all he had to do was click on ‘wink for free’?  I’m not that cheap.  Or easy.  At least not sober, that is……..

I do believe that I am meeting coffee guy on Tuesday and the other one from a few days ago seems to have decided that I am in fact not worth the drive across town to meet.  His loss.  Or mine.  I guess we’ll never know.

Maybe the 2 other people assigned to my sailing class with TD this weekend will be tall single men?  There’s a chance, right?

 

6 Responses to “It Must Be Awfully Dusty In My Town”

  1. everevie Says:

    Maybe you can find the cute blonde one on dateafelon.com?? And I’m with you…wink for a wink!

  2. lafinwitu65 Says:

    Wink for a wink is fair. We are supposed to do the “heavy lifting” Part of being a man.

  3. Lisa Says:

    It was ridiculous how many scammers I came across on match and fish sites. They were all “widowers” and working on some project in Africa. The clue is they come on real strong with the romantic stuff when you reply to their first contact and have bad grammar in their responses. I think they have someone create their profile so it’s correct but then can’t keep it up. They are always great looking and even have several pics. I never got to the point where they would ask for money cause I caught on in the beginning. Oh, and their profile is always yanked quickly cause they are reported as scammers. Run away!

    • OMG Lisa, I never knew that about the ‘widowers’ online……. i’m usually creeped out by young widowers anyway (bodies shoved in refrigerators and all that), but never realized the scammer aspect. I’ve never actually corresponded with one (i don’t think) …… i guess you learn something new (and crappy) about online dating every day! 😉


Leave a Reply

