43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Oh Yey, A Pen Pal July 22, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 9:48 am
Tags: , , , ,

Not. What the heck is the deal with guys online just wanting to message back and forth forever?  Can’t stand that.  So Mr Funny, who is quickly turning into Mr I’m Getting Bored With You, sent me his ‘real’ e mail address a few days ago and suggested ‘possibly’ meeting.  I wrote back saying I’d love to meet and even sent him my phone number.  Which he hasn’t used.  Nor has he suggested actually meeting.  Uh, my profile clearly states that I prefer not to message back and forth incessantly and when he suggested meeting I even said that I prefer to get to know someone face to face.  And then followed up with some snarky comment about hoping that I don’t disappoint him when he discovers that I’m actually a 5’2″, 64 year old Asian woman. 🙂 To which he replied with another short e-mail.  I think the count is now up to 3 messages on Match and 4 e-mails via yahoo.  And believe me, NONE are a ‘get to know you, what are your favorite things to do in your free time’ kinda message.  They’re just silly and snarky.  Uhm, can’t we do that in person?

I’m losing interest quickly. Not to mention his pictures are dorkier than I remembered.

 

9 Responses to “Oh Yey, A Pen Pal”

  1. ifUseekAmy Says:

    umm, one day I am going to be a 5’2 64 year old Asian woman…and likely STILL internet dating…just saying that (aside from STILL internet dating), it’s not that horrible a being to be 😉

  2. missgrill Says:

    I hate the prolonged message/text type. Haven’t figured out if they are shy or narcissistic.

  3. Matthew Says:

    I used to be one of those guys, and to be honest I think I just didn’t really have a clue. For me, I didn’t want to push things too quickly but as I reflect on things (while typing those last few sentences) I realize that was all during my earlier days of online dating. Now, being at that point that if I were paid to online date I could be titled ‘Professional’ I know better and if we’ve had a good back-and-forth then I option meeting within an appropriate time frame.

    • I believe I could absolutely be considered a ‘professional’ (although reluctant) online dater at this point. Darn it. I figure if I throw out there that I’d like to meet, along with my friggin’ phone number, then that’s a pretty big green light. Needless to say, I opted not to respond to his last e-mail to me which pretty much consisted of ‘did you have a nice weekend? that was a bad dust storm we had’ …….. uhm……..

      Nice window of reflection, btw 😉

  4. JennyExiled Says:

    If I give a guy my phone number and he doesn’t use it, I assume he’s “just not that into me” and move on! If he asks me why I stopped responding, I’ll tell him just that. Sometimes that’s a wake-up call and sometimes they just fade away for good at that point.


Leave a Reply

