43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

I Think I Need Some Artificial Tears July 26, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 1:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

No, not because I’ve been crying incessantly (although I was a bit premature in patting myself on the back regarding the whole ‘no tears’ factor).  Mainly because I followed a big ole’ Monster with a big ole’ Zip Fizz this morning.  I don’t think I’ve blinked in over an hour.  Oh well, whatever keeps me from moping in bed.  🙂 Before I move onto totally boring and random not TD related stuff (yey you!), let me just say that I feel horrible for unfriending him on FB.  He never posts on there.  He only posts family vacation pictures.  He’s not a ‘use your FB status as if it were a Twitter account’ kinda guy.  As a matter of fact, I don’t think he’s ever posted a status update.   Sure, he can’t see my page now.  If he really has the desire, he can always check my page and status thru that of either of his sons though.  And NO, don’t even think about suggested I unfriend them.  That’s NOT happening.  Basically the only thing I’ve accomplished by unfriending TD is to hurt his feelings (I’m guessing) and not allow me to look at all the fun family pictures that I love so much.  Boo.

So, in other news, I’ve been swapping messages with a very funny, yet possibly sketchy 7′ tall guy on OkStupid.  He’s witty and complimentary.  And 37.  And I can’t figure out what he does.  He chose the ever informational ‘military/banking/real estate’ option.  Is he a teller?  A realtor?  A CIA mole?  His profile is a bit sparse, so doesn’t tell me much.  Not sure how attracted to him I’d be, but looking forward to actually being able to look up at a guy when I’m wearing heels. 🙂 We’ll see if we ever actually meet.

Wishy washy guy from Match who I gave my number to promptly fell off the face of the earth.  Possibly he sensed that I was quickly losing interest.  Or found my blog.  Or his wife came home from out of town.  Or his gay lover.  Whatever the reason, I certainly haven’t lost any sleep over it.

Uhm, I may need an intervention.  I am actually considering giving E-Horror-Me another shot.  I have it on good authority, from someone who seems to go on a hell of a lot of dates (before running away) that ‘people are more serious about relationships’ on there and he swears he’s gotten good (just not ‘perfect’) matches through them.  Now we all know that E-Horror-Me is second only to craptastic JDate in my black heart as far as making me want to throw my computer out the window, but damn if those couples on the tv commercials don’t look happy.  I just don’t seem to be having any luck on Match.  Maybe I should be open to the possibility of dating a 5’6″ guy who lives over an hour away (as this is inevitably who will be sent to me in my 9 daily ‘perfect’ matches for me). 🙂

Oh, and I said I wouldn’t judge her, but I am now.  My sister, who’s husband was killed in January, and who has been internet dating is apparently in a ‘relationship’.  What.  The.  Fuck.  I don’t know if I’m more shocked that she’s not just doing the whole ‘go on dates with random tools guys in order to keep busy’ or that she has found a guy that she’s been out with 7 times already.  Know what the kicker is?  Aside from the shock and horror of her telling me how great he is in the sentence following the one that told me that the police report was finally in and her husband had been killed by someone who ran a red light, she met this ‘new guy’ after only 2 weeks online.  And ………… on JDate!!!

I repeat:  What.  The.  Fuck.

(and no, I haven’t spoken to, text messages, e mailed, done a drive by, sent smoke signals or any other form of creepy contact attempts with TD in almost 2 days .   Yes, I know how pathetic that sounds.  You also have to know that we used to talk many many many times a day.  and that i’m a loser.)

 

4 Responses to “I Think I Need Some Artificial Tears”

  1. You’re not a loser. You’re just dealing with your shit and it’s a crazy time. It happens to everyone.

  2. Lisa Says:

    eventually you will get good and mad/tired of somebody treating you second class. Would you really want to be with someone that is looking for perfection? You would never measure up and neither will whomever he eventually hooks up with because after awhile she won’t be perfect either. I feel for you, been there done that hanging on to what I imagine it could be and not what it is or who he is, a narcissistic ass.

    • Thanks Lisa. Although not defending him, and he was totally in the wrong with his mixed signals, he’s apparently always viewed me as a ‘friend’ and I’ve been holding him to the standards that I would expect from a boyfriend. You are right though, no one can live up to ‘perfect’ and I certainly don’t even want to try…..


Leave a Reply

