43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Don’t Pass Out July 27, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:22 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’m serious people, you better sit down, or grab something steady or at the very least, grab a cocktail.  I have news.  News that may bring a tear to your eye.  Or make you holler in joy.  Or make you yell at your computer ‘It’s about fucking time’!  Ready?  I had a date-ish tonight!  I hate calling 1st meetings meet and greets, but I guess that’s what it was.  Now allow me to back up for a minute.  This was the 7 foot tall guy from OkStupid who has lived in multiple countries, had a very sparse profile and wouldn’t tell me what he does in advance as ‘he prefers to avoid preconceived notions’.  Uhm, okay.  Of course I started wondering what the hell that meant.  International jewelry thief?  Drug runner?  Drug lord?  As I was formulating my options for ’employment’, he text messaged me that he was on a roof.  Working.  Oh super.  He’s a roofer.  Or a chimney sweep.  Or (as Evie guessed) Santa Claus.  Needless to say I was less than stoked to go meet this man of mystery and considered cancelling.  As it’s been decades since I’ve been on a date though, I opted to just suck it up and go.  And hope that he didn’t chop me into little pieces and shove me in the trunk of his car.

Being as my excitement level was pretty close to nil, I opted for the uber stellar outfit of shorts, a t shirt and really ugly sandals.  No, I didn’t realize the sandals were ugly when I bought them, they just kinda are.  As we were meeting at a dive bar (with a capital D), I would still probably be overdressed.  I got there right on time and he was sitting at a table right by the door.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but he was very nice, kinda cute, every bit of 7 feet tall, does have an interesting (and very scattered) employment history (including playing basketball overseas) but seems to be a bit ……. uhm……. clueless.  Crap.  Again?  He was funny and witty and smart and complimentary but seems to have no idea how interpersonal things work in America (and he’s american!).  There is absolutely no long term potential here, but he was very nice and it was a painless way for me to get my ass back out there again.  Yes, the same big ass in the multi colored dress that you still don’t get to see from Tuesday (aka: shitstorm night).  🙂

 

3 Responses to “Don’t Pass Out”

  1. Clicking Frogs Says:

    Ha! I was close with my guess of Harlem Globetrotter.

  2. Matthew Says:

    They all can’t be winners though right? Wait…something upbeat and optimistic….at least you got back out ther…..wait. Something none-cliche’. Crap.

    I’m curious about the clueless part. Was he aloof?

    And I almost spit my coffee out when I read Evie’s guess. Santa Clause would have been friggin’ awesome.

  3. Sounds like a good practice date where you had some fun. There’s nothing wrong with that.


Leave a Reply

