43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

It’s Official ……. I’m Old-er-ish August 16, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:04 am

Well, there’s nothing like the root of all evil (Facebook) to make you feel popular as hell on  your birthday.  I got no less than 40 birthday wishes from friends, long lost friends, the guy I met in Vegas last year who kissed me, asked for my number and then never actually used it but did friend request me, as well as some guy that I’m pretty sure I don’t even know.  Thanks to all.  I’ve never felt so popular!

Match.com wasted absolutely NO time in switching me to the ‘old’ group as far as mixer invitations go.  I wasn’t 45 years old more than 3 seconds when they yanked the ‘cool kids’ invites that post across the top of my home page down and replaced them with the one sad ‘old fart’ invite.  I guess 45 really is the cut off.  Boo.

I met Mr Nice Guy for coffee yesterday.  As I don’t drink coffee, I had a bottle of water which I proceeded to dump all down my shirt.  Yup, I’m cool like that.  Anyway he walked in and although he had killer eyes and a great smile, I believe if he turned sideways I might not be able to see him any more due to how friggin’ skinny he is!  That’s okay, as I knew he was a ‘friends first and then let’s see’ kinda guy, I figured I wouldn’t have to see him naked anytime soon.  Aside from the lack of weight on his person, he walked in wearing khakis (good), a nice polo (good) and white tennis shoes (kinda really bad).  As we talked my suspicions were confirmed that he is an immensely nice guy.  He told me about his family, his kids, his soon to be (?) ex-wife that he still lives with.  The fact that after a year of this ‘arrangement’ that they still haven’t told their kids.  The fact that he and his soon to be (?) ex- wife actually got divorced about 15 years ago only to remarry 18 months later.  Their whole arrangement is kinda fucked up odd.  I realize that I tend to be a ‘fixer’ of people, but my toolbox is in no way shape or form big enough to even attempt to want to get involved in this convoluted family dynamic.  I told him it was great meeting him and left it at that.

Aside from that hour long meet up, I met a friend for lunch and another friend for a late dinner.  All in all (aside from having to work in the morning) it was a pretty good day.  I am nowhere near where I thought I would be at the ripe old age of 45, but I’m sure as hell going to do my best to get there! 🙂

Thank you all for your very sweet (and shamelessly asked for) compliments yesterday.  I very much appreciated them!!!

 

 

5 Responses to “It’s Official ……. I’m Old-er-ish”

  1. 1smiles Says:

    I was traveling all day hesterday and missed your special day. Happy Birthday! Continue to celebrate your 45th year, every single day of this year. By the end of it, you’ll realize how wonderful a year you’ve had.

  2. Matthew Says:

    I don’t know what it is, but considering there is so much of a ‘shady’ area on how this guy has been dealing with his separation/divorce it may be better not to get involved with him.

    Even when the divorce ever becomes final it sounds like he’s one of those guys who would need a tool kit. This is only a judgement based on what you’ve told us…but you’ve spent enough time dealing with guys who need to be Humpty Dumptied back together again. Let some other woman do that for you, then you can swoop in and steal the guy once the glue has dried.

  3. lifeandothermisadventures Says:

    All I can say is… creepy!


Leave a Reply

