43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Upscale & Spontaneous? August 18, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 6:18 pm

Or just lame and lame?  So I’ve been messaging with some guy on Match for a few weeks now.  Yes, I know it’s a firm rule of mine to not ‘get to know’ someone before I’m sure I want to get to know them.  Meaning, no back and forth for weeks on end before meeting.  As our messages consist of one line nothingnesses (yes, GG original word), it’s okay because I still no virtually nothing about him.  I’m none to jacked to meet him, so sure, I’ll respond to his messages.  Usually.  Right now we sit at about 2 to 1.  I’ll respond to every second message that he sends.

So he sends me the other night, during happy hour (which I was at with a wonderful friend) that he was at a pretty upscale place for HH and did I want to join him?  Yey!  Finally and invitation out!  Here’s the weird/annoying/stupid/ridiculous part of it.  In 3 parts:

1) We still only message through Match.  No phone numbers or personal e-mail addresses have been exchanged

2) I don’t have any idea where he lives.  Sure, it lists his city, but as far as exact area, I have no clue

3) The upscale place he was at?  Was fucking Chili’s!

Now not to be judgy….oh wait, this is me I’m talking about here, but really?  Chili’s may be a lot of things:  cheap, casual, a good place for delicious little sliders and probably the best choice you could make if you want to leave an establishment smelling like onion rings after any amount of time spent there, but upscale?  No.  Does this mean if he invites me out for a gourmet seafood meal that we’re going to Long John Silvers?

Anyway, I promptly responded the next day thanking him for the invitation and explaining that I was already out.  What does he send me in response?  A 2 sentence response stating how ‘obviously spontaneous’ he is (and I won’t even go into how he actually spelled spontaneous) and asking me, for the 3rd time, what I did for my birthday.

Can you sense the excitement in my words?!

 

 

14 Responses to “Upscale & Spontaneous?”

  1. Loser….quit wasting your time even responding to that dude….just sayin 🙂

  2. And to be clear HE is the loser, not you!

  3. So funny that he referred to Chili’s as being an “upscale” place. Wow…. The pick of the litter sure fills the online dating scene. What’s not to love? hahaha

  4. ifUseekAmy Says:

    yikes. what does he consider casual? dirty water dog sold at the park? a vending machine?

  5. lafinwitu65 Says:

    WOW!! (Note to self….Chili`s is NOT upscale)

  6. SillyG Says:

    Lol, imagine a life of “Honey we be hitting the town for the 2 dinners for $20 and bottomless pops tonight”

  7. Matthew Says:

    It could have been worse. He could have been at Applebee’s.


Leave a Reply

