43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Microbursts, Midgets and Monday September 13, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 5:16 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Last night was one of the two match.com mixer events that are on my agenda this week.  Although it didn’t state this in the ad for the event, apparently last night was not only for the under 45 crowd, but also for the vertically challenged crowd.  Sadly the women outnumbered the men by almost 2 to 1 (no, I didn’t actually take a head count) and probably over half of the men there were under 5’9″ and I mean way under.  The only 2 guys that I had the desire to speak with looked familiar to me.  And I couldn’t figure out why.  One was an adorable tall redhead (I love me a ginger) and the other, whom he was with, kinda looked like a slick player.  Handsome, but not my type.  I kept looking over at the tall redhead and he looked my way a couple of times.  My friend and I changed positions in the bar a couple of times and they sort of edged closer.  And then it hit me.  Uhm, I had actually gone out with the redhead sometime last year (or the year before ~ they all blur together).  At the time he was *ahem* 29, had just moved to town, was living with his uncle (the slick player guy) and was a bouncer at a snooty bar.  Lets see, too young for me, no career and we spoke mostly of his ‘glory days’ in college.  How many red flags do you see?  OF COURSE I liked him!  Sadly, he didn’t feel the same and opted out of seeing me again.  Too bad as he was a nice guy.  I didn’t actually talk to him last night and am not sure if he remembered who I was or not.  Did I mention how cute he is?

Anywhoo, neither my friend nor I were really on our game and sorta just hovered like wall flowers which I rarely (if ever) do.  I just wasn’t into the guys there.  And as no one came up to talk to us (which I guess is okay since most were several inches shorter than both of us), the feeling must have been mutual.  Maybe it’s because I’m not drinking this week.  Bad timing on my part, right?  Oh well, we’ll chalk it up to a practice round for Monday night.  When there is a ‘mixer’ for the old farts.  I promise to be more sociable then!  I just hope I don’t trip over anyone’s oxygen tank…..

We stayed for about an hour and a half and then headed home.  As I got closer to my neighborhood, I noticed that it had rained and a lot of trees were down.  Odd as the weather across town had been nice.  I pull into my driveway and notice that the tree in my front yard was not exactly where I had left it earlier that evening.  In fact, it was now ripped out of the ground and laying against the wall separating my yard from my neighbors with all the branches and such covering both of our roofs.  Nice greeting to come home to, huh?

Oh crap, I must now end this uber boring post (you’re welcome) as I have a ‘meet and greet’ tonight.  Yes, another one.  Seems nice, but very blue collar (not that that’s a bad thing), talks A LOT and talks a lot about sports.  Oh, and he sent me a shirtless picture of himself last night.  WTF?  As his reward (and as my day has been crazy), he gets the lovely opportunity to meet me dressed in a wrinkled khaki skort, a white t-shirt and flip flops.  Oh, and I didn’t have a chance to take a shower.  Lucky guy, huh?  I swear I suck sometimes……

 

4 Responses to “Microbursts, Midgets and Monday”

  1. tripletall180mochagirl Says:

    the oxygen tank comment had me weak! LMAO!

  2. Janet in Philly Says:

    Eww- shirtless photo? WTF is wrong with these guys? Good luck!


Leave a Reply

