43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

So About That Date……. September 14, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:49 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Last night I met Mr Shirtless Photo out for a ‘meet and greet’.  He chose a sports bar right by my house so that was good.  You know what else was good?  The fact that I put absolutely no effort into getting ready.  I still looked cute, don’t get me wrong, just a bit more wrinkled (and unshowered) than I would usually arrive to meet someone.  As I got there early, I was sitting outside doing something on my phone when a big shadow was cast over me.  I didn’t look up right away as I was waiting for Mr Shadow to greet me.  He didn’t.  When I finally looked up, he just kinda looked at me and didn’t say a word.  Uhm, hello?  I said hi and he asked if I was me.  As I look exactly like my pictures, of course it was me!  Oddly enough, he didn’t resemble his pictures very much.  Aside from the fact that he reconfirmed that he shouldn’t be sending shirtless pics to people.  We went inside and grabbed a table.  And that’s about as exciting as it got.  He made no effort to make conversation with me and I made no effort to make conversation with him.  We spoke a couple of times about the football game that was on tv (go Packers!), but aside from that……..crickets.  It was actually kinda painful.  After about a half an hour of this and my inability to find a rusty fork to shove in my eye, I bit the bullet and said ‘hmmm, it appears that we don’t have much to talk about, we should probably call it a night’.  To which, oddly enough, he starts apologizing for being tired, for being quiet and for me not to take his silence as disinterest.  What??  As I was disinterested myself, I just kinda shrugged and said not to worry about it.  We then walked outside, he gave me a hug and I said it was nice to meet him.  And walked off ……….. Quite the waste of 42 minutes on both our parts.

On a funnier note, I got a text today from someone that said ‘do you have plans tonight/tomorrow?  perhaps we could meet for a drink or something more?’  Nice invite, right?  Too bad I got a new phone last week and it didn’t transfer my contacts so I had no clue who it was from!  I couldn’t very well respond without knowing who I was responding to, but it was obviously someone I hadn’t spoken with in over a week.  Was it the guy from Match that stopped communicating?  Nah, I never gave him my number.  Was it the guy I went out with last month that I liked that I never heard from again?  Was it the guy who took me to Tilted Kilt?  Basically was it someone I wanted to see again or someone I didn’t want to see again.  Obviously I was going to have to suck it up and ask who it was.  I just wasn’t excited about being the bad guy if, when it turned out to be someone I didn’t want to see, I was suddenly busy.  That would just be rude.  As it turns out, I didn’t have to worry about it for after sending ‘This is embarrassing.  I got a new phone last week that didn’t transfer my contacts so I have no clue who this is’, I waited.  In the hopes that it was someone who I actually wanted to hear from.  And it was!  In the form of one of my girlfriends that I haven’t seen in ages.  Damn.  Oh well, she’ll probably be the best date I’ve had in a while! 😉

 

9 Responses to “So About That Date…….”

  1. SillyG Says:

    Well he must have tall at least. Ya didn’t use the word midget once in this post.

  2. hhahahaha…good for you in leaving in 42 minutes 🙂 It could have been worse!!

  3. maryfreemannyc Says:

    Ew! He wore jorts!? No wonder!

  4. maryfreemannyc Says:

    Ew! He wore jorts!? No wonder!


Leave a Reply

